Connect a passive subwoofer to receivers powered output - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 

Go Back   Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums > Consumer Electronics and Home Computing > Home Theatre Corner > A/V Receivers and Amplifiers

Digital Home Helpful Information

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

Old 2009-02-20, 10:34 PM   #1
btlsfan
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 28
Default Connect a passive subwoofer to receivers powered output

Hi,

My brother has been living with me for a month now and tonight he decided to hook up his HTIB speakers which contains a passive subwoofer to my old Sony receiver which only has a powered subwoofer output.

We found out that the Sony receiver only has a powered output so I thought if we take an RCA cable and connect it from the Sony receivers powered sub output and connect it to the HTIB receivers RCA input (red or white - tried both) we may be able to power the sub that way.

I thought we had it working because we did the auto calibration mic thing and my brother claims he heard the subwoofer rumble during the test yet when we tested it with my DVE disc and selected the LFE test there was no sound, same goes for dvds and tv.

Is it possible to hook up a passive sub to a powered sub output on the Sony receiver? OR do I have something wrong with the connections?

I saw an ad in the paper this week for powered sub for 249.99 which seems like a good deal so I may just buy him that if we cant connect a passive sub to the receiver.

CONNECTION: Sony Receiver Sub Out > HTIB RCA IN > Only Sub hooked up

Thanks to everyone for helping me in the past and hopefully with this question.
btlsfan is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 2009-02-20, 11:40 PM   #2
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Panasonic TCP65S1, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 8300-eHDD
Posts: 52,333
Default

The method you used should work, although most subs on HTiBs are not great. Suggest you go for a dedicated amplified Sub. Make sure that the Sony AVR Sub option in the setup is "on" not "off".
__________________
57's Optimization Services (Home Theatre Optimization) . . . . 57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
Old 2009-02-21, 06:18 PM   #3
btlsfan
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 28
Default

Thanks for your reply.

I fidlled with the settings and we now have it working.

Just a question about frequency settings for it - its set at 120 HZ now, what happens when I go up or down with HZ on the setting?

Thanks
btlsfan is offline  
Old 2009-02-21, 11:34 PM   #4
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Panasonic TCP65S1, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 8300-eHDD
Posts: 52,333
Default

That's the crossover where the frequencies go to the sub instead of to the other speakers (assuming that the setting in the AVR is set for sub only, instead of "both" and that the speakers are set to "small") It's usually best to set this about 20 Hz above the lower frequency spec for your other speakers.
__________________
57's Optimization Services (Home Theatre Optimization) . . . . 57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
Old 2009-02-23, 12:41 PM   #5
btlsfan
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 28
Default

Hi 57,

Thanks for your replies on this and other posts.

This may be a stupid question but how do I find the frequency spec for the other 5 speakers?

I looked on the back but all I found was 6 ohm and 95 watts (there small).

EDIT: Found some info in the manual about the speakers and passive sub:

Satellite speakers: 6 ohm independence, Frequency Response: 160 - 20,000 HZ

Passive Sub: 8 ohm independence, Frequency Repose: 65 - 1,500 HZ

So does this mean I should set the cross over frequency to 40 HZ?

Thanks
btlsfan is offline  
Old 2009-02-23, 12:45 PM   #6
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Panasonic TCP65S1, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 8300-eHDD
Posts: 52,333
Default

If the speakers came with an operating or setup manual, the specs could be there, or you could search the web for your make/model of speakers. Small speakers would have a frequency response of say 100-20 kHz, so you'd set the crossover to say 120...
__________________
57's Optimization Services (Home Theatre Optimization) . . . . 57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
Old 2009-02-23, 12:50 PM   #7
btlsfan
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 28
Default

Shoot, I am not sure if you saw I updates my post I added:

Satellite speakers: 6 ohm independence, Frequency Response: 160 - 20,000 HZ

Passive Sub: 8 ohm independence, Frequency Repose: 65 - 1,500 HZ

Which I got from the manual, so I suppose I should set the crossover to 180?
btlsfan is offline  
Old 2009-02-23, 01:00 PM   #8
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Panasonic TCP65S1, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 8300-eHDD
Posts: 52,333
Default

Try 180, those must be some pretty small speakers alright...
__________________
57's Optimization Services (Home Theatre Optimization) . . . . 57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
Old 2009-02-23, 01:09 PM   #9
btlsfan
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 28
Default

HAHA... they are he said he payed 199.99 for them a few years ago there about 4.5 inch's high and 3 wide.
btlsfan is offline  
Old 2009-02-24, 11:22 PM   #10
Wharfe
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: St. John's, NL
Posts: 569
Default

Are you getting any sound out of the sub??

If I am understanding this correctly, there's no way this can work.

A passive subwoofer NEEDS an amplifier to power it. The powered sub output on the receiver is very low power, because it's supposed to be connected to an amplifier which will take the signal and boost it. If you're just taking that very low power signal with no amplification and hooking it to an unpowered/passive sub, there's simply no power coming from anywhere to drive the sub.. it can't work.

Sorry if I read the post wrong, but if I understand what you're asking then my post is correct.
Wharfe is offline  
Old 2009-02-24, 11:45 PM   #11
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Panasonic TCP65S1, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 8300-eHDD
Posts: 52,333
Default

If you read post 3, you'll see that it is working. He's using the HTiB as the amp for the sub.
__________________
57's Optimization Services (Home Theatre Optimization) . . . . 57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
Old 2009-02-24, 11:51 PM   #12
Wharfe
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: St. John's, NL
Posts: 569
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 57 View Post
If you read post 3, you'll see that it is working. He's using the HTiB as the amp for the sub.
Thank you for clarifying! I was reading the line "CONNECTION: Sony Receiver Sub Out > HTIB RCA IN > Only Sub hooked up" and couldn't make sense of it, but now I understand completely. I didn't realize the HTiB amp was being used..

Sorry to interfere.. just ignore me :P
Wharfe is offline  
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:36 PM.

Search Digital Home

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.