Activation required for used Shaw digital box? - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 

Go Back   Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums > Canadian Internet, Phone, TV and Wireless Service Providers > Shaw Communications > Shaw Cable

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

Old 2009-01-17, 05:14 PM   #1
lurpersei8
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 1
Default Activation required for used Shaw digital box?

Hi,

I've searched for the answer to this, so apologies if this has been answered somewhere else. If I buy a Shaw digital box (HD or not) used, but "activated", do I need to do anything to get it working when I get back to my place except plug it in? i.e. does it need a service call into Shaw to re-activate it, or once it is active in the database, it will remain active anywhere on their cable network?

Thx.
lurpersei8 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 2009-01-17, 05:25 PM   #2
adiabatic
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Victoria, BC
Posts: 505
Default

You need the box's serial number linked to your account. It will likely work for a short time but eventually will stop. The used box I purchased even had the seller's channel map from a different city and worked for over a week until I phoned Shaw to have the box put on my account.
adiabatic is offline  
Old 2009-01-17, 05:34 PM   #3
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Panasonic TCP65S1, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 8300-eHDD
Posts: 52,161
Default

The following guidelines for Rogers Ontario may be handy as a checklist. For example, check with the service provider, make sure the seller is in "good standing", etc.

http://www.digitalhome.ca/forum/showthread.php?t=64632
__________________
57's Optimization Services (Home Theatre Optimization) . . . . 57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
Old 2009-01-27, 02:30 AM   #4
trainwalker
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Shaw employee. My thoughts are my own and not my employers.
Posts: 192
Default

It will remain active when you plug it in for a while, depends if it is still on the sellers account or not and how long ago they last had it plugged into cable.

The box downloads keys to decrypt channels that you subscribe to, these keys expire. Also, every morning the box "talks back" to Shaw, to say it's still hooked up and to get an update on it's subscription. If your box talks back, and Shaw sees it is unrecognized, it will automatically be disconnected. If your box doesn't talk back, it is still limited by the keys stored in it and the dates those keys are cycled at Shaw.
trainwalker is offline  
Old 2009-01-27, 09:15 AM   #5
Jason4653
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 139
Default

And remember it must have been a SHAW DCT and not 1 from a different company or they will not allow it on their system
Jason4653 is offline  
Old 2009-01-27, 01:41 PM   #6
trainwalker
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Shaw employee. My thoughts are my own and not my employers.
Posts: 192
Default

Very good point Jason. That rule came out about a year or so ago, so not many people are aware of it. You can still however, take your Shaw box to NWtel or Novus as far as I am aware. Just not bring it onto Shaw.
trainwalker is offline  
Old 2009-01-29, 03:18 PM   #7
Hot Potato
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Port Moody, BC My Toys: 42" LG LCD -6412 PIII, Sony BD-300, HTPC & WHS, 27" LG -6412 PI
Posts: 40
Default

This actually brought to mind a another question. A couple of years ago I activated a box I bought on Ebay.

If I were to sell it would the next person be able to activate it? It is already in the shaw system.

I'm not really planning on selling it but the new condo we're moving too we get a free year of Telus TV.
__________________
Life is what happens while you are making other plans.
Hot Potato is offline  
Old 2009-01-29, 03:23 PM   #8
hugh
Member #1
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Toronto
Posts: 47,716
Default

http://www.digitalhome.ca/forum/showthread.php?t=26417
__________________
As of January 2012, I am no longer the owner of the Digital Home website. My comments and opinions are my own and not those of the current site owners.
I have disabled private messaging so for personal inquiries contact me at the Hugh Thompson website or via twitter.
hugh is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:04 AM.

Forum Sponsor


Search Digital Home

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.