External Hard Drive Problems and Discussion - See Facts Link in Post 1. - Page 34 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 

Go Back   Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums > Canadian Internet, Phone, TV and Wireless Service Providers > Bell Canada Enterprises (BCE) > Bell Satellite TV PVR, HD PVR and HD Receivers

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

Old 2011-05-08, 08:59 AM   #496
thatmarkguy
Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 11
Default

I braved it and all was well... Seagate tools in Windows allowed me to change sleep settings and left my archived recordings intact!
thatmarkguy is offline   Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 2011-05-18, 10:38 PM   #497
xorbitman
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Montreal
Posts: 8
Default

A lot of companies have had issues with LaCie...including myself. I personally do not recommend LaCie or WD. Seagates are the best from my own experience. A lot of companies however do use Seagate drives in their enclosures such as ComStar.
xorbitman is offline   Quick reply to this message
Old 2011-05-18, 10:44 PM   #498
xorbitman
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Montreal
Posts: 8
Default The case of the missing shows....

Hi! I'm new to this forum...however I've been using forums since 2002. Back during the boxing week sales, I purchased an iomega select desktop hard drive to use as an ehd with my 9242 receiver. After the install everything seemed to work perfectly well. I archived a bunch of stuff that our family wanted to preserve favorite shows and we were able to archive and playback normally. Recently though, I went in to the ehd to see what I had and noticed that everything that we had in there had disappeared. Poof no more recordings and the disk was showing 133 hours left (Standard HD recording time for a 1TB ehd).

First off...I would like to make sure that I am posting in the right place.
Second...I called Bell TV support and they said that the problem is most likely my iomega and to contact them. Now, I no dummy when it comes to this stuff.
I am in fact a computer geek and have been for over 25 years....no spring chicken here. I am president of my own independent computer services company and have installed our internal network and I know how to install all sorts of devices including EHDs. I know that the 9242 reformats the EHD so that it can be used with its own file system which is similar to a Llinux based OS. So my question is....what happened to my shows? I unplugged and got the standard error message: "a external HD device was disconnected"and reconnected it. Then I proceeded to archive another group of shows with no problem; to archive and play back. So I know that the drive is working correctly.
xorbitman is offline   Quick reply to this message
Old 2011-05-18, 10:49 PM   #499
xorbitman
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Montreal
Posts: 8
Default

Just as a side note...after my post, I contacted iomega support and had the funniest chat support I've ever witnessed. I have a feeling that the support person (probably in South-East Asia) had never heard of this type of hook-up before (EHD for a PVR). So iomega is sending me a case number and is offering me free telephone support...(usually they charge $25 per incident) She did however mention that she had never heard of any problems with that. Her last question to me was: "What format is being used?" odd question...I answered that since I do not work for Bell TV I don't have a clue although personally I suspect it is some type of Linux based os file system.

Ok so as a follow up to my support session with iomega...they have a PVR approved EHD and recommend that one...it's not cheap at $130 however my experience is that you get what you pay for. I don't know it this unit is available in Canada> Plus it has not been tested on BTV PVRs.

SO again I have to ask...and I did do a search here. Is anyone still experiencing EHDs suddenly losing their archived recordings?

I forgot to mention that the EHD had a lot of room....only 25 percent used or less at the time.
xorbitman is offline   Quick reply to this message
Old 2011-05-19, 12:18 AM   #500
xorbitman
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Montreal
Posts: 8
Default

So after reading through the entire thread from the first page in 2009 till today, I can definitely see that there are a lot issues with EHD and the Bell PVRs. The first issue is that when your receiver receives an update, you may think that the programming on your EHD has been erased so you should disconnect you EHD and reboot your Receiver then reconnect your EHD..if it still shows up as empty than you can call Bell and take your random chances with that or keep trying to reconnect till they reappear or....you're out of luck. From what I gather..this is not a very robust way to "archive" recordings so be happy while it works but don't be surprised when it stops working properly....I'm not impressed. Oh well, what did I expect for $59 (boxing week sale). I can say that I'm also surprised at all the Hitachi drive problems as these are regarded by IT specialists as some of the best drives on the market. iomega is good however lots of IT guys have had problems with LaCie....and yet they seem to work well on many of these PVRs so you go figure! Who knows...and I still don't have my 30 or so hours showing up on my external drive....so what do I know.....
xorbitman is offline   Quick reply to this message
Old 2011-05-19, 08:02 PM   #501
Pinza
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: North of the GTA
Posts: 9,944
Default

It might be possible to recover them by booting a PC with a Linux Distro, then transfer the files to the PC. Attach the EHD back to the Bell PVR, re-format. Then move the files back from the PC.

Might be an option, you have nothing to loose except time.
Pinza is online now   Quick reply to this message
Old 2011-06-01, 05:54 PM   #502
chrispycritters
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 1
Default multiple external hard drives

hi there,
i am very new here so...

i can't seem to find an answer to my question which is can I switch between external hard drives without having to format them?
I've almost filled one external and now need to switch to another one; however, when i want to watch something from the 1st ehd will it ask me to format it or will i be able to watch a recorded show?
chrispycritters is offline   Quick reply to this message
Old 2011-06-01, 06:06 PM   #503
ScaryBob
Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: The Dandelion City
Posts: 7,133
Default

Swapping hard drives is not an issue. Just make sure no files are being transferred and turn off the drive before swapping. I also recommend that you wait for wait for the 'Device Disconnected' dialog box and dismiss it before connecting and turning on the second drive.
__________________
At 20 I had a good mind. At 40 I had money. At 60 I've lost my mind and my money. Oh, to be 20 again. --Scary
ScaryBob is offline   Quick reply to this message
Old 2011-06-01, 07:33 PM   #504
Blackloz
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Regina,SK & Minot, North Dakota
Posts: 1,142
Question 9242 EHD Disconnecting

I have a Lacie 2TB EHD on my 9242 and ever since I got it, it always seems to disconnect itself every once in awhile usually once or twice a week. The other day it was 4 times that day. I have to unplug & replug from the UPS to get it to come back. My old 1TB SimpleTech EHD I used to have on the 9242 never did this once, so im not sure why this drive is doing this?
Blackloz is online now   Quick reply to this message
Old 2011-06-12, 02:06 AM   #505
bugeyes
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 2
Default External Hard Drive

Alright, I thought I read up enough on this forum to determine that I could add an external Harddrive to one of my 9241's (I have 2) and switch the EHD back and forth more than 3 times. Everything worked great until the 4th connection and now an error message says that Bell doesn't support the USB device. Now the EHD only works on 1 reciever. So is the 3 strikes rule still in effect??? Somewhere in these forums I read they (BELL) took the 3 strikes rule out...that is why I checked this tonight before I have a hundred recordings. I know it isn't an issue with the EHD (Seagate, 7200rpm 2 TB)...as it worked fine on both recievers...up untill the 4th switch. Anyone?
bugeyes is offline   Quick reply to this message
Old 2011-06-13, 04:33 PM   #506
Kendres
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 3
Default transferring files to new EHD

I want to transfer my files from a 1TB to 2TB for my 6131. My PC sees there is a drive connected but under My Computer there is no drive.
Is software required or just a PC setting to view the exisiting files for transfer to the new drive that has also been formatted by the receiver?
Kendres is offline   Quick reply to this message
Old 2011-06-13, 04:47 PM   #507
hugh
Member #1
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Toronto
Posts: 47,716
Default

bugeyes, as noted in my Facts thread
http://www.digitalhome.ca/forum/showthread.php?t=100773

The 3 strike rule is not applicable to the 6xxx series receivers. As noted in my thread, this is not the case for the 9xxx series and I have never been officially told that this has changed.
__________________
As of January 2012, I am no longer the owner of the Digital Home website. My comments and opinions are my own and not those of the current site owners.
I have disabled private messaging so for personal inquiries contact me at the Hugh Thompson website or via twitter.
hugh is offline   Quick reply to this message
Old 2011-06-13, 04:48 PM   #508
hugh
Member #1
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Toronto
Posts: 47,716
Default

kendres, it can't be done. Please search and you'll find more discussion about it but essentially all the files are on the Bell drivers are encrypted and the file system is not the same as Windows.
__________________
As of January 2012, I am no longer the owner of the Digital Home website. My comments and opinions are my own and not those of the current site owners.
I have disabled private messaging so for personal inquiries contact me at the Hugh Thompson website or via twitter.
hugh is offline   Quick reply to this message
Old 2011-06-13, 05:04 PM   #509
Kendres
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 3
Default

Hugh,
So the only option is to just add the new EHD to the 6131 and switch drives to view all recordings.
Kendres is offline   Quick reply to this message
Old 2011-06-14, 12:15 AM   #510
Blackloz
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Regina,SK & Minot, North Dakota
Posts: 1,142
Default

isn't the cap on the 6xxx series still at 1tb?
Blackloz is online now   Quick reply to this message
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:51 PM.

Search Digital Home

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.