PBS on AMC 21 - Page 5 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 

Go Back   Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums > Canadian Internet, Phone, TV and Wireless Service Providers > Free to Air Satellite Television

Digital Home Helpful Information

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

Old 2011-03-06, 01:12 AM   #61
DrSat
Corporate Supporter
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Oakville, ON
Posts: 1,191
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by majortom View Post
Rick, et al.
Did you guys mention the type of LNBF you're using with your small antennas?
A high quality LNBF can also make all the difference in the world. Especially if it's an older model, several years old. After your dish size (Antenna gain) & Alignment, your next shot for improvement would be the overall system Noise Figure Of your system, in which the LNBF would play an important role.

At least that's how I see it. Glad to hear you at least know it's functioning now.
I think that Claro Mux is a fairly new provider meant for Carribean? All Spanish stuff ya can tell that much.
Speaking of LNBF, make sure you guys tweak the skew AND focal point of the LNBF itself once the dish itself is aligned to the desired satellite. People often forget to adjust the skew (twist LNBF left or right on holder) or adjust the focal point (push LNBF in or out on holder). You will be surprised how much difference in signal strength this adjustment can make. Also, it is a good idea to check both horizontal and vertical channels when adjusting the skew as you need to find the "sweet spot" where both horizontal and vertical transponders come in the strongest.
DrSat is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 2011-09-13, 03:53 PM   #62
wbooth
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Mount Albert [#48 highway & Mnt. Albert Rd.]
Posts: 34
Default rookie question [sorry]

I was given a ViewSat2000 'Extreme' receiver and a DirecTV dish. Will the dish be suitable for AMC21? Since I live well north of Toronto I have no hope of receiving PBS off air from Buffalo and I have read its available Free to Air?

thanks folks
wbooth is offline  
Old 2011-09-13, 04:08 PM   #63
Kraven
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: South Shore, QC
Posts: 558
Default

Your receiver will not get all the PBS channels/feeds since its not dvb-s2 compatible. Can't say about the dish thought but you might need a larger one.

Cheers, K
Kraven is offline  
Old 2011-09-13, 06:01 PM   #64
dtvinvictoria
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Victoria BC
Posts: 384
Default

Not all the PBS channels are S2, he would be able to get PBS World, Create, and VeMe. Not sure if that receiver is high def or not but the generic east and west HD PBS feeds are not S2 either.
__________________
Motorized 90cm/AzBox Elite HD for Ku FTA; CM-4228HD for OTA; Bell TV
dtvinvictoria is online now  
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:15 AM.

FTA Forum Sponsor


Search Digital Home

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.