Any hope for a UK Wii? Black & White Picture - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 

Go Back   Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums > Entertainment > Video Game Consoles and PC Gaming

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

Old 2012-05-07, 01:35 PM   #1
Needsomehelp
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 1
Question Any hope for a UK Wii? Black & White Picture

Hi there, hoping I can get some advice on making my UK wii work in Canada - and whether it is possible. I know the issues are going to be to do with Pal and NTSC formats but before I go out and buy a new Wii (and replace my games) I wanted to see if its at all possible for the UK one to work here.

Connected the Wii to the TV and after a bit of fiddling with settings, have been able to get a picture that fits the screen but is in black and white. I'm using the cable (white, red and yellow) that came with the Wii to connect it to the tv.

Is there anyway to get a perfect, normal colour picture?

Does it also depend on the tv you're using? We're currently using an Advent PS 42D8B (fairly old I guess) which is borrowed so at some point we will be looking to get a new one.

Any advice on if it's possible to get a proper picture using the UK wii on this tv would be grateful. Or should I bite the bullet and buy a wii and games from here?
Thanks in advance!
Needsomehelp is offline   Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 2012-05-08, 12:00 PM   #2
Paolo
Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Regional Municipality of Durham
Posts: 3,136
Default

maybe instead of using the composite outputs, try using the component output instead? maybe ur tv can accept the pal frequency over component? u won;t know untll u try, maybe u need a pal to ntsc converter too
Paolo is offline   Quick reply to this message
Old 2012-05-12, 07:14 PM   #3
igot6strings
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 15
Default

You could try wiihacks.com
You'll have to softmod your wii but thats pretty simple if you can following instructions well. Check the tutorials section there.
Once you softmod you'll have to use a different loader for your games and just select Force NTSC in the loader and it will work. Theres more info on the wiihacks site that could help you. I'm a bit of a noob with this stuff too but this is what you're looking for.
igot6strings is offline   Quick reply to this message
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:51 PM.

Search Digital Home

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.