Can I buy HD PVR for regular (non-HDTV) - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 

Go Back   Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums > Canadian Internet, Phone, TV and Wireless Service Providers > Rogers Communications > Rogers Cable TV

Digital Home Helpful Information

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

Old 2009-12-05, 05:57 PM   #1
dmccorm140
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: tbd
Posts: 932
Default Can I buy HD PVR for regular (non-HDTV)

I was thinging of buying a Rogers PVR HD PVR for my parents. They just have regular TV but would like PVR capabilities. As rogers does not have regular PVR's anymore, would the HD PVRR work with regular tvs?
__________________
Rogers 2PVR's, four digital terminals.
All DigNet pack, TMN,, Playboy, Hustler, TEN Network, Howard Stern and Sports Pak Sub. 2 subs Sirius,1 sub XM.
dmccorm140 is offline   Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 2009-12-05, 06:02 PM   #2
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Panasonic TCP65S1, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 8300-eHDD
Posts: 52,698
Default

Sure would. You can connect it via S-video, composite video or RF-coax (best to worst video quality). Analogue audio cables (red/white) are requried for the first two options if they use the TV speakers.

They will even be able to see the HD channels they qualify for, downconverted to 480i for those SD connections and in 16:9 when HD. If they have an AVR, they can also get DD5.1 from the HD channels...
__________________
57's Optimization Services (Home Theatre Optimization) . . . . 57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline   Quick reply to this message
Old 2009-12-05, 07:07 PM   #3
JamesK
Veteran
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 6,233
Default

Yes, you can connect a HD PVR or converter to a SD TV. I have done that, with via S-Video cable and currently I have my VCR connected to the composite output. Both methods work fine. You can even use component cables, if your TV supports that. As mentioned in the note above, you can also watch the HD only channels that way, which you couldn't do with a SD converter.
JamesK is online now   Quick reply to this message
Old 2009-12-05, 08:41 PM   #4
dmccorm140
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: tbd
Posts: 932
Default

Thank you for the information!
__________________
Rogers 2PVR's, four digital terminals.
All DigNet pack, TMN,, Playboy, Hustler, TEN Network, Howard Stern and Sports Pak Sub. 2 subs Sirius,1 sub XM.
dmccorm140 is offline   Quick reply to this message
Old 2009-12-06, 12:59 AM   #5
windows7
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: London, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 304
Default

I've owned a Explorer 3250 HD for a year and a half despite owning a SD TV for the added HD channels you get (I put up w/ the "black bars"). While I'd never buy into that over-priced HD PVR (antiquated, but so is every Rogers STB using this lousy UI), it makes sense to "future-proof" one's self.
windows7 is offline   Quick reply to this message
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:46 AM.

Search Digital Home

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.