Shaw Direct Complaint and Rant Thread - Page 11 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 

Go Back   Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums > Canadian Internet, Phone, TV and Wireless Service Providers > Shaw Direct (formerly Star Choice)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

Old 2010-09-04, 07:19 PM   #151
Moose57
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Near the Hills
Posts: 632
Default Good Job! Give them a reality Check.

I'm walking as well and I only have 2 HD OTA channels to go to, but I'm covered 99% with that and the balance from the internet.

With most of the internet providers also having a TV divisions, somehow, we'll all get it in the end.
Moose57 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 2010-09-19, 10:04 PM   #152
i am canadian
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Q.C.
Posts: 17
Angry

on saturday--18th-- i was /more likely to watch something else on tv instead on SPEED on 406 picture was so awful that it was like filmed with a junk camera. no i don't have SPEED in HD. but everytime i had to press the guide as you know the picture gets small and it was clear like hd!! maybe it was so compressed? i don't know. i tested it and it was the same for all the sd channels picture was real good when the guide was on.. but when watching it regulary it was tasteless.. only at 406 picture was real bad to look at. all ordinary channels are respectable in HD they are splendid. that was my complaint . when hockey season will start i will subscribe to the HD sports i will watch speed -274-all winter long until hockey ends tsn+tsn2 HD.
i am canadian is offline  
Old 2010-10-03, 07:18 PM   #153
HiDefBob
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 1,274
Default

While watching the Lions/Bombers last evening on TSN HD I experienced several picture and sound dropouts lasting anywhere from a couple of seconds to about 10 seconds. Nearly all occurred in the first half. I also have noticed that happening occasionally on other CFL games and Blue Jay games on Sportsnet HD Ontario & One. These occurences only seem to be happening on live broadcasts, not on the normal HD programming. Any one else experiencing these dropouts?
__________________
WOW TV is here! NTSC RIP!
Shaw Direct/Bell TV/Telus Optik
HiDefBob is offline  
Old 2010-10-03, 08:05 PM   #154
killarney
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 102
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by HiDefBob View Post
While watching the Lions/Bombers last evening on TSN HD I experienced several picture and sound dropouts lasting anywhere from a couple of seconds to about 10 seconds. Nearly all occurred in the first half. I also have noticed that happening occasionally on other CFL games and Blue Jay games on Sportsnet HD Ontario & One. These occurences only seem to be happening on live broadcasts, not on the normal HD programming. Any one else experiencing these dropouts?
I notice the same on 267 during the ball games.
killarney is offline  
Old 2010-10-04, 09:27 AM   #155
d_source
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 596
Default

I noticed that yesterday during the hockey game as well and it happens everytime on a US station where the programming has been simsubbed by Global.
d_source is offline  
Old 2010-10-04, 01:10 PM   #156
bongoxx
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 231
Default

Watching the Houston vs, Oakland Game yesterday on NFLST on channel 435 (I Beleive).

With about 6 minutes left in the game it went to commercials, then all the sudden I'm watching the Chicago Blackhawks preseason game. Keep in mind the football game was on CBS and the Blackhawks game was on WGN....

Call SD to talk to someone - "We don not control what the individual networks put on thier networks and when they may cut to another program."
Okay, I get that, but please don't tell me CBS switched to cover a hockey game on WGN.
"Let me look into that sitr"
While on hold, the channel changes again from Blawkhacks game to the Chargers/Cardinals game (broadcast by Fox), then back to the Blackhawks game. Then once again from the Blackhawks game to the Houston/Oakland game.
He came back after me holding for about 7 minutes and apologized but had no idea why it would have been doing that.

Someone was active at the switch yesterday
bongoxx is offline  
Old 2010-10-04, 02:00 PM   #157
987654321
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 1,075
Default

It's SBS that does the switching - Not Shaw Direct. No point in calling Shaw Direct - call SBS in Mississauga
987654321 is offline  
Old 2010-10-12, 10:59 PM   #158
Louis819
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 7
Default Bell TV is the best!

I've move in a brand new house recently. When I call Bell for moving my phone, they offered me a very good deal to subscribe to Bell TV. I accepted! I was a Starchoice subscriber since 2003.

My God what a good move. Bell TV is way over shaw Direct in every aspect. Mostly in hd channels availability and PVR performance.

Do it if you can!!!
Louis819 is offline  
Old 2010-10-13, 04:00 AM   #159
a1canuck
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 80
Default

Quote:
Bell TV is way over shaw Direct in every aspect
please let us know how you like it after the next rainstorm.... or if you ever need a service call on your dish.
a1canuck is offline  
Old 2010-10-13, 06:06 AM   #160
QualityIsJobOne
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Bedford NS
Posts: 668
Smile

LOL...You will also enjoy Bell's sim-subs!
QualityIsJobOne is offline  
Old 2010-10-13, 02:21 PM   #161
starchoice
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 1,829
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by a1canuck View Post
please let us know how you like it after the next rainstorm.... or if you ever need a service call on your dish.
...or a billing problem.
starchoice is offline  
Old 2010-10-13, 06:41 PM   #162
peano
Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 3,709
Default

.....or if you have a good HD display and appreciate better PQ and less compression.
peano is offline  
Old 2010-11-02, 10:16 PM   #163
jseigel
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 3
Default rebooting every day

In 2 days either channels disappeared completely or could not be seen unless I did a physical reboot. Then the programming showed my programs but no available dates. If you change channels too quickly the unit reboots. Just turning it on today I changed one channel and the unit rebooted.
Getting ready to give this unit the boot, and maybe rebuy when the firmware is updated to .14 or evem .15. My tuners vary showing S and N/A inconsistantly, but with good signal strength. No line is split.
Called customer service many times, have done physical reboots (wiping out recording, of course), rearranged the co-ax line feeds. Customers service suggested maybe I should turn off my internet from Rogers for a few days, and I suggested I could live without Shaw first as I use it for my business. My house is 'smart-wired' and there will be no further wiring. Before I was using the 505 and a dvd recorder, and was much more reliable, even if more work and less quality pic.
probably will ask Shaw to reverse the PVR credit and wait a year for the bugs to work out. I get constant calls from Rogers with free PVR for a couple of years, and having had the 505 from the start with all its initial bugs leads one to wonder. However, I am told Rogers has their own issues, so may just go back to simple and no pvr.
Sorry I am rambling, just tired from long work weeks and frustration at not being able to enjoy what I paid for.
jseigel is offline  
Old 2010-11-03, 09:27 AM   #164
Sirius Guy
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 638
Default

possible bad port on the lnb, since you are now using 2 coax lines for dvr it would not show up on the 505. I have seen it happen, swap ports on lnb or get shaw to do a service call and replace the lnb
Sirius Guy is offline  
Old 2010-11-03, 02:24 PM   #165
jseigel
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 3
Default

what is lnb??
jseigel is offline  
Reply

Tags
complaint, rant, shaw direct

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:49 AM.

Search Digital Home

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.