DVI vs. HDMI? - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 

Go Back   Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums > Digital Forum Help and Administration > Archives > 2006

 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

Old 2006-12-27, 02:50 AM   #1
nutsnbolts
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 26
Default DVI vs. HDMI?

Hey there, I can afford a MOTO 6200 non pvr unit, but I hesitate as it has only the DVI output. Am I gonna run into some problems down the road with some HD audio formats that would normally be piped down the HDMI? Or will I be covered by utilizing the optical out? Any input would be great!

Cheers!

Last edited by nutsnbolts; 2006-12-27 at 03:00 AM.
nutsnbolts is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 2006-12-27, 04:03 AM   #2
elapsed
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 714
Default

You'll have no problems down the road, the new HD audio formats (Dolby TrueHD, DTS-HD, etc) won't be used in television broadcasts for many, many years to come. The bandwidth isn't anywhere near available yet.
elapsed is offline  
Old 2006-12-27, 11:55 AM   #3
Sonisame
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Surrey
Posts: 92
Default

ya, but its such a pain, to get audio to your tv when you are using dvi connection on 6200, As many people hate to put a receiver/speakers for audio in their living rooms(I am not talking about dedicated theater rooms) and just want to use tv speakers to view normal tv programming.

I think shaw(Motorola) should try to upgrade their 6200 model with a hdmi output


Sonisame
Sonisame is offline  
Old 2006-12-27, 02:49 PM   #4
elapsed
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 714
Default

I don't see how it would be such a pain, the cable box should come with cheap RCA cables to achieve stereo through your TV. It's not like you'll need to invest $30 in an audio cable when you're playing through two 10-watt speakers in a Television.
elapsed is offline  
Old 2006-12-27, 08:04 PM   #5
Sonisame
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Surrey
Posts: 92
Default

Yes, you are correct about RCA cables, but for many brands of digital tv's secondary audio input will not work when HDMI input is being used. And don't forget about audio--video out of sync when digital video and analog audio feed is used..
Sonisame is offline  
Old 2006-12-30, 12:50 AM   #6
Pogi
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 21
Default Dvi to HDMI

That is what I am trying to resolve now. What you said about the HDTV's audio being "disabled" when you use a DVI to HDMI cable is probably right. I have discussed this w/ shaw tech and they absolutely do have the right answer to give me. I want the sound from the tv and not from a stereo. It's not the tv;s prblem. I guess that's just how it works w/ hdmi. Now, because of this, should Shaw ezchange our recievers to one w/ hdmi output? My tyv has only one set of component input and my sons are using it for their xbox.
Pogi is offline  
Old 2006-12-31, 11:40 AM   #7
snackguy
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: South Surrey, BC
Posts: 10
Post

Most TVs have a stereo audio input to go along with each video input. HDMI is the exception as it carries both audio and video. So if you want sound from the TV it will need stereo input or HDMI.

For example on some TVs they support the following inputs:
- Input 1 = composite video, stereo audio
- Input 2 = s-video, stereo audio
- Input 3 = VGA, stereo audio
- Input 4 = component video, stereo audio
- Input 5 = DVI video, stereo audio
- Input 6 = HDMI

Note: some HDMI devices don't output the audio or are not carrying the stereo audio signal. They may be just a converted DVI internally and/or exclusively using digital audio (optical or coaxial). Like my Samsung DVR-135.
snackguy is offline  
Old 2006-12-31, 12:41 PM   #8
blackdog61
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: GTA
Posts: 15
Default

I have a Bev 6100 and a plasma TV, which is hooked up via DVI/HDMI cable. For sound through the TV, I use regular RCA cables. For sound through my receiver I use an optical cable. No worries about any other cables.

This gives me the best of both worlds.
blackdog61 is offline  
 

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:06 AM.

Search Digital Home

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.