How to connect outdoor antenna to tv? - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 

Go Back   Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums > Canadian Internet, Phone, TV and Wireless Service Providers > Over-The-Air (OTA) Digital Television

Digital Home Helpful Information

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

Old 2009-08-29, 02:08 PM   #1
SIRTIE
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 1
Default How to connect outdoor antenna to tv?

Hello all, I have a question. How can I connect outdoor antenna to tv? My TV does not have coaxial cable connection. What do I need?
Is it possible to set it up through satellite receiver?
SIRTIE is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 2009-08-29, 03:38 PM   #2
ppauper
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 245
Default

what connections does your tv have ?
and you don't have a vcr you can put it through ?
ppauper is offline  
Old 2009-08-29, 07:30 PM   #3
M.Satterfield
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Richardson, TX
Posts: 151
Default

If it has the old 2 screws for 300 ohm twinlead, just connect a BALUN to the end of your coax wire, and then hook the two leads from the BALUN to the VHF portion of the TV.

I am assuming the coax will be coming from either a satellite box or DTV tuner box that is set for either channel 3 or 4 on the VHF band.

Once it is all hooked up, tune your TV to either channel 3 or 4 (which ever one the box is set on) and you should be good to go.

HTH.

Mike
M.Satterfield is offline  
Old 2009-08-29, 07:33 PM   #4
stampeder
OTA Forum Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: North Delta, BC (96Av x 116St)
Posts: 23,451
Default

It might be a new monitor-type tunerless TV too, so I'm hoping he'll post the make and model number here.
stampeder is offline  
Old 2009-08-30, 11:30 AM   #5
JamesK
Veteran
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 5,889
Default

If a regular TV doesn't have a coax input, it must be an antique, as coax has been standard for decades. If this is the case, you'll have to get a balun to convert from coax to the twisted pair input. If it's not an ancient TV, please describe what connections it does have.
JamesK is online now  
Old 2009-08-30, 09:45 PM   #6
JamesK
Veteran
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 5,889
Default

Quote:
Some luggable TVs don't have ANY connections, just one or two telescoping whips.
Perhaps, but I've had a couple of those, over the years, and both had a short piece of cable, from the antenna, coming out of the back and onto a coax connector. If you wanted to use the built in antenna, you'd leave that short cable connected. If you wanted to use an external antenna or cable, you'd unplug that short cable to make room for the connection. However, I didn't get the impression that's what he was referring to. For that matter, I didn't get much of any impression, because he didn't provide any useful info.
JamesK is online now  
Old 2009-09-01, 11:54 AM   #7
stampeder
OTA Forum Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: North Delta, BC (96Av x 116St)
Posts: 23,451
Default

No idea where the OP went, so I've moved some posts about vintage TVs to this great thread:

Retro Video Equipment (TVs, Antennas, Consoles, Etc.)

Last edited by stampeder; 2009-09-01 at 01:36 PM.
stampeder is offline  
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:14 AM.

OTA Forum Sponsor


Search Digital Home

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.