HDMI Spilitter and 630 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 

Go Back   Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums > Canadian Internet, Phone, TV and Wireless Service Providers > Shaw Direct (formerly Star Choice)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

Old 2014-05-21, 04:55 PM   #1
PeteX
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 160
Default HDMI Spilitter and 630

I need to split hdmi out from a 630 to serve a projector and a TV in a different room. I am wondering if anyone has had experiece with this splitter

http://www.amazon.ca/gp/product/B007...pf_rd_i=915398

and if so would it deal with this issue. Both outputs can display 1080i and the run is less than 4 metres so I think it should be fairly straight forward. I have done a search and found that others have done this but I didn't find a recommendation for a particular splitter that would work well.

Thanks
Phil
PeteX is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 2014-05-21, 05:56 PM   #2
frenchophile
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 292
Default

it might be easier/cheaper to use component out to one device and HDMI out to another. that is how I have mine set up.
frenchophile is offline  
Old 2014-05-21, 05:57 PM   #3
PeteX
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 160
Default

That is what I had but the component in on my TV failed.
PeteX is offline  
Old 2014-05-21, 06:16 PM   #4
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Panasonic TCP65S1, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 8300-eHDD
Posts: 52,163
Default

Suggest you do a search of Digital Home for "HDMI Splitter" or "HDMI splitter monoprice". There are quite a few previous threads.
__________________
57's Optimization Services (Home Theatre Optimization) . . . . 57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
Old 2014-05-21, 10:14 PM   #5
PeteX
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 160
Default

Thanks for the suggestion; the cheapest monoprice splitter is about $35 so I was wondering if the Amazon option was good given that is half the price. Basically I am looking for feedback from someone who has used the Sewell product
PeteX is offline  
Old 2014-05-22, 09:18 AM   #6
smp01
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Muskoka, Ontario
Posts: 786
Default

I bought this splitter from newfrog.com search sku 59558. I got it on sale for about $15, now at ~ $20cad, but they do take Paypal

took about a month to ship


smp01 is online now  
Old 2014-05-22, 12:47 PM   #7
PeteX
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 160
Default

looks the same as the Sewell; did it work well for you?
PeteX is offline  
Old 2014-05-24, 08:04 PM   #8
smp01
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Muskoka, Ontario
Posts: 786
Default

Yes it works fine as expected

I have video coming out of my Pioneer receiver into splitter. Out of splitter to TV (1080p) and projector (720p). Either one can be on/off or both can be on.

I use it mostly for satellite (ShawDirect) and Netfix (AppleTV v3). It works with my sony BluRay as well but we really don't watch many movies on that anymore. Picture look same as before. Basically it splits whatever the receiver throws at it.

Sorry cannot comment on audio but it says it does 5.1
smp01 is online now  
Old 2014-05-25, 08:44 AM   #9
JasperJoe
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Jasper, Ontario
Posts: 80
Default

I use a 4x2 HDMI matrix switch in my RV - works well.

http://www.monoprice.com/Product?c_i...seq=1&format=2
JasperJoe is online now  
Old 2014-05-26, 11:48 AM   #10
goalsgo
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 9
Default

I have been using a SEWELL splitter for several months now with no problem at all and with excellent picture quality.
goalsgo is offline  
Old 2014-05-27, 08:02 PM   #11
PeteX
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 160
Default

Thanks for the feedback guys; I have now ordered the Sewell and I will report back when I have set it up.

Peter
PeteX is offline  
Old 2014-06-06, 06:43 AM   #12
PeteX
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 160
Default

The Sewell did not work for me; I used it to send the HDMi signal from the 630 to a Pany Tv and a Yamaha receiver which I use to switch the signal to my projector. The TV worked fine but the signal to the projector suttered and I was unable to get a stable signal. I talked to Sewell but they were not sure what the problem was so I had to return it.
PeteX is offline  
Old 2014-06-06, 07:57 AM   #13
smp01
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Muskoka, Ontario
Posts: 786
Default

for testing, did you take the Yamaha receiver out of the mix to see if that was causing any issues
smp01 is online now  
Old 2014-06-06, 05:13 PM   #14
PeteX
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 160
Default

I was thinking that I needed the receiver in the chain but I guess I could check to see if I can run digital audio from the 630 to the Yamaha and connect the second output to the HDMI in on my projector. Thanks for the suggestion.
PeteX is offline  
Old 2014-06-14, 12:42 AM   #15
saskbill
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 6
Default

Princess auto has a couple of HDMI switches now:
http://www.princessauto.com/pal/en/O...cher/8478778.p
http://www.princessauto.com/pal/en/O...cher/8407777.p
saskbill is offline  
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:34 PM.

Search Digital Home

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.