Shaw customer care internet usage link not working, properly - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 

Go Back   Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums > Canadian Internet, Phone, TV and Wireless Service Providers > Shaw Communications > Shaw High Speed Internet and Home Phone

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

Old 2013-03-29, 09:16 PM   #1
Tony1M
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Edmonton, Alberta
Posts: 65
Default Shaw customer care internet usage link not working, properly

I usually check our internet "usage" every day or two to make sure we don't go over our monthly download limit. Tonight I notice that the option to check "internet usage" is no longer there. Anybody else notice this? Is there anywhere else to check ones internet usage?

Thanks.
Tony1M is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 2013-03-29, 11:17 PM   #2
yoster
Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 19
Default

On the Shaw site they said it's being tweaked because of accuracy issues and will be available once again in a few days.
yoster is offline  
Old 2013-03-30, 10:38 AM   #3
Canadaboi
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Surrey, BC
Posts: 7
Default Shaw No Longer Provides Current Bandwidth Usage?

I generally check my usage a few times a month to make sure I don't go over my 125 GB cap. I noticed today that the option to check the usage is no longer available in my Shaw account profile.

I read their FAQ and it said something along the lines of "we will show you your usage if you have gone over your limit in the past..."

Is anyone else having this issue?

Last edited by Dr.Dave; 2013-03-30 at 01:03 PM. Reason: moved to existing thread
Canadaboi is offline  
Old 2013-03-30, 12:22 PM   #4
Mexicanuck
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cowichan Bay, BC
Posts: 1,388
Default

I just checked mine. The option to check usage is no longer there for me too.

They will be getting an email from me.
__________________
"Don't quote me on this." - Anonymous
Mexicanuck is offline  
Old 2013-03-30, 01:26 PM   #5
monitorman1960
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 18
Default

From Shaw's "Customer Care" section:

Can I monitor my internet use to ensure I don’t exceed my transfer limit?


You can monitor your ongoing modem use but only if you have exceeded your transfer limits in the past. You can log in to Customer Centre and select Display Modem Usage under the Internet section. You won't see any information in this section if you have not exceeded your transfer limits.

We will also send you an email to let you know when you have exceeded the monthly transfer limits on your Shaw Internet plan.


You can only have a gas gauge if your car has previously ran out of gas?
monitorman1960 is offline  
Old 2013-03-30, 01:35 PM   #6
GamerGuy
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Victoria, BC
Posts: 539
Default

Dumb isn't it?!

Should be viewable to all, at any time, period!!!
GamerGuy is offline  
Old 2013-03-30, 01:57 PM   #7
GumboKing
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Winnipeg
Posts: 160
Default

I had just noticed this today as well. I had signed up for a free Netflix month and wanted to see how much my internet usage went up. I was wondering where the link went, then tried the link I used last time (https://my.shaw.ca/CustomerCentre/InternetModemUsage) and it said "no data to display".

I sure hope they bring it back soon.
GumboKing is offline  
Old 2013-03-30, 03:24 PM   #8
AFF
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 767
Default

Seems like a silly setup. With ours we just type in the mac address of the modem and it tells you in 30 minute increments. No need to setup a login.
AFF is offline  
Old 2013-03-30, 04:29 PM   #9
monitorman1960
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 18
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AFF View Post
Seems like a silly setup. With ours we just type in the mac address of the modem and it tells you in 30 minute increments. No need to setup a login.
Could you please elaborate?

With "Ours"?
monitorman1960 is offline  
Old 2013-03-30, 05:20 PM   #10
AFF
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 767
Default

I'm not on Shaw I guess I should have said "Our isp"
http://www.nwtel.ca/online-services/...t-usage/cable/
AFF is offline  
Old 2013-03-30, 08:03 PM   #11
DSgamby
Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Thunder Bay, Ontario
Posts: 4,232
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mcwilson

Hi, I had the same issue. I contacted them and they just confirmed that they have removed it to make improvements to it. It should be back up within the next couple of days.
https://community.shaw.ca/message/24103#24103
DSgamby is online now  
Old 2013-03-30, 08:35 PM   #12
monitorman1960
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 18
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DSgamby View Post
Excellent!

Thank you.
monitorman1960 is offline  
Old 2013-03-31, 10:25 AM   #13
Tony1M
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Edmonton, Alberta
Posts: 65
Default

That link has returned (for me, anyway), so I think subscribers' usage can one again be checked.

Thanks, Shaw.
Tony1M is offline  
Old 2013-04-05, 01:06 AM   #14
adiabatic
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Victoria, BC
Posts: 505
Default

It's back but it's messed up. The most recent usage period for me is about 6 weeks and the end date has been incrementing daily. Right now I'm showing 18 GB under the monthly cap as a result.
adiabatic is offline  
Old 2013-04-05, 11:38 AM   #15
audacity
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 2,595
Default

I think this just demonstrates that software isn't one of Shaw's areas of expertise.

Fortunately, Shaw seems to be pretty good at keeping my internet service up-and-running. If Shaw's bandwidth counter is messed up, they are unlikely to be able to charge customers for extra bandwidth use while the customer doesn't have the ability to measure/monitor their usage.
audacity is offline  
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:42 AM.

Forum Sponsor


Search Digital Home

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.