![]() |
|
|
|
|
|
|||||||
![]() |
|
|
Thread Tools | Search this Thread | Display Modes | |
|
|
||||
|
|
#1 | |
|
Member #1
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Toronto
Posts: 47,492
|
Please Don't Buy From Digi Wave Technologies (now called HomeVision Technology)
A company called Digi Wave technologies which I have learned has a lot of references around here has been found to be plagiarizing from the site of our OTA Forum moderators information site. In some cases entire pages were cut and paste onto their site without permission or attribution. Out of respect for Stampeder, we have banned the company's name from our site by using the censorship option because I do not wish anyone on this site to read about them and would allow them to profit from their stealing. I encourage members who respect the great things Stampeder has done for OTA in this country and this forum to contact these people and give them hell. Quote:
EDIT September 23rd, 2011 This company is now called HomeVision Technology Inc. 50 Telson Rd. Markham. It's products are still unwelcome
__________________
As of January 2012, I am no longer the owner of the Digital Home website. If you have questions about the operation of the site, please contact VSAdmin. For personal inquiries contact me at the Hugh Thompson website. Last edited by hugh; 2011-09-23 at 01:11 PM. Reason: Added HomeVision |
|
|
|
| Sponsored Links | |||
Advertisement | |||
|
|
#2 |
|
Member #1
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Toronto
Posts: 47,492
|
Contact email and phone number from Digi wave.ca
digi wave technologies inc. 190 Don park Rd. #1 markham ON l3r 2v8 Canada htsitu@hotmail.com 905-513-7488 905-480-3688
__________________
As of January 2012, I am no longer the owner of the Digital Home website. If you have questions about the operation of the site, please contact VSAdmin. For personal inquiries contact me at the Hugh Thompson website. |
|
|
|
|
#3 |
|
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 32
|
Is this the same company who sell all those clone antennas?
|
|
|
|
|
#4 |
|
Member #1
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Toronto
Posts: 47,492
|
Yes it is
__________________
As of January 2012, I am no longer the owner of the Digital Home website. If you have questions about the operation of the site, please contact VSAdmin. For personal inquiries contact me at the Hugh Thompson website. |
|
|
|
|
#5 |
|
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Burlington, ON
Posts: 356
|
So are you going to send them a notice of copyright infringement?
__________________
- CEDIA Certified CPI I |
|
|
|
|
#6 | |
|
Veteran
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Markham, ON
Posts: 2,524
|
I'm disgusted.
Content aside, even the formatting is the same. I recognized content from 2 other sites. I'm going to let Daniel T. know that his content is being ripped off too, unless someone else has beat me to it. Quote:
|
|
|
|
|
|
#7 |
|
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 904
|
I had a recent post to respond to another user's crappy experience in their preamp before the name got zapped.
Anyways, please don't buy them...
__________________
LG55LW5000/Denon3313/MirageOMD5+Nanosat+MM8/ClearStream2/CM7778+3414 SSGPN50A550/OptomaHD33/Onkyo717/KEF3005/Velo15" |
|
|
|
|
#8 | ||
|
OTA Forum Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: North Delta, BC (96Av x 116St)
Posts: 23,338
|
Quote:
Quote:
If/when Digital Home's material shows up on another site it will be dealt with by Hugh. |
||
|
|
|
|
#9 |
|
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Richmond, ON
Posts: 111
|
I don't want to diverge into legal areas that I know nothing about (and you shouldn't take this as legal advice), but the absence of a copyright notice has absolutely no impact on whether material is protected by copyright in Canada or the United States. Unless explicitly placed in the public domain, the default is that material is protected by copyright and that all rights are reserved by the copyright holder.
|
|
|
|
|
#10 |
|
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Toronto, ON CA (bloor/jarvis)
Posts: 212
|
tha'ts my understanding as well, copyright exists from the moment of creation of the work.
Proving when the work was created becomes the hard and expensive part, the easy way is to mail yourself a letter with the details in it, and *don't open it* when received. The postal mark is proof of date. (I think this is valid...) |
|
|
|
|
#11 |
|
Member #1
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Toronto
Posts: 47,492
|
Folks, rather than debating copyright, please read post #1. The point is that Digi Wave ripped stampeder off. If that bothers you then let the company know and pass the word around that Digi Wave is a dishonest disreputable company that steals from others.
__________________
As of January 2012, I am no longer the owner of the Digital Home website. If you have questions about the operation of the site, please contact VSAdmin. For personal inquiries contact me at the Hugh Thompson website. |
|
|
|
|
#12 |
|
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 370
|
Surprise surprise, a company that makes the bulk of its money selling boxes to steal satellite programming, steals content from the internet! It's hard to believe
|
|
|
|
|
#13 |
|
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Richmond, ON
Posts: 111
|
Sure, my intention isn't to debate copyright - I just wanted Stampeder to know that not having a copyright notice doesn't mean he can't go after these crooks for stealing his work. Nasty business.
|
|
|
|
|
#14 |
|
Rookie
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 2
|
Last edited by stampeder; 2010-03-29 at 12:05 AM. Reason: post approved and youtube link fixed |
|
|
|
|
#15 |
|
OTA Forum Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: North Delta, BC (96Av x 116St)
Posts: 23,338
|
Anyone contemplating making a GH build video for YouTube? Contact me please ASAP if you can/will.
If you do, make sure to clearly identify the GPLv3 nature of the plans both visually and in the sound track. Last edited by stampeder; 2009-01-28 at 03:09 PM. |
|
|
![]() |
| Thread Tools | Search this Thread |
| Display Modes | |
|
|