Bowtie antennas vs Gray Hoverman antennas? - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums

Go Back   Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums > Canadian Internet, Phone, TV and Wireless Service Providers > Over-The-Air (OTA) Digital Television > Antenna Research & Development

Digital Home Helpful Information

Old 2009-07-08, 12:01 PM   #1
avenger

Default Bowtie antennas vs Gray Hoverman antennas?

First of all I am new to this whole building of HD antennas. Since now everything suppose to be in High Defenition Tv reception, what is the main difference between a Bowtie antennas and the Gray Hoverman antennas when it comes to performance. I have made one of each but have only used the Gray Hoverman antenna with good results . Are both antennas capable of receiving all of the High Defenition Channels?. Is it possible to stack one Bowtie and Gray Hoverman, and vice versa for a better performance of reception. I hope that I am not asking too many silly questions for a rookie. Any help and information is greatly appreciated. Thanking You in advance.
avenger
avenger is offline   Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 2009-07-08, 02:48 PM   #2
stampeder
OTA Forum Moderator

Hello and welcome here avenger - they each have their own benefits, and they both are able to pick up digital TV signals better than most or all commercial antennas.

Check out the gain performance chart thread for a good comparison, but also try to pick out a design (of either type) that suits your reception requirements, your budget, and your build skills. Currently if you need to go large there are more build options for a DBGH (Double Bay Gray Hoverman) than with the M8 (mclapp 8-bay Bowtie Reflector) but that is really only just because the M8 has not had much testing and refinement to this point.

Please read through these links:
stampeder is offline   Quick reply to this message
Old 2009-07-08, 02:54 PM   #3
300ohm
Veteran

Quote: