CTV BC News Going HDTV Soon! - Page 2 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 

Go Back   Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums > Canadian Digital Industry Forums > Television Industry / Channels and Providers

Digital Home Helpful Information

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

Old 2009-10-14, 10:57 PM   #16
CHrisCHu
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Vancouver BC
Posts: 718
Default CTV local news (Vancouver) going HD

Anyways, basically I notice CTV local news (Vancouver) PQ on CIVT-HD and Shaw has gone much better these days, although still only 4:3 with side bars.

This is Coleen Christie in fake HD back in March (click on the image to show original 1920x1080 screenshot):


This is her in real HD (4:3) today:


As I mentioned in the other thread, some local news footage has also gone real HD (again 4:3 though, see the details of the chains holding the "E" side of the sign and the traffic light bezel hinges):


Looking forward to CTV removing the side bars.
CHrisCHu is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 2009-10-15, 12:52 AM   #17
downbeat
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Calgary
Posts: 3,671
Default

I've noticed a lot of the Vancouver reports on the National News are being shown in widescreen HD.
downbeat is offline  
Old 2009-10-15, 01:19 AM   #18
CHrisCHu
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Vancouver BC
Posts: 718
Default

Yeah, that led me believe CTV local news (Vancouver) probably became HD at the same time CTV National news became HD last month. It also led me believe it's about time for CTV local news (Vancouver) to remove the side bars (perhaps they don't have background graphics available yet for the 4:3 scenes).
CHrisCHu is online now  
Old 2009-10-16, 01:53 AM   #19
jfplay
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 554
Default

It's coming, they're overhauling a lot of things in-house.
jfplay is offline  
Old 2009-10-30, 09:27 PM   #20
GoGoGadget
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 46
Default

The CTV local news (Vancouver) is in HD tonight. When did this start or is it only because it's a Olympic Special news report?
GoGoGadget is offline  
Old 2009-10-30, 10:59 PM   #21
CHrisCHu
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Vancouver BC
Posts: 718
Default

Hopefully, this is indeed the kickstart of a long overdue HD makeover, about 2-3 years behind the States.
CHrisCHu is online now  
Old 2009-10-31, 04:31 AM   #22
CHrisCHu
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Vancouver BC
Posts: 718
Default

Oh, spoke too soon. Vancouver Local News at 11 was back to 4:3.
CHrisCHu is online now  
Old 2009-11-02, 12:17 AM   #23
keithr386
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Brookswood area, Langley, BC - M4 no reflector, no preamp, Samsung 40 inch LCD (model: LN40A330)
Posts: 208
Default

Interestingly, CTV seems to have dissappeared from TVFOOL's data.
keithr386 is offline  
Old 2009-11-02, 12:21 AM   #24
stampeder
OTA Forum Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: North Delta, BC (96Av x 116St)
Posts: 23,972
Default

You can read and discuss the latest info about TVFool's Canadian listings here:

http://www.digitalhome.ca/forum/showthread.php?t=103476

There are some bugs to be worked out.
stampeder is offline  
Old 2009-11-02, 09:09 PM   #25
CHrisCHu
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Vancouver BC
Posts: 718
Default

TVFool refers to specifics in OTA transmission that does not apply to this thread. CTV Vancouver has been transmitting in 1080i for at least a year now. And from noticing the picture quality of their local news, I can tell the images from their News Studio are now (perhaps since September) 1080i all the way from their camera equipment to my TV. Whatever they need to overhaul in-house, it's not related to transmission.
CHrisCHu is online now  
Old 2009-11-12, 01:48 AM   #26
CHrisCHu
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Vancouver BC
Posts: 718
Default

What is with CTV local news newsroom (Vancouver) today (November 11)? Have you noticed they "green-screen"'ed a blurred newsroom background today (like they do the weather background behind Tamara)? You can tell by looking closer to any of the anchors' hair or the table that reflects some TV-white-noise-like image.
CHrisCHu is online now  
Old 2009-11-12, 08:23 PM   #27
atong
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 502
Default

I thought it was just me! They seem to have improved their effects today but they are still green/blue screening all the newsanchor shots...you can tell from the background and how its not quite right. Are they doing some newsroom renovations? They said they're going HD before the olympics, so several more months of testing?
atong is offline  
Old 2009-11-14, 01:57 AM   #28
Vostok
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 59
Talking CTV BC News going HD

Good news! The news on CTV BC is finally going HD! They will be unveiling their new HD studio on Monday, November 16, 2009.
Vostok is offline  
Old 2009-11-14, 02:03 AM   #29
Vostok
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 59
Default CTV BC News is going HD!

Okay, if any of you are confused, here is a simple answer: Yes, CTV BC News is going HD and if you haven't noticed, there was a green screen behind the anchors, just like the one behind when Tamara and Marke are doing the weather, from November 9 - November 15. They will be unveiling their new high definition studio on Monday, November 16, 2009. Watch out for it! I'm excited!
Vostok is offline  
Old 2009-11-14, 02:06 AM   #30
Vostok
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 59
Default

--Sorry random post-- How do I delete it?

Last edited by Vostok; 2009-11-14 at 02:20 AM. Reason: Delete
Vostok is offline  
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:06 AM.

Search Digital Home

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.