HDMI HDCP Strippers - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 

Go Back   Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums > Consumer Electronics and Home Computing > HDTV: High Definition Television including LCD and Plasma

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

Old 2009-12-11, 02:03 AM   #1
noguffay
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 17
Default HDMI HDCP Strippers

Can we post here a list of all the available HDCP strippers on the market that work well and thier general pricing? Also anyones experience with any of these devices and recomendations please.

Starting with HDFury 1,2 and 3 the Fury2 is listed as $199.00US and the Fury3 @ $299.00US.

I have no experience with any of these devices and I'm looking to buy one.
noguffay is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 2009-12-11, 08:48 AM   #2
Bent
Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: MB
Posts: 1,799
Default

the HDFury products seem to alude to the fact that they aren't encumbered by the HDCP protocols.... (marketing speak for "it might work".

The curt palme website is chock full of marketing and hype, and for the record, curtpalm.coms web administrator is a e-friend of mine and I'd vouch for "his" credibility. - but I don't personally know anyone who is using the hdfury equipment.
__________________
I'm a sleep expert.
Bent is offline  
Old 2009-12-11, 11:14 AM   #3
noguffay
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 17
Default

Yeah, these are always the concerns with buying things like this. Would you know of any other similar devices?
noguffay is offline  
Old 2009-12-14, 02:00 PM   #4
hmb
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 12
Default

I have been using an HD Fury 2 for over a year to connect the HDMI output of a Blu-ray player to the RGBHV input of a projector - and it works absolutely perfectly. Yes the developer's web site for this product has a lot of promotional hype but if you read past that it is clear that this is a well-designed product for doing exactly what it says.

The HD Fury doesn't "circumvent HDCP protocols" - in fact it has to be fully HDCP compliant in order to work. However, it clearly does allow you to do something that HDCP was designed to prevent. As for what it does do: it is simply an adapter box with an HDMI input that is fully compliant with HDCP, and produces an RGBHV or component video output at exactly the same resolution as the input signal.

Last edited by hmb; 2009-12-14 at 02:47 PM. Reason: Additional information added
hmb is offline  
Old 2009-12-14, 02:52 PM   #5
noguffay
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 17
Default

That sounds great. I'll be getting one ASAP.

I've also seen at their website the moone or something named like that? It has more I/O and cheaper then the HDFury3 and was wondering about a apples to apples comparison.
noguffay is offline  
Old 2009-12-14, 03:20 PM   #6
hmb
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 12
Default

I think the Moome boxes also sold on that web site only output an RGBHV signal vs the HD Fury 2 or 3 which output either RGBHV or component video (switch selectable).
hmb is offline  
Old 2009-12-15, 01:10 PM   #7
noguffay
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 17
Default

There is the Moome MUX-HD HDMI/DVI Repeater for $289.00 US which has DVI out. A rather expensive fix for a rather cheap setup (Xbox360 + TTV IPN430MC tunner/PVR + Sony PFM-42V1 Plasma monitor + PC). I guess this is the price I'll have to accept for trying to maintain some HD quality using the DVI in as opposed to the S-Vid or other composite in. Has/is any one used this device and what are your opinions. I'd like to achieve HDMI out of my XBox360 and IPN430MC to the DVI in of my Sony Plasma monitor, so this seems to be the logical choice. I'm concerned about quality and service. I've seen a few negatives about these issues with Moome on the forums. Any other options out there?

http://www.curtpalme.com/MUX-HD.shtm

Last edited by noguffay; 2009-12-15 at 01:23 PM. Reason: leftout info
noguffay is offline  
Old 2009-12-15, 01:24 PM   #8
hmb
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 12
Default

Presumably your Sony plasma monitor not have an HDCP-compliant DVI port, which is why you need this type of solution?
hmb is offline  
Old 2009-12-15, 01:39 PM   #9
noguffay
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 17
Default

That would be correct. It is an old school, pre 2005 model. Thank the heavens for the techs that can get us out and around the big business's ways of screwing us out of more money than the cost of a mod. I should be thankful for only having to pay this much.
noguffay is offline  
Old 2009-12-15, 03:28 PM   #10
noguffay
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 17
Default

Not sure if I'm going off topic here or if I'm 100% correct with these facts, but why is it OK for a post 2005 PC based DVD player or Blue-Ray player with a graphics card with HDMI and/or DVI-D out to not have to have HDCP compliance? My PNY Invidia card has DVI-D out and can play movies on my pre 2005 HDCP non compliant plasma monitor, but a XBox360 or probably any new STHD PVR or Blue-Ray player has to be HDCP compliant? Did they just forget about making PC based components HDCP compliant?
noguffay is offline  
Old 2009-12-15, 07:41 PM   #11
ScaryBob
Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: The Dandelion City
Posts: 7,133
Default

Quote:
Did they just forget about making PC based components HDCP compliant?
PC components typically are HDCP compliant. You may have some hardware that gets around that somehow. It is more likely that either the source material has no HDCP protection or that a piece of software is removing it. The mainstream option is to use component cables with older displays.
__________________
At 20 I had a good mind. At 40 I had money. At 60 I've lost my mind and my money. Oh, to be 20 again. --Scary
ScaryBob is offline  
Old 2009-12-15, 08:02 PM   #12
grog
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Moffat, ON
Posts: 833
Default

Doesn't your TV have component (not composite) inputs? If it does then you can use those to get hi-def video from an Xbox 360, HD PVR or Blu-ray player (you may need a component video switch if you don't have enough inputs but you can get one of those for well under $100). It is possible at some point down the road that some Blu-ray titles will start to require an HDMI/HDCP connection but right now none are doing that so you don't really need HDMI. It is doubtful you would see any quality difference between component and HDMI anyway.
grog is offline  
Old 2009-12-15, 08:33 PM   #13
grog
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Moffat, ON
Posts: 833
Default

I just noticed you listed the model number of your TV in another post. I found the specs on it here:

http://tech.yahoo.com/ps/sony-pfm-42v1-s/1991517026

Note that your TV is only an EDTV with a native resolution of 852x480 so although it will accept HD resolutions it will downconvert them to 480p anyway. Although you'll see some improvement by using DVI I personally wouldn't spend that kind of money on a temporary solution like an HDCP stripper and just save the money for a TV upgrade down the road. At $289 US you'll be over $400 CDN by the time you factor in shipping, taxes, duties, etc. on top of the exchange rate. That's almost half way there for a decent quality 1080p LCD of a similar size as your current TV. In another year or two you'll be able to buy one for ~$500 (you can get cheapo brands now for close to that).
grog is offline  
Old 2009-12-15, 08:42 PM   #14
noguffay
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 17
Default

My Sony PFM-42V1 has no YPbPr component in, just 1- VGA, 1- DVI, 1- S-Video composite and 1- Coaxial composite inputs. I'm trying not to use the two composite inputs. My PC is VGA out, so that leaves the DVI for the XBox and the PVR, both of which have HDMI and component out. Spending $350.00 including shipping for the Moome MUX-HD HDMI/DVI Repeater seems to be the only solution? F$@# HDCP!
noguffay is offline  
Old 2009-12-15, 09:18 PM   #15
noguffay
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 17
Default

You're right. I'll live with the S-Video. Maybe I could use the DVI for the PC with a cheap pre 2005 graphics card with DVI out? Then use the VGA for the XBox (a standard XBox cable) and the S-Vid for the PVR's S-Vid out
noguffay is offline  
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:49 PM.

Search Digital Home

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.