New 8 tuner PVR... NextBox 3.0 Discussions (Cisco 9865) - Read Post 1 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 

Go Back   Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums > Canadian Internet, Phone, TV and Wireless Service Providers > Rogers Communications > Rogers Cable TV: HD PVR Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

Old 2013-07-17, 10:08 AM   #1
radar2000
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Mississauga, ON
Posts: 43
Default New 8 tuner PVR... NextBox 3.0 Discussions (Cisco 9865) - Read Post 1

Edit by 57: Here's a link on "how to use the guide" (click on the tabs at the top of the page for additional info, tips, FAQs, etc)

http://rogers-tv-enhancements.com/tips.html


I've started a thread specifically for the switching to PCM issue. Please use that thread for any switching to PCM discussions. Thanks. This issue appears to have been resolved with the latest firmware.

http://www.digitalhome.ca/forum/showthread.php?t=197129


Other useful Links in the following Post:

http://www.digitalhome.ca/forum/show...46#post1730346


A summary of items discussed in this thread is in the link below:

http://www.digitalhome.ca/forum/showthread.php?t=202473


Purchasing or Renting a 9865 Discussions:

http://www.digitalhome.ca/forum/showthread.php?t=194770


Upgrading the iHDD:

http://www.digitalhome.ca/forum/showthread.php?t=211002



Looks like there will be a new 8 tuner rogers PVR available in the next couple of months.

I was at a BBQ over the weekend and someone who works for Rogers let this info slip.

Hopefully this next version will have an updated GUI with some additional features... NextBox 3.0???
radar2000 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 2013-07-17, 10:59 AM   #2
leeanne172
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Downtown Toronto
Posts: 146
Default

Wow, sounds good but can only imagine what Rogers would charge for that o_O
leeanne172 is online now  
Old 2013-07-17, 11:47 AM   #3
Ryked
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Mississauga, Ontario
Posts: 13
Default

Funny, I recieved an email from Rogers this morning asking if we wanted to be part of the testing of NextBox 3.0. Took me to a Rogers site to simply accept Rogers offer, asked for no information.

Here's the site testingportal.rogers.com (left out the direct link part)

http://i.imgur.com/BI57Mg8.jpg

.

Last edited by 57; 2013-07-17 at 12:11 PM. Reason: Image too large, changed to link.
Ryked is offline  
Old 2013-07-17, 01:30 PM   #4
thenewdc
Veteran
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 2,775
Default

Sounds quite interesting if true. I just wonder how buggy it's going to be.
thenewdc is offline  
Old 2013-07-17, 01:47 PM   #5
radar2000
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Mississauga, ON
Posts: 43
Default

LOL. I just checked my email and I also received the same email from Rogers. I'm not sure if I will have the time to be a tester. Looks promising. I hope the GUI is better and that they address some of the persistent issues with NextBox 2.0
radar2000 is offline  
Old 2013-07-17, 01:56 PM   #6
radar2000
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Mississauga, ON
Posts: 43
Default

One thing that made me laugh about the tester email is the inconsistency of the use of the term NextBox and NetBox.

Good grief... If they can't pay attention to the simple details of an email communication campaign, how are they ever going to QA their software?
radar2000 is offline  
Old 2013-07-17, 01:58 PM   #7
Ryked
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Mississauga, Ontario
Posts: 13
Default

I am hoping one of the new features is being able to Pause/rewind live tv from set top boxes other than the PVR. Right now I have two PVR's and 1 set top box and could use a second set top box as well.

So I am excited to try it out, hope this email is legit. Never heard of this "Testing Portal" before though?
Ryked is offline  
Old 2013-07-17, 02:59 PM   #8
yyzlhr
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 1,294
Default

They're likely deploying the same Cisco gateway that cox is deploying in the US. The gateway is supposed to be able to convert the QAM signal into IP in real time and shuttle them to IP only devices. If they flip the 4642s into IP only mode, they should be able to pause and rewind live TV. But at the same time, each home would be limited to 8 live streams.

Also the fact that they list recording up to 8 shows and storing up to 240 hours of programming as the only Nextbox 3.0 exclusives leads me to believe that it will run the exact same interface as the current NextBox 2.0.

EDIT: It looks like Ciscos new 9800 series only supports 6 tuners, so perhaps Rogers is gearing up to dump them for another vendor or they've got Cisco to make a custom model for them.
yyzlhr is online now  
Old 2013-07-17, 03:39 PM   #9
thenewdc
Veteran
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 2,775
Default

I wonder if this new unit could feed content to a ROKU or Apple tv with a small app. If their are indeed 8 tuners then you could use 1 unit to feed the whole home virtually.
thenewdc is offline  
Old 2013-07-17, 04:35 PM   #10
radar2000
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Mississauga, ON
Posts: 43
Default

"Also the fact that they list recording up to 8 shows and storing up to 240 hours of programming as the only Nextbox 3.0 exclusives leads me to believe that it will run the exact same interface as the current NextBox 2.0."

I do know for a fact that it will be a Cisco receiver.
radar2000 is offline  
Old 2013-07-17, 04:37 PM   #11
Hooter
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Toronto
Posts: 240
Default

I wonder if in fact it will be a PVR with 8 tuners or whether it will in fact have 4 tuners, not 8. The wording of the email suggests that you can record "up to" 8 shows at the same time. My guess is that you might require 2 PVR boxes, with each box allowing you to record up to 4 shows each!
Hooter is offline  
Old 2013-07-17, 04:49 PM   #12
yyzlhr
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 1,294
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by thenewdc View Post
I wonder if this new unit could feed content to a ROKU or Apple tv with a small app. If their are indeed 8 tuners then you could use 1 unit to feed the whole home virtually.
Should be possible. All the new gateway devices has QAM to IP transcoders that are designed to bring programming to any IP enabled device. Whether that will actually be possible with Rogers is another story, but I'm pretty certain whatever hardware they roll out will be capable of doing it.

@Hooter, if they are in fact using Cisco, they don't have any four tuner DVRs on the market right now.
yyzlhr is online now  
Old 2013-07-17, 05:05 PM   #13
Hooter
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Toronto
Posts: 240
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by yyzlhr View Post
@Hooter, if they are in fact using Cisco, they don't have any four tuner DVRs on the market right now.
Do they have an eight tuner DVR? Just curious!
Hooter is offline  
Old 2013-07-17, 05:18 PM   #14
yyzlhr
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 1,294
Default

At least not one we're aware of. Their latest DVR gateway that we can readily find information on has 6 tuners.
yyzlhr is online now  
Old 2013-07-17, 06:39 PM   #15
BoardGhost
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 95
Default

Actually, the 9800 spec sheet says it can play or stream 8.....its limited to recording 6

This could be the box.....
BoardGhost is offline  
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:11 AM.

Search Digital Home

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.