New firmware for Actiontec v1000/v2000 - Page 6 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 

Go Back   Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums > Canadian Internet, Phone, TV and Wireless Service Providers > Telus > Telus IPTV (also known as Optik TV)

Digital Home Helpful Information

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

Old 2014-04-15, 12:28 PM   #76
brownstar
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 1,549
Default

I logged in as Tech and found the update firmware option but it wants a locally installed file rather than requesting one from a server.
brownstar is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 2014-04-15, 09:45 PM   #77
macdzich
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 81
Default

unfortunately that option is not available
macdzich is offline  
Old 2014-04-24, 07:09 PM   #78
brownstar
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 1,549
Default

I got Telus to push out the update, with said update there is now an option to download an update and shows that there is a newer version but I haven't tried to download it.
brownstar is offline  
Old 2014-05-15, 04:14 PM   #79
Nexus6
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: St. Albert, AB
Posts: 40
Default

So, has anyone had this dumped to your V1000 via regular updates....I am still on .57
Nexus6 is offline  
Old 2014-05-15, 05:09 PM   #80
brownstar
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 1,549
Default

Just chat with Telus support and they will push it out too you
brownstar is offline  
Old 2014-05-15, 09:52 PM   #81
Nexus6
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: St. Albert, AB
Posts: 40
Default

No go....they said "We cannot access your modem from here" and said a factory reset would download it. Tried the factory reset by both holding down the reset button on the back for 10+ seconds, and also again from the menu system. Neither resulted in a new firmware being downloaded/installed.
Nexus6 is offline  
Old 2014-05-15, 10:13 PM   #82
brownstar
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 1,549
Default

Sounds like there is an issue with your setup, I would go back to Telus as they have to be able to contact your modem. When I chatted with them, via online chat rather than calling in as I find them to be better on the chat, they had to reset my account their end and then they could push the update to my modem.
brownstar is offline  
Old 2014-05-20, 10:38 AM   #83
Nexus6
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: St. Albert, AB
Posts: 40
Default

So, after both numerous chat sessions and phone sessions with tech support, end result: nothing but frustration.

I have had a Telus rep tell my (agree) there is a firmware update, but say they can't perform the update. I have had a rep deny outright there is any update - even after providing them the version numbers. I have also been told a factory reset would download it (which it doesn't).

So...guess we'll just wait and see if it ever happens by itself. I'm done basing my head against this brick wall.
Nexus6 is offline  
Old 2014-05-20, 11:12 AM   #84
brownstar
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 1,549
Default

Wow, I'm surprised as when I ask for the update it was pushed out by the rep on both occasions..........there are a couple of Telus tech's on here, hopefully one will be along shortly and be able to help.
brownstar is offline  
Old 2014-05-20, 12:57 PM   #85
scorpion
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Victoria B.C., Canada
Posts: 106
Default

Nexus6.....if it makes you feel any better, your not the only one that doesn't have the update. I've tried everything too to get it. Even spoke with a rep that told me it would come sooner or later. I'm guessing the "later" means much, much later
scorpion is offline  
Old 2014-05-20, 03:34 PM   #86
brownstar
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 1,549
Default

Maybe they pushed it out to me because I was having issues that are addressed by the upgrade. Try contact tech support at Telus, make sure you choose the option for internet help, and tell them that your router keeps screwing up and you can see the SSID but not connect to the network.
brownstar is offline  
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:09 AM.

Search Digital Home

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.