Official New 8642 PVR from Rogers - Page 5 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 

Go Back   Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums > Canadian Internet, Phone, TV and Wireless Service Providers > Rogers Communications > Rogers Cable TV: HD PVR Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

Old 2010-03-11, 04:44 PM   #61
wprager
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Kanata, ON, Rogers Digital, 8300-HD
Posts: 1,470
Default

I'd say you'll have to wait a lot longer to be able to swap a rental unit for one of these, than to wait for someone to figure out how to add an external drive.

Can anyone explain why there are still *new* PVRs being produced, with HD capabilities, and only a 160 GB drive? That just makes absolutely no sense at all.
wprager is offline   Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 2010-03-11, 04:50 PM   #62
whitbyterry
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Whitby, Ontario (Rogers Cable), LG 42PC3D, 8642HD
Posts: 526
Default

Someone mentioned recently that it is because they buy large quantities of drives at very cheap prices. They probably bought thousands of those drives for a few dollars each and will keep using them as long as they have them.

I agree, it makes no sense to put that size of a drive in an HD box. The minimum should be 360 with 500 or 1 TB options.
whitbyterry is online now   Quick reply to this message
Old 2010-03-11, 05:27 PM   #63
MCIBUS
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 2,900
Question

Is this unit smaller then the 8300 or the same size?(not hard drive, but box ityself)
MCIBUS is online now   Quick reply to this message
Old 2010-03-11, 06:29 PM   #64
whitbyterry
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Whitby, Ontario (Rogers Cable), LG 42PC3D, 8642HD
Posts: 526
Default

I could find the size specs for the 8300HD but they are in the guide for the new dvr.

http://www.cisco.com/en/US/prod/coll...13/7017062.pdf
whitbyterry is online now   Quick reply to this message
Old 2010-03-11, 06:31 PM   #65
whitbyterry
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Whitby, Ontario (Rogers Cable), LG 42PC3D, 8642HD
Posts: 526
Default

The product guide indicates you can purchase the SARA software for 1, 2 or 3 year license terms. I wonder if that is for Rogers or if that applies to customers? That would not be good if you had to buy a license extension later on.
whitbyterry is online now   Quick reply to this message
Old 2010-03-11, 06:34 PM   #66
taro808
Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 1
Default GUI screenshots anyone?

Does anyone have any screenshots of this new PVR's GUI? There's nothing in the marketing materials. I have the current generation 8300 and the GUI is like circa 1985 - absolutely horrible. Nothing like buying a new 52" HD LCD panel only to be using a menu you could drive a bus between the pixels on.

If this new one has at least a full wide-screen interface and a relatively contemporary menu layout I'd drop this POS 8300 onto Craig's list in a heartbeat.
taro808 is offline   Quick reply to this message
Old 2010-03-11, 06:43 PM   #67
gzero
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: NB
Posts: 138
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by whitbyterry View Post
The product guide indicates you can purchase the SARA software for 1, 2 or 3 year license terms. I wonder if that is for Rogers or if that applies to customers?
It's for the service provider.
gzero is offline   Quick reply to this message
Old 2010-03-11, 07:36 PM   #68
rgboulay
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 8
Default New IPG coming soon

According to the Rogers blog

Rogers_Richard says: Thanks for your feedback. We are currently working on updates to our IPG, with plans to roll out both enhancements and technology upgrades later this year.

Guess we'll have to wait and see...
rgboulay is offline   Quick reply to this message
Old 2010-03-11, 10:29 PM   #69
whitbyterry
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Whitby, Ontario (Rogers Cable), LG 42PC3D, 8642HD
Posts: 526
Default

I suspect that means the IPG will be the same as it is on the 8300HD for now.
whitbyterry is online now   Quick reply to this message
Old 2010-03-11, 10:36 PM   #70
jvincent
Moderator
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 5,430
Default

Yeah, I was thinking the same thing. Let me turn on my Rogers to English translator.....

"We are currently working on updates to our IPG, with plans to roll out both enhancements and technology upgrades later this year." =====> Quick Start Guide.
__________________
Android rocks!
jvincent is online now   Quick reply to this message
Old 2010-03-12, 09:43 AM   #71
hugh
Member #1
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Toronto
Posts: 47,716
Default

Posts removed. This thread is to discuss the 8642. Please use the shopping forums to discuss where you can buy it, best deal pricing etc. and leave this thread to discussing the hardware.
__________________
As of January 2012, I am no longer the owner of the Digital Home website. My comments and opinions are my own and not those of the current site owners.
I have disabled private messaging so for personal inquiries contact me at the Hugh Thompson website or via twitter.
hugh is offline   Quick reply to this message
Old 2010-03-12, 11:22 AM   #72
Proteosome
Veteran
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: London
Posts: 1,793
Default

From the PDF:
Quote:
1080p/24 or 1080p/30 output formats are available on HDMI, if those formats are presented to the set-top box at its input. Incoming video formats will not be converted to either of these for output. Output of these formats is under software control.
Does that mean it will not upconvert to 1080p?
__________________
Ordinarily he was insane, but he had lucid moments when he was merely stupid.
Proteosome is offline   Quick reply to this message
Old 2010-03-12, 12:08 PM   #73
mark_in_2k
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Kitchener / Waterloo
Posts: 111
Default

Quote:
Does that mean it will not upconvert to 1080p?
Sounds like it won't, just as the 8300 doesn't. It's your TV that will be upscaling to 1080p.
__________________
_______________________________
He who dares Rodders, he who dares
mark_in_2k is offline   Quick reply to this message
Old 2010-03-12, 06:39 PM   #74
OldTivoUser
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 40
Default

Since no one has one, I doubt anyone has an answer to this yet. But, the writeup indicates that this supports home networking. Since I see a network interface on there, I assume cat5e - and I assume then that means these won't be able to network with the older boxes. But - wondering what functionality it provides. I assume you can watch any recorded show on either box.

I'd love to try this - but $1K to take the plunge. I'd really rather rent these. I know I've spent $900 over the past 3 years renting the 8300, but I've been through 5 of those so I think I'm still ahead of the game.
OldTivoUser is offline   Quick reply to this message
Old 2010-03-12, 08:20 PM   #75
doingnothing
Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 5
Default

initial thoughts on the new 8642 - was using the old SD PVR for the last 4 years

current max res 1080i

in store buy - 5 minutes in out (had plenty on display)
on phone activation 5 minutes
waiting for system to initalize 10minutes maybe

HD is SATA and look relativity easy to change.

On screen guide - one button press to get in, still only showing 90 minutes at one time. and using the classic format still looks sharper comparied to my old PVR

quick look around setting and menu I haven't seen option for media sharing, might look in the manual for this
doingnothing is offline   Quick reply to this message
Reply

Tags
8642, sd auto stretch, sd auto zoom

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:44 PM.

Search Digital Home

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.