Problems with House last night? (Watched Live) - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 

Go Back   Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums > Entertainment > What's On Television?

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

Old 2007-04-11, 02:26 PM   #1
castaban
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Whitby, ON -- Rogers, SA 8300HD, Sony KDL-52W5100 LCD, Panasonic BD35, Panasonic SA-XR55
Posts: 313
Default Problems with House last night? (Watched Live)

I was watching House last night from FOX Buffalo. Several times (at least 2) the picture froze, audio disappeared and picture went blank and then everything was OK again. The whole episode took about half a second or a second. Anybody have similar experience. I am in Whitby (Rogers).
castaban is offline   Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 2007-04-11, 02:28 PM   #2
sam91
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Brampton, Ontario
Posts: 13
Default

I was watching house on Global last night and I never experienced anything.
I'm in Brampton Ontario and have Rogers Digital.
sam91 is offline   Quick reply to this message
Old 2007-04-11, 03:09 PM   #3
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Panasonic TCP65S1, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 8300-eHDD
Posts: 52,704
Default

As has been reported on this forum many times, there are issues with Fox Buffalo on Rogers:

http://www.digitalhome.ca/forum/showthread.php?t=47394 Post 9 onwards, especially the last couple of pages.

Edit:

This issue was apparently live (sorry, assumed it was a recording since you have an 8300HD). I've reopened the thread. Check your signal strength and S/N Ratio on that channel - still, with it being Fox Buffalo, perhaps you can consider watching it on Global if the live channel is affected.

http://www.digitalhome.ca/forum/showthread.php?t=17719
__________________
57's Optimization Services (Home Theatre Optimization) . . . . 57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline   Quick reply to this message
Old 2007-04-11, 03:12 PM   #4
castaban
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Whitby, ON -- Rogers, SA 8300HD, Sony KDL-52W5100 LCD, Panasonic BD35, Panasonic SA-XR55
Posts: 313
Default

Just to clarify, this was live, not a recording...
castaban is offline   Quick reply to this message
Old 2007-04-11, 04:14 PM   #5
rpr
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Brampton, ON
Posts: 484
Default

I didn't watch it live, but it was recorded via OTA HD and I never saw any problems like you describe.
rpr is offline   Quick reply to this message
Old 2007-04-12, 01:25 AM   #6
Camvan
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 328
Default

My 6412 recorded House and it was 164 minutes long and was unwatchable. Something hiccuped, have never seen that before.
__________________
42" Panasonic Plasma / 20" LG LCD HDTV / Motorola DCT 6412p2 / Motorola 6200 / Shaw HD Digital Cable, Phone, Internet
Camvan is offline   Quick reply to this message
Old 2007-04-12, 08:23 AM   #7
mackbig
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Markham, ON, Rogers Cable, 2*8300HD
Posts: 114
Default

Just to clarify.... if say, my wife ended up on 531 last night watching Idol "live", do I need to cleanse myself with a reboot, or is it actually only if you record something..... dont want an coodies affecting my thursday night lineup...

Thanks,
Andrew
__________________
2*8300HDPVR, Nexstar 3 with WD5000AAKS (500GB external). Rogers, Markham.
mackbig is offline   Quick reply to this message
Old 2007-04-12, 10:56 AM   #8
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Panasonic TCP65S1, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 8300-eHDD
Posts: 52,704
Default

I believe it only affects your STB if you do a recording. Also, lately it only seems to affect the Fox Buffalo recording and seems to leave other recordings alone, whereas before, it would corrupt other recordings and the STB firmware with cooties.
__________________
57's Optimization Services (Home Theatre Optimization) . . . . 57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline   Quick reply to this message
Old 2007-04-12, 11:26 PM   #9
HiDefBob
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 1,274
Default

Watched on FOX Detroit (Star Choice) ... it was perfect.
__________________
WOW TV is here! NTSC RIP!
Shaw Direct/Bell TV/Telus Optik
HiDefBob is offline   Quick reply to this message
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:29 AM.

Search Digital Home

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.