Warning: Illegitimte online DVD provider - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 

Go Back   Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums > Entertainment > What's On Blu-ray, DVD and in the theatres.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

Old 2012-05-25, 12:31 PM   #1
toptotti
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 1
Default Warning: Illegitimte online DVD provider

I just want to warn members of a dvd fraud I was subject to. I purchased complete DVD sets of the TV shows Twilight Zone (original) and Outer Limits (remake) from a website called Spicydvd.com. They advertised what looked like original packaging and the complete shows. I paid $165.00 which was about 50% or so off. What I received was a terribly compressed DVDR collection of illegal copies. Many of the disks were duplicates, empty, or defective. Be leery. NEVER order from spicydvd.com
toptotti is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 2012-05-25, 03:15 PM   #2
Canterbury Tail
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 343
Default

I'd have been wary over this, taken from their site.

Quote:
No crappy used merchandise, or refurbished garbage. If it’s available on our site, it’s is brand new, authentic and will play for you regardless of which country you call home. We guarantee it.

When it arrives at your door, it will be brand-new in the original box, just as though you purchased it from a large retailer. If this is not the case, and you are unhappy with the item for any reason, you have 30 days to return it for a full refund or exchange. No questions asked.

Now that’s what we call a safe, fun and guaranteed risk-free experience!
Studios don't generally put out DVDs that can be played anywhere in the world like that.

Last edited by 57; 2012-05-25 at 03:18 PM. Reason: Syntax
Canterbury Tail is offline  
Old 2012-05-25, 04:47 PM   #3
eljay
Premium Supporter
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Ottawa (Orleans), ON
Posts: 8,337
Default

OP: When a deal's too good to be true...it often is. Still, sorry to hear you got cheated. And thanks for providing the tip.

You gotta love disclaimers like this one:
Quote:
11. Disclaimer of Warranty; Limitation of Liability.

(a) ... NEITHER TVWhale NOR ANY OF ITS RESPECTIVE EMPLOYEES, AGENTS, THIRD PARTY CONTENT PROVIDERS OR LICENSORS ... MAKE ANY WARRANTY AS TO THE ... ACCURACY, RELIABILITY OR CONTENT OF ANY ... PRODUCTS PROVIDED THROUGH THE SITE.
It's almost Simpsons-like:
Quote:
Roger Myers Jr.: "I'm proud to offer your viewers these hand-drawn Itchy and Scratchy animation cells. Each one is absolutely, positively, one hundred percent guaranteed to increase in value!"

Voiceover: [quickly and quietly] "Not a guarantee."
__________________
MY HT SET-UP (PICS & GEAR LIST)
eljay is offline  
Old 2012-05-25, 05:12 PM   #4
hugh
Member #1
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Toronto
Posts: 47,492
Default

with all due respect, did you really expect original discs?

None of the product being sold on the site is available in stores and the price is far lower than even what you would find on Amazon and free shipping??

In addition, if you look at the site. Under the Contact Us page of the site, there is no address, no phone number. Under About Us, there is no address, no phone number.
__________________
As of January 2012, I am no longer the owner of the Digital Home website. If you have questions about the operation of the site, please contact VSAdmin. For personal inquiries contact me at the Hugh Thompson website.
hugh is offline  
Old 2012-05-25, 11:16 PM   #5
ssbtech
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 490
Default

Hopefully within a couple of days we'll see a "This domain has been seized by DHS" notice up.

Sorry to hear about your troubles. Sometimes when you're not familiar with online ordering it's easy to "be had".

Also appears that the registrant information for the domain name is false. A quick Google search of "Johnny Roberts" turns up many links to others asking about scams, etc...

Sounds like Johnny Roberts has been doing this for a while.
ssbtech is offline  
Old 2012-05-26, 02:29 AM   #6
ssbtech
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 490
Default

OP: Dispute the charge with your credit card company and hold onto the product as proof of what you received.
ssbtech is offline  
Old 2012-06-23, 02:49 PM   #7
RalphNaderFan
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1
Default I too was had.

I purchased a box set of the Any Griffith show and SpicyDVD appeared on Amazon so I thought they were legit. I notice now however no trace of them on Amazon or Amazon.ca. I posted this review on Amazon however they did not publish it for several reasons.
This is the review:

"1.0 out of 5 stars Bad packaging and fraud by a seller possibly now removed from Amazon., June 23, 2012
By MusicalPoet
This review is from: The Andy Griffith Show: The Complete Series (DVD)
Fraud alert! This is a warning to all who may have seen any advertisements on Amazon for an online retailer called "SpicyDVD.com". They are not a legitimate company and sell mostly pirated DVD box sets. I received this Andy Griffith collection and it looks nothing like the packaging displayed on the Amazon page. Many of the DVDs are unreadable (I have not gone through all of them yet) and when you contact them you get a line saying "we will replace the set" but hear nothing from them again.

Doing a search for "SpicyDVD scam" on Google reveals others with the same problem. I have reported them to my credit card company and will be also reporting them to the Canadian Anti-Fraud Centre.

Please beware! I don't know if they are currently advertising on Amazon but Amazon should be removing them from their merchant list.

Other than that, I love the Andy Griffith show and Don Knotts who will be remembered in my heart for ever. "

Thought I'd publish it here for the benefit of others to save them time, trouble, and money.
RalphNaderFan is offline  
Old 2012-11-20, 11:45 AM   #8
romrai
Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 1
Angry same experience

WARNING!!! this is not an legit company. when i decided to deal with this company there was no negative/positive reports. i ordered the dark shadows series 100 dvd set. 29 were faulty, emailed company and they said they would send replacements. that was in may. here it is november, many emails sent, some with replies, some nothing. filed complaint with the BBB. they tried to contact company and they haven't received response either. many sites now issue warnings. DO NOT USE! similar site with same pic's and offer on DVDMoose now offering same.
romrai is offline  
Old 2012-11-20, 07:34 PM   #9
Pinza
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: GTA
Posts: 8,572
Default

This must be a record for DHC...... Only 8 posts in this thread and 3 are from posters with only 1 post each....lol

As said at the very beginning, if it sounds too good to be true, it almost certainly is.
__________________
Bell TV - To run a Check Switch go to MENU, 6, 1, 1 or for System Info, MENU 6, 1, 3.
Pinza is offline  
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:05 AM.

Search Digital Home

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2013, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.