Shaw Direct Channel Discussion Thread - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 

Go Back   Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums > Canadian Internet, Phone, TV and Wireless Service Providers > Shaw Direct (formerly Star Choice)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

Old 2014-12-31, 11:22 AM   #1
magnet
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 4,280
Default Shaw Direct Channel Discussion Thread

This thread will be for rumours, channel deletions and complaining about any channel not offered by Shaw Direct.
Actual confirmed new channel announcements and channel deletions will now have their own thread.
http://www.digitalhome.ca/forum/showthread.php?t=227258
__________________
When it comes to humility, I am the greatest!
magnet is online now   Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 2015-01-07, 07:38 PM   #2
Jocasta
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 29
Default

It's discouraging to see that there is no chatter about all the new high def channels Shaw will offering this year. Adding new channels is good but what would be better and a good first step would be to upgrade all of the existing channels to high definition.
Jocasta is online now   Quick reply to this message
Old 2015-01-07, 07:50 PM   #3
DSgamby
Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Thunder Bay, Ontario
Posts: 4,688
Default

But those channels have to have a HD feed first. Most SD channels don't.
DSgamby is online now   Quick reply to this message
Old 2015-01-07, 08:13 PM   #4
GaryE
Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: OTTAWA
Posts: 1,596
Default

Most of the channels do have HD feeds. It's just SD doesn't have the capacity to carry them all. I have Rogers Cable tv now and there is crap load of HD channels that SD doesn't carry.
__________________
~Gary
Rogers NextBox 2.0 w/ 500gb hd | HD VIP | former SD sub | Aquos 46" 120Hz LCD TV | watch me LIVE!
GaryE is online now   Quick reply to this message
Old 2015-01-07, 09:55 PM   #5
DSgamby
Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Thunder Bay, Ontario
Posts: 4,688
Default

Yes but there are still a lot that don't have HD feeds.
DSgamby is online now   Quick reply to this message
Old 2015-01-07, 09:57 PM   #6
tvmaster
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: tarana
Posts: 626
Default

I'd like to see more HD, but not on G1. Guess that's not going to happen...
tvmaster is offline   Quick reply to this message
Old 2015-01-07, 10:39 PM   #7
CrispyPotato
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 85
Default

I think we've had our new HD channels for the year :P - See you all next Christmas!
CrispyPotato is offline   Quick reply to this message
Old 2015-01-23, 10:31 AM   #8
Dr.Dave
Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Winnipeg
Posts: 7,445
Default

The Movie Network GO (TMN GO) is now available to TMN subscribers in Eastern Canada on Shaw Direct and Shaw Cable.

http://www.digitalhome.ca/forum/show....php?p=2402250
Dr.Dave is offline   Quick reply to this message
Old 2015-01-25, 07:47 AM   #9
schmuly
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 15
Default

10 New HD channels,
Since I don't get G1 down south here I bought a $10 outdoor antenna and set it up. To my surprise I get 15 digital channels and 3 analog channels, after editing I really have 12 new channels. 10 of them are in HD and 2 old movie channels for free. This is a nice complement of Las Vegas HD locals added to the Shaw package I get.
schmuly is offline   Quick reply to this message
Old 2015-02-15, 11:30 AM   #10
mobee
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 94
Default

Just wondering, with the demise of Sun News Network, and coming in April 1 the removal of Speed (Speed SD, and Speed HD). Can Shaw D use this bandwidth and convert to mpeg4 transmission so they can add more channels than the current three (maybe 4, or 5?). Also was Sun, and currently the Speed channels all on the same older satellite?
mobee is offline   Quick reply to this message
Old 2015-02-15, 01:42 PM   #11
bigoranget
Veteran
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Hamilton
Posts: 3,698
Default

The conversion of the existing MPEG-2 HD channels is probably more of a Shaw Broadcast decision. All the cable system headends would need to upgrade their equipment. WWE Network is coming to Shaw Direct and will likely have an SD and HD signal.
bigoranget is online now   Quick reply to this message
Old 2015-02-15, 06:25 PM   #12
sawguyg
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Tumbler Ridge B.C.
Posts: 333
Default

An all wrestling channel, hmm? Not to take anything away from WWE fans but I think they could make a better choice of something to add
sawguyg is offline   Quick reply to this message
Old 2015-02-19, 12:18 AM   #13
tvmaster
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: tarana
Posts: 626
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dr.Dave View Post
The Movie Network GO (TMN GO) is now available to TMN subscribers in Eastern Canada on Shaw Direct and Shaw Cable.

http://www.digitalhome.ca/forum/show....php?p=2402250
how do you log in? I only saw a link for Shaw Go (not Shaw Direct).
what would this be: "Please Use Your watchTVeverywhere.ca Account"
I don't even know what that is - can you explain?
Thanks

EDIT: figured it out...too many options lol

Last edited by tvmaster; 2015-02-19 at 12:52 AM.
tvmaster is offline   Quick reply to this message
Old 2015-02-21, 09:07 PM   #14
kanic
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 9
Default New channel Fox sports racing

Just read effective February 20th/15 Rodgers is carrying the new racing channel, I contacted shawdirect they new nothing about it.
kanic is offline   Quick reply to this message
Old 2015-02-22, 11:38 PM   #15
bubbaspeed
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: 40 KM NW of Edmonton
Posts: 54
Default

Fox Sport Racing has replaced Speed on Shaw Direct Classic channel 406.
bubbaspeed is offline   Quick reply to this message
Reply

Tags
shaw direct

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:58 PM.

Search Digital Home

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.