Termination of Buffalo Nets, Fox Detroit, Shaw PPV 7,8 - Page 3 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 

Go Back   Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums > Canadian Internet, Phone, TV and Wireless Service Providers > Shaw Direct (formerly Star Choice)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

Old 2009-04-04, 09:12 PM   #31
NB Josh
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: New Brunswick - Shaw Direct
Posts: 3,150
Default

Its been discussed here before that Shaw Broadcasting (and as a result Star Choice) will stop carrying all Buffalo stations, as well as Fox Detroit, at the end of April. I guess this is the confirmation of that.
NB Josh is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 2009-04-04, 09:42 PM   #32
QCK
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 1,149
Default

I have mailed Jim a few times now. The good news is they always respond, the bad news is that there is very little chance you can have an impact on anything they decide to do. There would have to be a huge reponse by the customers for them to reverse their decison.
QCK is online now  
Old 2009-04-04, 11:30 PM   #33
gmd
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Gloucester, ON
Posts: 791
Default

Star Choice has dropped TFO, paid by our taxes.

Good luck trying to keep WNED.

-gmd
__________________
SC: 8-Feb-02>21-Jul-09 (TFO) | EVu: 23-Jan to 03-Feb-07, back 20-Jun-09
Bell, French packages, pls! Long live OTA!
gmd is offline  
Old 2009-04-05, 12:47 AM   #34
PrinceLH
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Belleville. Ontario
Posts: 774
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NB Josh View Post
If Shaw Broadcasting isn't beaming the feed anymore, it can't be on Star Choice because they provide feeds to Star Choice, and many other providers.
Been to the Cancom uplink centre, in Mississauga, and they showed me all of the television channels that they uplink. Just because Shaw removes the channels, it doesn't neccessarily mean Starchoice would. They service many different regional cable companies. Too bad that they wouldn't remove both Buffalo and Detroit, and replace it with New York City or another eastern timezone set of locals. It would be something new for everyone concerned. Maybe the new 605 and 630 will have OTA tuners in them. We can always hope. With the Canadian locals getting their signal paid for, might get them put in a discretionary tier and allow their subs to receive their locals, without paying for them.
PrinceLH is offline  
Old 2009-04-05, 11:27 AM   #35
foxfan
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Montreal/Ottawa
Posts: 1,024
Default

If they've chosen to keep only Detroit for the East feeds why do they keep getting Fox from Rochester? Why not put Fox Detroit on 363? Sourcing affiliates from different cities create duplication of syndication programming, while some shows will fall through the cracks.

What about the HD channels? I think they've switched them around quite a bit. Which U.S. affiliates are now being carried?
foxfan is offline  
Old 2009-04-05, 11:32 AM   #36
frenchophile
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 298
Default

HD East:
Detroit: CBS, NBC, ABC, PBS
Rochester: FOX

HD West:
All from Seattle
frenchophile is offline  
Old 2009-04-05, 11:46 AM   #37
foxfan
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Montreal/Ottawa
Posts: 1,024
Default

So I wonder how Rogers Ottawa is still getting Fox Detroit. I thought they were using the Detroit feeds because that's all that was available from CanCom.

Has Starchoice said what its reasoning was for not sourcing the Fox affiliate from the same city as the other affiliates? Are they just playing safe to avoid disruption of service when WJBK moves from channel 58 to channel 7 on June 13th?
foxfan is offline  
Old 2009-04-05, 12:01 PM   #38
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Panasonic TCP65S1, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 8300-eHDD
Posts: 52,326
Default

Rogers uses Buffalo for the GTA and Detroit outside the GTA for HD. This makes simsubbing easy because they only need to sub the GTA at this point. Rogers was initially using Detroit for all HD, but changed that once Buffalo stations had HD and because of surveys that supposedly indicated Toronto people preferred to have the Buffalo stations (although no-one asked me. )
__________________
57's Optimization Services (Home Theatre Optimization) . . . . 57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
Old 2009-04-05, 12:12 PM   #39
tvlurker
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Craig Henry (Greenbank/Hunt Club), Nepean, ON
Posts: 2,996
Default

Quote:
So I wonder how Rogers Ottawa is still getting Fox Detroit. I thought they were using the Detroit feeds because that's all that was available from CanCom.
I'm guessing that Rogers uses their own fiber network and headend for Detroit locals.
When they first replaced Rochester with Detroit up here in Ottawa, the reception quality was definitely fringe OTA.
I don't know exactly where their headend is -- is it as far away as London, or somewhere closer to Detroit.
tvlurker is offline  
Old 2009-04-05, 12:18 PM   #40
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Panasonic TCP65S1, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 8300-eHDD
Posts: 52,326
Default

Rogers has several "head ends". There may be several in large cities and probably one per small city/town. This is not the same as satellite where there is one "uplink".

Rogers get Detroit via Fibre. They receive Buffalo signals OTA via an Antenna in Erie. I think we're getting a bit off-topic for this thread.
__________________
57's Optimization Services (Home Theatre Optimization) . . . . 57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
Old 2009-04-08, 05:51 PM   #41
classicsat
Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Kincardine ON.
Posts: 4,259
Default

NYC isn't relavent to southern Ontario, which I beleive is the largest concentration of English TV viewers in Eastern Canada.

And yes, if Shaw Broacast Services (nee Cancom) drops a channel, it will no longer be on Starchoice by extension.

TFO, AFAIK, is still there on SBS, just not available to SC viewers.

IMHO, there is a slim chance they will include ATSC tuners in the 605/635.
classicsat is offline  
Old 2009-04-08, 07:47 PM   #42
GilandSully
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 38
Default

I just got a reply from Ask Jim which says they will continue PBS Buffalo (WNED) because of the many letters from fans.
GilandSully is offline  
Old 2009-04-09, 09:48 AM   #43
frenchophile
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 298
Default

if this is true, can we start a campaign to keep WJBK (Fox Detroit)? Seriously, their 11 pm newscast is awesome
frenchophile is offline  
Old 2009-04-14, 11:24 AM   #44
frenchophile
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 298
Default They gone

as of this morning, Fox Detroit, & CBS, ABC, and NBC Buffalo are gone.
frenchophile is offline  
Old 2009-04-14, 11:30 AM   #45
rpokane
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Bay of Fundy
Posts: 320
Default

starchoice.com/simplify
rpokane is offline  
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:29 PM.

Search Digital Home

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.