Fibe TV HD Channel Line-up - Page 2 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 

Go Back   Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums > Canadian Internet, Phone, TV and Wireless Service Providers > Bell Canada Enterprises (BCE) > Bell Fibe TV

Digital Home Helpful Information

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

Old 2010-10-18, 02:59 PM   #16
moralis
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 4
Default Portuguese Channel-SPORT TV AMERICAS & Benfica TV

Question for Boavista,

Do you know if Bell Fibe TV will add SPORT TV AMERICAS, Benfica TV and maybe SIC Noticias to their Portuguese line up. They would get a lot more customers including myself. I know Dish Network in the USA has RTP I, SIC International, SIC Noticias, SPORT TV AMERICAS and Benfica TV.

Thanks
moralis is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 2010-10-18, 08:27 PM   #17
Boavista
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Toronto - Bell Fibe TV
Posts: 586
Default

It would be nice but i doubt it.. none of those are licensed to broadcast in Canada. And at this point doing something so simple as adding FPTV ( a Toronto based Portuguese channel) seams like its going to a lonnnnnnnnnggggg time if ever before it gets added.

It would be nice if they added those.. but i wouldn't hold my breath.
Boavista is offline  
Old 2010-10-18, 09:24 PM   #18
ErikBRak1m
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: T.O.: FibeTV, Tosh 26HL86, Yamaha HTR-6180B, Tosh HD-A30, Sony BDP-S760, Tosh DVR-5,Xbox 360,PS3,PSB
Posts: 36
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Boavista View Post
Thanks @ErikBRak1m i got your PM..
However i think you might be a tad mistaken. If you key in Ch.880 on the remote.. the Receiver jumps to Ch.881 witch is RTPi.

Channel 880 Doesn't even exist on the fibe tv yet. Its supposed to be fptv on 880.. however it doesn't even appear in the guide.Its supposed to be a $5 ADD on to the Portuguese combo ( combo being ch.881RTPi,882RDP Radio,883 Tv globo)

So fibe has 3 Portuguese channels out of the 4 they advertise.. however its kind of a crock because 882 is just a radio station. So really its 881 (rtpi) and 883 ( Tvglobo).

BTW- The International channel chart online is out dated. If you visit a bell world and pick up the booklet that's where they advertise FPTV.
Hi Boavista,

Yes, sorry, you're right: It skips to channel 881. I didn't notice that when I tried it, and since I saw Portuguese content, I thought it was that channel.

I guess the programming is yet to be finalized, just like you were saying.
ErikBRak1m is offline  
Old 2010-10-18, 10:26 PM   #19
moralis
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 4
Default Portuguese Channel-SPORT TV AMERICAS & Benfica TV

Hi Boavista,

Both are actually licensed to broadcast in Canada: Here are some links

Benfica TV:

http://www.crtc.gc.ca/eng/archive/2010/2010-185.htm

http://www.crtc.gc.ca/eng/publications/satlist.htm - check section C

SPORT TV AMERICAS:

Actual Document:

http://www.erc.pt/index.php?op=verno...cias_tl&id=373

http://www.cmjornal.xl.pt/detalhe/no...rt-tv-americas

I also spoke to a programming manager at Bell and he said they need a lot people to e-mail Bell and request both channels.
moralis is offline  
Old 2010-10-26, 10:11 AM   #20
wm_cheng
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 254
Default

I was kind of surprised to find out that CP24 is not part of the basic package (like it is on Rogers). To receive it, you need to subscribe to their News Theme pack. It's too bad, since its nice to have once in a blue moon, but I wouldn't pay for it.
__________________
Panasonic PT-AE2000U|Elite Cinetension2 100"|Yamaha RX-V3900|PS3|Paradigm Monitor 7|Bose AM-10s|Polk PSW350
wm_cheng is offline  
Old 2011-01-12, 06:24 PM   #21
WIll_TO
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 49
Default

I'm more surprised at the lack of some HD channels, for saying they have the most in Canada... there seems to be a bunch that they don't carry... Bold and Foxnews come to mind... but correct me if I'm wrong... does CP24 put out an HD feed? Not on Fibe... I imagine it's licencing.

I was pretty happy when they added CBCNN to their HD lineup.
WIll_TO is offline  
Old 2011-01-13, 10:21 AM   #22
thumbsdown
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 89
Default

I'm gonna get the Playboy channel.
thumbsdown is offline  
Old 2011-01-13, 02:32 PM   #23
Boavista
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Toronto - Bell Fibe TV
Posts: 586
Default

Fibe is missing quite a few HD channels now..
just off the top of my head

TVO kids HD
NFL Network HD
YTV HD
Family HD

Fibe has way more channel capacity then bell satellite does.. so i dont see why their not adding new channels to the fibe tv. One would think that if they add it on bell satellite then it would be added the same time to fibe.
Kind of a disappointment, i left bell satellite because they werent able to add more hd yet they have added a few new channels since i left while all fibe has added was sportsnet one
Boavista is offline  
Old 2011-01-13, 06:57 PM   #24
betterthancable
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Trinidad
Posts: 320
Default Channels

Fibe TV and ExpressVu have different licenses and different contracts for carriage of programming. I was told that their goal is to have every channel that they have available in standard def in HD as well. MSNBC is only in HD.
betterthancable is offline  
Old 2011-01-20, 04:01 PM   #25
WIll_TO
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 49
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by thumbsdown View Post
I'm gonna get the Playboy channel.
That's in SD only, no?
WIll_TO is offline  
Old 2011-02-16, 03:25 PM   #26
pmcd
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 50
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wm_cheng View Post
I was kind of surprised to find out that CP24 is not part of the basic package (like it is on Rogers). To receive it, you need to subscribe to their News Theme pack. It's too bad, since its nice to have once in a blue moon, but I wouldn't pay for it.
CP24 is actually available as an add-on without going via that theme package. Odd that it isn't part of the standard fair. Other than TMN, cp24 and Food are the only two channels we want and it seems like we will have to subscribe to a bunch of things we don't want to get them.

Is there anywhere one can obtain the cost of getting one theme package?

Philip
pmcd is offline  
Old 2011-03-16, 06:52 PM   #27
autechre
Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 1
Default new to Fibe

Hello!

I am new to Fibe and have a question : I am from Quebec and want to know, if i choose channels └ la carte and they are available in HD, do I automatically get those in HD as well? Every since agent gives me different answers with regards to that. One told me that yes, if i choose National Geographic or A&E from the └ la carte channels, that I will automatically get the HD version as well. Another agent today told me that NO i cannot get them in HD and that i would have to get them by paying for an HD theme pack.

Any idea?
autechre is offline  
Old 2011-03-17, 08:21 AM   #28
joepro
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 165
Default

I guess they were both right.

If the HD channel is not part of a theme pack, you automatically have access to it when subscribing to the SD version. Otherwise, you will have to subscribe to the theme pack to get the HD version.

Now, subscribing to an HD theme pack does not guarantee you will have access to every HD channel in it. You also need to subscribe to the SD version.

As for the HD channels included in the basic package, you don't need to subscribe to the SD version.
__________________
Panasonic 50GT30 | Yamaha HTR-6063 | Energy Take Classic 5.1 | Oppo BDP-93 | Illico - 8642HD
joepro is offline  
Old 2011-06-10, 02:53 PM   #29
CommieCanuck
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 5
Default

I'm getting my install done on Monday. The only channels I'm anxious to see would be Speed HD and History Channel HD. Any idea if we'll ever get those?
CommieCanuck is offline  
Old 2011-06-15, 10:51 AM   #30
hugh
Member #1
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Toronto
Posts: 47,716
Default

My guess is if its on Bell Satellite, it will eventually come to Fibe TV. If the CRTC allows, I suspect Bell will eventually try to get deals done that provide carriage on Satellite and IPTV. What the timeframe will be, however, is anyone's guess.
__________________
As of January 2012, I am no longer the owner of the Digital Home website. My comments and opinions are my own and not those of the current site owners.
I have disabled private messaging so for personal inquiries contact me at the Hugh Thompson website or via twitter.
hugh is offline  
Reply

Tags
bell tv, fibe tv

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:48 AM.

Search Digital Home

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.