Baluns (Brands, Designs, Losses, DIY Loops, etc.) - Page 11 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 

Go Back   Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums > Canadian Internet, Phone, TV and Wireless Service Providers > Over-The-Air (OTA) Digital Television

Digital Home Helpful Information

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

Old 2009-02-23, 10:55 PM   #151
300ohm
Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Somewhere in Delaware on the flat side
Posts: 7,360
Default

Quote:
300ohm, I have a question. Would it be possible to use a PL-259 with an SO-239 to hook the RG-6 to?
Why would you want to when good F-compression fittings are available at a reasonable price ?

As for the homemade balun for channels 12 to 36, I personally would use a good commercial balun.
__________________
My builds/plans (not the latest models) are located here.
300ohm is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 2009-02-24, 05:19 AM   #152
Grand Audio
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South AL
Posts: 65
Default

In my opinion the PL-259 would be more heavy duty and a whole lot easier for me to work with. Would it change anything as far as electrical or capacitance?

It was just a thought and I hadn't seen it mentioned anywhere, so I thought I would ask.
Grand Audio is offline  
Old 2009-02-24, 08:59 AM   #153
mlord
Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 1,545
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 300ohm
As for the homemade balun for channels 12 to 36, I personally would use a good commercial balun
... because, channels 12-13 are on VHF-HI, and the rest are UHF. A home-built coax-loop balun probably won't work as well across those two very different frequency bands as a more complex store-bought one.
mlord is offline  
Old 2009-02-24, 09:27 AM   #154
300ohm
Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Somewhere in Delaware on the flat side
Posts: 7,360
Default

Quote:
In my opinion the PL-259 would be more heavy duty and a whole lot easier for me to work with. Would it change anything as far as electrical or capacitance?
IIRC, I used the PL-259 on my CB antennas. Looking in my old electrical connector catalog, I get specs like : Nominal Impedance: Non-Constant, Frequency Range : 0 - 300 mhz.
__________________
My builds/plans (not the latest models) are located here.
300ohm is offline  
Old 2009-02-24, 11:13 AM   #155
Grand Audio
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South AL
Posts: 65
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mlord View Post
... because, channels 12-13 are on VHF-HI, and the rest are UHF. A home-built coax-loop balun probably won't work as well across those two very different frequency bands as a more complex store-bought one.
Ok...you sold me on the store bought balun. This will also stop my trying to use the "CB" connectors.
(I work on CB radios and have an abundance of this type of connector...lol)

Thanks for the info and insight!
Grand Audio is offline  
Old 2009-02-26, 10:04 PM   #156
300ohm
Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Somewhere in Delaware on the flat side
Posts: 7,360
Default

Heres a picture of the Japanese balun I use. It works very well even though I havent weatherized it yet.

__________________
My builds/plans (not the latest models) are located here.
300ohm is offline  
Old 2009-02-28, 12:05 AM   #157
Grand Audio
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South AL
Posts: 65
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 300ohm View Post
Heres a picture of the Japanese balun I use. It works very well even though I havent weatherized it yet.
All I could find in my area today was a Phillups balun. I called 3 different hardware stores and only 1 carried a balun. Same one that Wal-Mart carried. It come in a package of 2, one standard and one for the TV. Cost was over $5...I know it wasn't worth it but got one any way. Also said for indoor use only...but I will fix that.

Last edited by Grand Audio; 2009-02-28 at 12:06 AM. Reason: Had to remove image
Grand Audio is offline  
Old 2009-02-28, 12:31 AM   #158
300ohm
Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Somewhere in Delaware on the flat side
Posts: 7,360
Default

Ive never used the regular Amazing Goop, I used the Plumbers Goop. So you may want to do a test piece and measure, if any, the resistance with an ohmmeter on the highest range when its dry.
__________________
My builds/plans (not the latest models) are located here.
300ohm is offline  
Old 2009-02-28, 01:32 AM   #159
Janitor Tzap
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 10
Default

I've been in consumer electronic repair for some years now.
I've always heard of these as Matching Transformers.

And these were known as just Matching Baluns.

I'm curious....
Would running 300 ohm twin pair, 7Ft or less.
From the Antenna to a Matching Balun that goes on the back of the TV RF Jack.
Reduce signal loss.

I know on longer runs you have to worry about keeping the wire away from
the mounting mast, Electrical wires, and other RF generating devices.

But this Antenna is indoor, and on a stand near by the television.
I'm currently using 6ft RG-U6 cable from the Matching Transformer to the TV.


Signed: Janitor Tzap
Janitor Tzap is offline  
Old 2009-02-28, 08:20 AM   #160
johnpost
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 224
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Janitor Tzap View Post
I've been in consumer electronic repair for some years now.
I've always heard of these as Matching Transformers.

And these were known as just Matching Baluns.

I'm curious....
Would running 300 ohm twin pair, 7Ft or less.
From the Antenna to a Matching Balun that goes on the back of the TV RF Jack.
Reduce signal loss.

I know on longer runs you have to worry about keeping the wire away from
the mounting mast, Electrical wires, and other RF generating devices.

But this Antenna is indoor, and on a stand near by the television.
I'm currently using 6ft RG-U6 cable from the Matching Transformer to the TV.


Signed: Janitor Tzap
a balun is a type of transformer, both items pictured are baluns.

any amount of misplacement, near any material, of 300 ohm will have signal loss. you are less likely to have that misplacement in 7 feet. also the 300 ohm could pick up interference depending on where it is placed.

you would have one less connection and so one less chance of a bad connection if you ran the 300 ohm all the way to the set. though you would need to use the push on balun pictured which is easy to have a bad connection with.

best to try it and see results.
johnpost is offline  
Old 2009-02-28, 01:53 PM   #161
300ohm
Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Somewhere in Delaware on the flat side
Posts: 7,360
Default

Quote:
any amount of misplacement, near any material, of 300 ohm will have signal loss. you are less likely to have that misplacement in 7 feet.
Yes, but there is also an advantage to that, because then you can use the old aluminum foil sliding trick to tune the 300 ohm wire.
__________________
My builds/plans (not the latest models) are located here.
300ohm is offline  
Old 2009-02-28, 03:13 PM   #162
Janitor Tzap
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 10
Default

Quote:
Yes, but there is also an advantage to that, because then you can use the old aluminum foil sliding trick to tune the 300 ohm wire.
Is that anything like the Toroid Ring trick for antenna matching?

I'll give the 300 ohm wire to the Matching Balun a try first.
Since I have several short pieces of 300 ohm wire laying around any way.


Signed: Janitor Tzap
Janitor Tzap is offline  
Old 2009-02-28, 06:03 PM   #163
Grand Audio
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South AL
Posts: 65
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 300ohm View Post
Ive never used the regular Amazing Goop, I used the Plumbers Goop. So you may want to do a test piece and measure, if any, the resistance with an ohmmeter on the highest range when its dry.
It says Plumbing on the tube. Says it hardens by solvent evaporation and forms an immediate bond. It is a contact adhesive and sealant. Yea, I better test on an old balun I have!

Thanks 300ohm.
Grand Audio is offline  
Old 2009-03-02, 08:59 PM   #164
intravino
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Beloeil
Posts: 604
Default

Thanks for the Picture 300ohm.

Where do you think I could find one or two?

Thanks,

Intravino
intravino is offline  
Old 2009-03-02, 09:18 PM   #165
300ohm
Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Somewhere in Delaware on the flat side
Posts: 7,360
Default

Flea markets.
__________________
My builds/plans (not the latest models) are located here.
300ohm is offline  
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:17 PM.

OTA Forum Sponsor


Search Digital Home

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.