TCM HD Blackout - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 

Go Back   Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums > Entertainment > What's On Television?

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

Old 2009-12-18, 09:21 PM   #1
thenewdc
Veteran
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 2,811
Default TCM HD Blackout

Anyone notice tonight that TCM HD is Blacked out on Rogers with a message saying that they dont have the broadcast rights in Canada, but TCM SD is showing "The Goodbye Girl". I'm surprised that Rogers is using the U.S. feed for TCM HD. I also looked through this coming weeks listings on TCM HD and their are no other blackouts scheduled. So it appears the U.S. and Canadian schedules are virtually identical now with the odd exception.
thenewdc is offline   Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 2009-12-18, 10:26 PM   #2
JamesK
Veteran
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 6,214
Default

I also noticed that blackout. It was surprising and disappointing.
JamesK is online now   Quick reply to this message
Old 2009-12-19, 12:16 AM   #3
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Panasonic TCP65S1, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 8300-eHDD
Posts: 52,652
Default

I also noticed it. I can only assume that they neglected to purchase the HD rights, which are negotiated separately from SD rights. May have been an oversight.
__________________
57's Optimization Services (Home Theatre Optimization) . . . . 57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline   Quick reply to this message
Old 2009-12-19, 08:07 AM   #4
mr weather
Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Mississauga, Ontario
Posts: 1,950
Default

Anyone know who owns the HD rights in Canada?
mr weather is offline   Quick reply to this message
Old 2009-12-19, 10:15 AM   #5
thenewdc
Veteran
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 2,811
Default

Are there any other providers currently carrying TCM HD? I also wonder if Rogers is performing the Blackout or its done by TCM?
thenewdc is offline   Quick reply to this message
Old 2009-12-22, 08:38 PM   #6
viking5000
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 73
Default

Why is TMC even in HD ? Seems to me that a vast majority of the films are from the 30s. 40s and 50s. Does HD "broadcast" make any difference for these movies?
viking5000 is offline   Quick reply to this message
Old 2009-12-22, 10:33 PM   #7
JamesK
Veteran
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 6,214
Default

I have seen some from the 60's and 70's. Also, even 4:3 movies can benefit from HD.
JamesK is online now   Quick reply to this message
Old 2009-12-22, 10:44 PM   #8
jayoldschool
Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,868
Default

Quote:
Seems to me that a vast majority of the films are from the 30s. 40s and 50s. Does HD "broadcast" make any difference for these movies?
Film, even old film, has a much higher resolution than HD. So, when a film is scanned (a process called "Telecline"), the resulting HD digital image still does not capture the full resolution of the film stock.
jayoldschool is online now   Quick reply to this message
Old 2009-12-23, 02:19 PM   #9
worth
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 116
Default

True, but unfortunately the vast majority of TCM`s movies are just upscaled SD. It would be prohibitively expensive for them to create new HD transfers.
worth is offline   Quick reply to this message
Old 2009-12-23, 02:43 PM   #10
hugh
Member #1
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Toronto
Posts: 47,716
Default

You should be happy you're not seeing it. The Goodbye Girl was a terrible movie!
__________________
As of January 2012, I am no longer the owner of the Digital Home website. My comments and opinions are my own and not those of the current site owners.
I have disabled private messaging so for personal inquiries contact me at the Hugh Thompson website or via twitter.
hugh is offline   Quick reply to this message
Old 2009-12-24, 06:31 AM   #11
Hooter
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Toronto
Posts: 243
Default

I checked on my TV last night and it was working just fine. Perhaps only certain movies are blacked out.
Hooter is offline   Quick reply to this message
Old 2009-12-24, 11:01 AM   #12
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Panasonic TCP65S1, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 8300-eHDD
Posts: 52,652
Default

As mentioned in earlier posts, we are discussing specific movies, which on the Rogers guide are listed as "blacked out". I assume TCM don't have the rights for those specific movies in Canada. With TCM it looks as though the US and Canadian channels are quite similar, unlike HDNet for example which has a separate schedule for Canada due to many programme rights not being available for Canada.
__________________
57's Optimization Services (Home Theatre Optimization) . . . . 57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline   Quick reply to this message
Old 2009-12-24, 03:46 PM   #13
thenewdc
Veteran
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 2,811
Default

I dont see any other Blackouts scheduled on the TCM HD channel in the coming week. I'm sure its just the odd movie that will be affected, not a big deal. I guess HDNET because its on a low penetration tier doesn't want to purchase the Canadian Rights for more of its programming. TCM has way more subscibers which makes it profitable for them to do so.
thenewdc is offline   Quick reply to this message
Old 2009-12-24, 05:12 PM   #14
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Panasonic TCP65S1, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 8300-eHDD
Posts: 52,652
Default

With HDNet I don't believe it's a matter of not purchasing rights, but rather that someone else has exclusive rights.
__________________
57's Optimization Services (Home Theatre Optimization) . . . . 57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline   Quick reply to this message
Old 2009-12-25, 05:59 PM   #15
MapMaker
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Toronto 401 & Neilson
Posts: 246
Default

Quote:
...listed as "blacked out". I assume TCM doesn't have the rights for those specific movies in Canada.
Maybe I am missing some key piece of information but...I assume that TCM, being "Turner Classic Movies" would only show movies that are part of Turner's vast collection of films. Therefore, why would they not have the "Canadian" rights to show their own movies in Canada on their own channel?
MapMaker is offline   Quick reply to this message
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:36 AM.

Search Digital Home

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.