Any hope for a UK Wii? Black & White Picture - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 

Go Back   Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums > Entertainment > Video Game Consoles and PC Gaming

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

Old 2012-05-07, 12:35 PM   #1
Needsomehelp
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 1
Question Any hope for a UK Wii? Black & White Picture

Hi there, hoping I can get some advice on making my UK wii work in Canada - and whether it is possible. I know the issues are going to be to do with Pal and NTSC formats but before I go out and buy a new Wii (and replace my games) I wanted to see if its at all possible for the UK one to work here.

Connected the Wii to the TV and after a bit of fiddling with settings, have been able to get a picture that fits the screen but is in black and white. I'm using the cable (white, red and yellow) that came with the Wii to connect it to the tv.

Is there anyway to get a perfect, normal colour picture?

Does it also depend on the tv you're using? We're currently using an Advent PS 42D8B (fairly old I guess) which is borrowed so at some point we will be looking to get a new one.

Any advice on if it's possible to get a proper picture using the UK wii on this tv would be grateful. Or should I bite the bullet and buy a wii and games from here?
Thanks in advance!
Needsomehelp is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 2012-05-08, 11:00 AM   #2
Paolo
Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Regional Municipality of Durham
Posts: 3,129
Default

maybe instead of using the composite outputs, try using the component output instead? maybe ur tv can accept the pal frequency over component? u won;t know untll u try, maybe u need a pal to ntsc converter too
Paolo is offline  
Old 2012-05-12, 06:14 PM   #3
igot6strings
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 15
Default

You could try wiihacks.com
You'll have to softmod your wii but thats pretty simple if you can following instructions well. Check the tutorials section there.
Once you softmod you'll have to use a different loader for your games and just select Force NTSC in the loader and it will work. Theres more info on the wiihacks site that could help you. I'm a bit of a noob with this stuff too but this is what you're looking for.
igot6strings is offline  
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:12 PM.

Search Digital Home

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.