Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums banner

Telus High Speed Turbo - Acceptable?

9K views 7 replies 7 participants last post by  x katt x 
#1 ·
I have limited knowledge on internet download speeds and many out there seem quite knowledgeable about this.

Wondering if someone can shed some light on what might be acceptable download speeds with the Telus packages?

I live in Kelowna and have been on Telus High Speed Enhanced (V5) internet for many months... maybe even years. My concern is I have the Siemens Gigaset SE567 Modem/router and rarely get download speeds over 2Mbps (checking with Speedtest.net). Even my Telus iPhone gets faster speeds! And the Telus website advertises High Speed Download speeds of between 1.5 to 6.0 Mbps. Why am I nearly always getting speeds from 1.5 to 2.0 Mbps?

http://www.telus.com/content/internet/highspeed/compare.jsp

With many websites now streaming HD video and live TV it seems 2Mbps isn't quite enough to get the job done. So I've ordered Telus High Speed Turbo because their website (above) advertises speeds between 10.0 to 15.0 Mbps.

This upgrade should be connected monday but I am wondering, are others with the 'Turbo' package getting speeds under 10.0 Mbps? and if so, why? and can a Telus tech do something to increase it? What would be acceptable especially when they advertise a minimum of 10.0 Mbps?

Just throwing my thoughts out there because I am worried it will be less than 10.0 Mbps when I am paying more and hearing stories of 6.0 with Telus Turbo etc.

I appeciate any feedback :)

See less See more
#2 ·
There are a number of technical reasons why your line speed may be as low as it is. The main one is probably distance from the Central Office since a DSL signal degrades over long distances.