Seinfeld in HD - Page 2 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 

Go Back   Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums > Entertainment > What's On Television?

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

Old 2009-05-24, 09:08 PM   #16
Lindsay649
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Woodstock, Ontario
Posts: 1,172
Default

Three back to back eposides of Seinfeld in HD were aired today on Global . Certainly makes you want to watch the whole series over again. The qualtiy was excellant.
Lindsay649 is offline   Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 2009-05-25, 01:47 AM   #17
Nick Martin
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 59
Default

They put a lot of work into these:

-expanding each framed sequence as much as possible, avoiding any set edges, light stands and so on (which is a problem with the expanded-to-widescreen UK DVD releases of "Buffy The Vampire Slayer" and UK/Domestic release of "ANGEL" season 2)

-Then if they were unable to expand because of the above-mentioned issues, crop the top, bottom or both to make the 1.78:1 frame

-Redesign all the episodes' opening and end titles, repositioning them to fit the new framing and still be 4:3 safe

The older episodes are very grainy, and it's great that they went to all that effort for every episode.
Nick Martin is offline   Quick reply to this message
Old 2009-05-25, 06:15 AM   #18
docted1
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 94
Default

Global frequently airs 3 back-to-back Seinfelds on Sundays and two on Saturdays.
docted1 is offline   Quick reply to this message
Old 2009-05-28, 04:01 PM   #19
rileyparrish
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Rogers Specialist, Downtown Edmonton, Alberta
Posts: 578
Default

This is the ONLY reason I'd want a Global HD Edmonton channel. But I'd still take no simsubs vs Seinfeld in HD. Have any HD American networks done this yet?
__________________
Shaw Xtreme-I,HD(DCT3416),Phone | Iphone 3GS,BlackBerry Bold (Rogers) | 42" 1080P,7.1 Sound,Xbox 360 Elite,Blu-ray HTPC
rileyparrish is offline   Quick reply to this message
Old 2009-06-01, 02:01 PM   #20
Nick Martin
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 59
Default

Seinfeld reruns typically air on FOX stations. Is there no FOX affiliate available in Alberta that airs it?
Nick Martin is offline   Quick reply to this message
Old 2009-06-02, 09:44 PM   #21
rileyparrish
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Rogers Specialist, Downtown Edmonton, Alberta
Posts: 578
Default

WUHF-HD(Rochester) and KCPQ(Seattle)/KAYU(Spokane) are the Fox affiliates here on cable but I haven't seen an HD episode yet (they may very well be airing them), I find Seinfeld usually is on weekends (WUHF) but cant remember if it even airs on the FOX west feeds. Will consult my OPG.
__________________
Shaw Xtreme-I,HD(DCT3416),Phone | Iphone 3GS,BlackBerry Bold (Rogers) | 42" 1080P,7.1 Sound,Xbox 360 Elite,Blu-ray HTPC
rileyparrish is offline   Quick reply to this message
Old 2009-07-18, 03:29 PM   #22
Wharfe
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: St. John's, NL
Posts: 569
Default

Just came here to post in this thread .. I had remembered reading it a while back.. I just turned on Global and am seeing a Seinfeld episode in HD! It's awesome.. looks so different!
Wharfe is offline   Quick reply to this message
Old 2009-07-18, 08:27 PM   #23
VBC1
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Downtown, Vancouver, BC
Posts: 175
Default

Good thing you mentioned, I already even forgot to watch for it.
I can see there are two upcoming episodes scheduled for tomorrow:
"The Sponge" and "The Gum" at 13:30 and at 14:00.
I will record them and then burn to dvd to start my new archives.
VBC1 is offline   Quick reply to this message
Old 2009-07-18, 10:51 PM   #24
Wharfe
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: St. John's, NL
Posts: 569
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by VBC1 View Post
Good thing you mentioned, I already even forgot to watch for it.
I can see there are two upcoming episodes scheduled for tomorrow:
"The Sponge" and "The Gum" at 13:30 and at 14:00.
I will record them and then burn to dvd to start my new archives.
FYI I watched another 2 episodes on another Global channel just after and those were not HD. However, the 2nd channel was not Global BC, and as for the one that was HD, I didnt not take note of which channel that was. Hope you are successful in getting some HD recorded!
Wharfe is offline   Quick reply to this message
Old 2009-12-27, 12:25 AM   #25
Paolo
Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Regional Municipality of Durham
Posts: 3,149
Default

I love seinfeld in HD. I want a blue-ray release
Paolo is online now   Quick reply to this message
Old 2011-09-10, 08:20 PM   #26
VBC1
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Downtown, Vancouver, BC
Posts: 175
Default

Few years later, looks like Global had waisted its rights for this show in HD.

Now, Seinfeld has started airing in HD on Citytv, weekdays at midnight.
VBC1 is offline   Quick reply to this message
Old 2012-07-03, 12:25 AM   #27
Wayne
Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Scarboro
Posts: 6,233
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cm3020prob View Post
For example, if for some reason, you want to record all Seinfeld episodes in syndication, it's not worth filling up your PVR's HDD with the HD version when you know the series was taped in SD.
Seinfeld wasn't taped at all - it was filmed and the film would have a higher resolution than 1080p. So assuming that the HD versions of Seinfeld were made from new digital transfers of Seinfeld then you are not wasting space.
This is true for pretty much all TV series - assuming new transfers then it is worthwhile having them in HD.

Last edited by 57; 2012-07-03 at 01:59 PM. Reason: Moved from another thread.
Wayne is offline   Quick reply to this message
Old 2012-07-03, 12:33 AM   #28
alebowgm
Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 4,540
Default

Yep, Seinfeld was shot on 35 mm film so it was much easier to transfer to HD, which is why its HD pretty much everywhere in syndication.
__________________
CM4228, CM4220HD, Samsung LNT3242H, AccessHD DTA1080D, RCA DTA800, CM7775, Samsung DTB-H260F, Samsung LN40B750
alebowgm is online now   Quick reply to this message
Old 2012-07-03, 08:30 AM   #29
JamesK
Veteran
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 6,233
Default

^^^^
What aspect ratio was it filmed in? Basic 35mm is close to 4:3. If that's what it was filmed in, then you'll still have pillars, unless they cut or stretch the frames.
JamesK is online now   Quick reply to this message
Old 2012-07-03, 10:37 AM   #30
bigoranget
Veteran
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Hamilton
Posts: 3,622
Default

If you do a search on the forum you will find discussions on Seinfeld in HD.

What they did was enhance the edges and crop some of the image from the top and bottom to make the 16x9 image. This is the same for other series that were on film; Cheers, Friends, etc.
bigoranget is online now   Quick reply to this message
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:57 PM.

Search Digital Home

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.