New Shaw Modem / Router? - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 

Go Back   Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums > Canadian Internet, Phone, TV and Wireless Service Providers > Shaw Communications > Shaw High Speed Internet and Home Phone

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

Old 2010-06-26, 02:32 AM   #1
bowmah
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 696
Default New Shaw Modem / Router?

I keep seeing Shaw's commercials on TV about running a wireless network. Is Shaw now giving away modem's with wireless capabilities like Telus does? If so, how do we get one and does anyone know the performance of this router versus say the tried and true WRT54GL?
bowmah is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 2010-06-26, 08:46 AM   #2
Dr.Dave
Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Winnipeg
Posts: 6,733
Default

I saw the ad a few days ago so I looked up the url from the ad. It's an extra $3.95/month.

http://www.shaw.ca/en-ca/ProductsSer...relessGateway/
Dr.Dave is offline  
Old 2010-06-27, 01:56 AM   #3
bowmah
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 696
Default

I see. If I wanted an N router, I would purchase my own. Who knows how secure and reliable the Shaw unit is. It costs a little over $50 / year. Not worth it in my opinion for those who already know how to setup a router.
bowmah is offline  
Old 2010-06-28, 03:05 PM   #4
Alan Bealby
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Kelowna, BC
Posts: 1,391
Default

I looked into this just for curiosity as I own my Internet cable modem and my Dual Band Wireless-N Router with Storage Link. The later is now over 3 years old.

Shaw's offering combines the two into one box but, I believe, omits the dual band capability and the Storage Link. Although, looking at the connection diagram it seems that the box has a USB connection but there is no mention of being able to set up an external USB drive as a server.

I am currently having trouble with Internet download slow downs. I called Shaw for technical help yesterday but when I described my problem the tech said I was likely having problems with my router. I agreed as the slow down can be temporarily fixed by toggling the MTU setting on the router between Auto and a fixed value. The tech said if it was a possible problem with my router Shaw couldn't offer help and suggested I contact my router manufacturer for help which I will do. If I can't get it it fixed, I am thinking of replacing it with a new unit. Shaw's may be an option if it will fix the slow down problem. A speedtest say the slowdown is by a factor of 5 to 8. Very noticeable.

I don't like renting this type of equipment but will consider it as getting rid of one box, one power block and one connecting cable is attractive.

For someone who is just starting with Shaw Internet it is a better deal though it can expensive if you rent for more than two or three years.
__________________
Gateway and 3 Portals, Samsung FP-T6374 TV, Panasonic DMR-E80, Denon AVR-3808, Sony CX777ES
Alan Bealby is offline  
Old 2010-06-28, 04:18 PM   #5
bowmah
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 696
Default

I thought Shaw is giving away free modems now? Free as in you have to give it back when you discontinue service no? Are you saying there is a charge for a Shaw modem?
bowmah is offline  
Old 2010-06-28, 06:40 PM   #6
Dr.Dave
Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Winnipeg
Posts: 6,733
Default

@bowmah, at one time Shaw gave you the modem to keep. Their current terms of service include free rental of regular modems (not the wireless).
Quote:
Shaw maintains ownership of equipment. Modem must be returned upon termination of service or equipment charges may apply.
You can probably pick up a WRT54GL for about a year's rental on Shaw's wireless modem.

The advantage of the Shaw modem is that they will install it for you for an extra fee.
Quote:
2. How much does it cost to have the Shaw Wireless Gateway installed?
Installation is free if you choose to install the Gateway on your own with the help of our installation guide. Setup is simple and can be done in minutes. To have a Technician install the Gateway, there is a fee of $49.95.

3. What does the $49.95 installation fee cover?
A Technician will hard wire one computer and connect up to four Wi-Fi computers (laptop or PC based) to ensure you are receiving Internet service. Technicians will not connect gaming devices, printers, PDAs, other wireless components or setup printer and file sharing.

4. How secure is the Shaw Wireless Gateway?
The Gateway uses the most secure wireless networking encryption available, known as WPA2. With WPA2, you can surf confidently and know that you’re home network is free from intruders.

5. Will the Shaw Wireless Gateway work with all of my Wi-Fi devices?
The Gateway is backwards compatible with all 802.11B/G/N computers and devices. This means that any Wi-Fi device can connect to the Gateway.*.

6. I have a purchased modem, can I swap this for the Shaw Wireless Gateway?
No. The Gateway is only offered as a rental at this time. However, you are still eligible to rent the Gateway.
According to what I've read elsewhere, Shaw uses the DOCSIS 2.0 SMC8014WN-RES modem. If you have Warp, you will get the DOCSIS 3.0 SMCD3GN-RES modem.

The SMC8014WN only supports USB 1.1 for connecting a PC without an RJ45 port.
Dr.Dave is offline  
Old 2010-07-04, 01:46 AM   #7
dscott01
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Fraser Valley, BC
Posts: 467
Default

Renting a wireless gateway from Shaw for $3.95 a month doesn't seem like a good deal to me. I'm not sure why they wouldn't match Telus with the free all in one Wireless Router/Router/Modem.
dscott01 is offline  
Old 2010-07-04, 03:12 PM   #8
bowmah
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 696
Default

I don't mind renting the Shaw router if the reliability and throughput performance is there. If it is a stable N router that can perform as well as the WRT54GL with a 3rd party firmware, I am up for that. I have a feeling, no consumer router is better than this setup at the moment. Anyone comment?
bowmah is offline  
Old 2010-07-05, 02:45 PM   #9
loracweb
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 904
Default

The WRT54GL is a good router, but it certaintly wouldn't be my choice if I was buying a new router. ASUS RT-N16 4 Port Gigabit Wireless N Router with 2X USB 2.0 Ports (RT-N16) is somewhat more modern, and also supports 3rd party firmware.

Shaw probably doesn't feel the need to compete with Telus on the wireless modem pricing.
loracweb is offline  
Old 2010-07-05, 08:57 PM   #10
bowmah
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 696
Default

The WRT54GL has been rock solid after using Tomato. We just run Gig switches behind it but the throughput has been excellent and does not hang.

How is the router inside the ASUS RT-N16 4 Port Gigabit Wireless N Router? How doe sit perform in a heavy / business environment?
bowmah is offline  
Old 2010-07-06, 12:17 PM   #11
loracweb
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 904
Default

I haven't actually used the router myself. I'm sure you can find some reviews online for it though.
loracweb is offline  
Old 2010-07-08, 10:29 PM   #12
Shaw Champ
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: AB. LG47"LE5500/Toshiba 32E200U /BDC6500/ Shaw Gateway
Posts: 931
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dscott01 View Post
Renting a wireless gateway from Shaw for $3.95 a month doesn't seem like a good deal to me. I'm not sure why they wouldn't match Telus with the free all in one Wireless Router/Router/Modem.
Hi there, the Telus Router is not Wireless N I believe. Our Bundles at regular rates are also typically less expensive than Telus so consider the bigger overall picture.

......................
Shaw Employee but views/opinions are solely my own and do not represent or are in no way endorsed by any other party.
Shaw Champ is offline  
Old 2010-07-20, 03:10 PM   #13
Lee_Roy
Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 24
Default

I think $3.95 a month is a money grab for people that don't know any better. Also N doesn't give that much more performance over G in a normal house. The only time you would see the N difference is when you are transferring between two computers using N. Also a lot of people forget that their smartphones, PS3s, iPhones, iPod Touchs, Wiis and DSs are all G and once those are on the network it will go down to G speeds anyways.

I'm glad I have my Airport Extreme Gigabit with dual band (G and N).
Lee_Roy is offline  
Old 2010-07-22, 07:30 PM   #14
PaulB
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: North Vancouver, BC
Posts: 136
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lee_Roy View Post
Also a lot of people forget that their smartphones, PS3s, iPhones, iPod Touchs, Wiis and DSs are all G and once those are on the network it will go down to G speeds anyways.
A dual band router, or a G router along with a dedicated N access point (or vice versa) is the way to go if you want to support both G and N devices without slowing down the N connections.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lee_Roy View Post
I'm glad I have my Airport Extreme Gigabit with dual band (G and N).
BTW, G and N are standards, not bands. The bands are 2.4GHz for B/G/N and 5GHz for A/N.
PaulB is offline  
Old 2010-07-22, 07:51 PM   #15
bowmah
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 696
Default

Wouldn't a newer true dual band router play nice with G and N clients within the network?
bowmah is offline  
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:02 PM.

Forum Sponsor


Search Digital Home

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.