Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums banner

FTA vs OTA unit ??

4K views 9 replies 8 participants last post by  skild1 
#1 ·
Hi,
newbie here, lots of things I still don't know so sorry if it's a dumb question.

I live in a condo and I'm not allowed to install any dish or antenna on the roof of the building or on my balcony.

But I'm on the last floor and have access to the attic, it's pretty big and I'm allowed to install a unit in there since it won't be visible from the outside of the building.

I know I can install an OTA HD antenna in my attic and it will receive the signal just fine. But I have way less channels then with an FTA dish.

So is it the same with a FTA dish, I mean will the signal from the satellite get through, or will it be blocked by the building?

Witch of the two will I give me a better quality of HD TV?

Let me know, thanks!!

Pat

#3 ·
Like Jaygeetee said FTA is not an option and you would not get more channels with FTA Ku band dish anyway. Dish signal will not penetrate anything, walls, trees, balcony railing. It needs clear view of the satellite. For pure HD quality, 1080i, OTA is the best and depending where you are you might get many channels. Use good antenna, quality RG6 cable, preamp and your all set to enjoy the best picture your tv is able to offer.

#6 ·
Like Jaygeetee said FTA is not an option and you would not get more channels with FTA Ku band dish anyway.