Black and decker Power Monitor EM100B - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 

Go Back   Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums > Consumer Electronics and Home Computing > Home Automation and Security

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

Old 2009-02-16, 03:36 PM   #1
malam
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 231
Default Black and decker Power Monitor EM100B

Saw this unit (http://www.bestbuy.ca/catalog/prodde...01&catid=21251) at Best Buy for $99.99 last week. Any opinions on this unit ? Are they worth investing this kind of money on ?
Thanks .
__________________
Rogers 8300HD; Sony KDL-40V2500; Yamaha HTR-6190B; Panasonic DMPBD-35; Harmony 880
malam is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 2009-02-16, 04:42 PM   #2
jlet
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Carleton Place, Ontario, Rogers Cable
Posts: 1,741
Default

This looks very much like the "PowerCost" Monitor unit by "Blue Line Innovations" discussed in this thread: http://www.digitalhome.ca/forum/show...ght=Power+Cost
__________________
SA9865HD; Panasonic TH-50PZ850; Denon AVR-X4000; Tannoy: Arden, S8C, S8LR; SVS 16-46PC+; Oppo 971; Harmony 659/680
jlet is offline  
Old 2009-02-17, 07:02 PM   #3
markf
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Walkers/Dundas Burlington
Posts: 273
Default Be Careful

I have the Power Cost Meter from Blue Line Innovations and I think this product is very similar to that. The one thing I would warn you about before buying it is that when Ontario goes to Smart Meters these things may be useless from what I understand. Someone please correct me if I'm wrong. I like the Power Cost Meter that I have, except the fact that the transmitter outside uses an expensive lithium 3V AA size battery (costs about $13 for 6 months). It's not worth it at that cost (for the battery), but it is really cool to see how your consumption changes. I think the Black and Decker uses regular AA's in the transmitter. If it weren't for Smart Meters I would consider upgrading if this is really the case.
markf is offline  
Old 2009-02-17, 07:15 PM   #4
Marc
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Ontario
Posts: 977
Default

This is what Hydro One sent me regarding the Black and Decker unit and the new meters.

"If you already have a smart meter, we understand from Black & Decker, that if you have a Landis + Gyr smart meter (Landis + Gyr written on the meter faceplate), the PowerMonitor will not work. If you have a GE or Itron smart meter (GE or Itron written on the meter faceplate), it is our understanding that the Power Monitor should work. "

I have the Landis+Gyr
__________________
CBC English Radio, TV and web streaming.
Marc is offline  
Old 2009-02-19, 10:32 PM   #5
markf
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Walkers/Dundas Burlington
Posts: 273
Default

Thanks for the update. I'll have to check when I get my Smart Meter which one it is. If it is compatible, I'll think about buying the new power monitor - they are great for tracking energy use.
markf is offline  
Old 2009-02-22, 10:51 PM   #6
jok111
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 9
Default

The Black and Decker unit is a rebrand of the BlueLine Innovations product.

As for the smart meter, if you are served by Toronto Hydro, Hydro Ottawa, Enersource (Mississauga), you most likely have or will be getting an Elster smart meter. The Black & Decker unit works on these smart meters. I have one installed and operating.

I'm surprised the unit does not work with Hydro One's smart meters from Trilliant, but Hydro One is the only Canadian utility with any sizeable installation of Trilliant smart meters.
jok111 is offline  
Old 2009-02-23, 07:44 AM   #7
pdr1966
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 8
Default Power Monitor in Toront/Etobicoke working, mostly

I have one of these installed in Etobicoke.
It works with the meter, however mine drops its communications link after about a day or so.
I have lithiums in the sender, and I can link and it all works, then a day or so later, the receiver reverts to 'sleep' mode which also means it has lost its link to the sender.
Still trying to resolve this as I like the concept - and actually considered developing the same thing, but never did 4 years ago - and hence noticed the blueline in the industry about 2yrs ago, and now the B&D Consumer version....

Pete
pdr1966 is offline  
Old 2009-02-23, 09:41 PM   #8
project_x
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 24
Default

I have a smart meter from Hydro One, and my B&D Power Meter works great, I've had it running for about 3 months. That being said, I'm not sure the brand of my smart meter. I will check and get back to you.
project_x is offline  
Old 2009-02-25, 02:05 PM   #9
Mike L
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1
Default

Does this unit actually read and use the real time pricing from the Elster Smart Meter, or does it only measure usage?

I am a participant in a real time pricing program in Illinois and am very interested on obtaining information about the usage and pricing. This device appears to only ready the usage, and the users then has to enter the pricing information but it is not clear based on the information I have reviewed to date.
Mike L is offline  
Old 2009-03-02, 09:54 AM   #10
classicsat
Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Kincardine ON.
Posts: 4,242
Default

It only measures usage.The sender just relays the spinning disc or blinking LED activity (which is why it does not work on the Landis+Gyr meters; they have neither) to the receiver unit , which you program with the appropriate data.
classicsat is offline  
Old 2009-04-04, 07:16 PM   #11
malam
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 231
Default Need Help to programm Power Monitor

I got the Black and Decker Monitor EM100B installed this afternoon. I live in the Ajax/Pickering area and my rates does not seem to follow any of the example given in the manual for programming the usage cost. Mine has a number of variable plus a few fixed rates.

Electricity: - 5.6cents/kWh for first 1000 then 6.5 cents/kWh for remainder
Delivery Rate: Variable - 2.27cents/KWh + Fixed $11.25/month
Regulatory: Variable - .62cents/kWh +Fixed 25cents/month
Debt Retirement - 0.7c/kWh

Are these rates used or do I just get an average for the month ?
Thanks.
__________________
Rogers 8300HD; Sony KDL-40V2500; Yamaha HTR-6190B; Panasonic DMPBD-35; Harmony 880
malam is offline  
Old 2010-02-18, 05:46 PM   #12
fgerbes
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 1
Smile Mr.Fred

Anyone with a "Smart Meter installation has no worries. No one will touch the meter, it is a "drive by" reading. The Power Monitor works excellently well, giving each appliance or other users the correct consumption. This way you are sure, to ditch the commodity and buy a newer power efficient one.
fgerbes is offline  
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:39 AM.

Search Digital Home

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.