DHCP messages every 30 seconds in logs from Nintendo 3DS - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 

Go Back   Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums > Consumer Electronics and Home Computing > Home Computing

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

Old 2012-05-07, 10:59 PM   #1
Jake
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Gatineau and Ottawa
Posts: 10,849
Default DHCP messages every 30 seconds in logs from Nintendo 3DS

Below is a sample of what my Tomato logs look like. This happens every 30". None of the other devices do this just the 3DS which I set up to use DHCP. Even when the 3DS is closed it still fills the logs. Any ideas? At least now I know why my son is complaining about battery life. The wifi never shuts off.

May 7 22:45:16 ? daemon.info dnsmasq[91]: DHCPDISCOVER(br0) 192.168.1.17 2c:10:c1:88:A6:ff
May 7 22:45:16 ? daemon.info dnsmasq[91]: DHCPOFFER(br0) 192.168.1.17 2c:10:c1:88:A6:ff
May 7 22:45:16 ? daemon.info dnsmasq[91]: DHCPREQUEST(br0) 192.168.1.17 2c:10:c1:88:A6:ff
May 7 22:45:16 ? daemon.info dnsmasq[91]: DHCPACK(br0) 192.168.1.17 2c:10:c1:88:A6:ff Nintendo 3DS
__________________
Tip: See an offending post? Don't reply, report it by clicking on the 'Report Post' icon.
Jake is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 2012-05-08, 10:00 AM   #2
Tikker
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: SaskTel
Posts: 997
Default

some DS games have a tag mode where when the unit is closed/sleeping they'll look to exchange game data with other DS's in the same mode
Tikker is offline  
Old 2012-05-08, 10:32 AM   #3
JamesK
Veteran
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 6,175
Default

^^^^
That shouldn't require frequent DHCP requests. Normally, a DHCP request is made when a device is first turned on and then part way through the lease time. If the lease is 7 days, then a renewal will likely occur around 3 or 4 days.
JamesK is offline  
Old 2012-05-08, 05:27 PM   #4
Jake
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Gatineau and Ottawa
Posts: 10,849
Default

There are 2 DSs that are used to play head-to-head games. The other is a DS XL. I will have another chance tonight to try a few things and report back.
__________________
Tip: See an offending post? Don't reply, report it by clicking on the 'Report Post' icon.
Jake is offline  
Old 2012-05-08, 08:25 PM   #5
Jake
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Gatineau and Ottawa
Posts: 10,849
Default

The only way I could get it to stop is by removing the wifi settings. I will figure it out another day.
__________________
Tip: See an offending post? Don't reply, report it by clicking on the 'Report Post' icon.
Jake is offline  
Old 2012-05-08, 11:50 PM   #6
Tikker
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: SaskTel
Posts: 997
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JamesK View Post
^^^^
That shouldn't require frequent DHCP requests. Normally, a DHCP request is made when a device is first turned on and then part way through the lease time. If the lease is 7 days, then a renewal will likely occur around 3 or 4 days.
you're assuming it has an address

if it's not getting an address, or not accepting it for some reason, it will continue to DHCPrequest forever
Tikker is offline  
Old 2012-05-09, 07:36 AM   #7
JamesK
Veteran
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 6,175
Default

^^^^
Quote:
May 7 22:45:16 ? daemon.info dnsmasq[91]: DHCPACK(br0) 192.168.1.17 2c:10:c1:88:A6:ff Nintendo 3DS
That line says it is getting an address. If the address is rejected, then there should be a DHCPDECLINE. If it doesn't get an address, it also won't be able to communicate with anything. Either way, it indicates a problem with the 3DS.
JamesK is offline  
Old 2012-05-09, 08:44 AM   #8
Jake
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Gatineau and Ottawa
Posts: 10,849
Default

Quote:
Either way, it indicates a problem with the 3DS
I am inclined to agree with you. And last night I tried a connection test and it failed. Not sure why since it was working before and showed the wifi connected icon on the screen.
__________________
Tip: See an offending post? Don't reply, report it by clicking on the 'Report Post' icon.
Jake is offline  
Old 2012-05-09, 11:16 AM   #9
JamesK
Veteran
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 6,175
Default

^^^^
I have no experience with the 3DS, but I have seen computers where WiFi connected, but didn't get an IP address. Is it possible to see if it has an IP address? According to the first message, the DHCP process worked up to the point where an address is sent to the 3DS. Since there doesn't appear to be a DHCPDECLINE, I can only assume it accepted an address. If it got that far, yet still doesn't have an address, then there's likely some problem with the 3DS.
JamesK is offline  
Old 2012-05-09, 12:38 PM   #10
avengingangel
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 179
Default

Do you have MAC address authentication turned on your router (in addition to WIFI security) ?

I have seen this happen on my network whereby I setup a wireless device with the proper WIFI information but either forget to add the MAC address to my authentication list (2ndary protection) OR I entered the MAC address of the device incorrectly.
avengingangel is offline  
Old 2012-05-09, 01:07 PM   #11
Jake
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Gatineau and Ottawa
Posts: 10,849
Default

No I don't use MAC filtering. I do use DHCP but have static IPs based on MACs. That is something I will look into.
__________________
Tip: See an offending post? Don't reply, report it by clicking on the 'Report Post' icon.
Jake is offline  
Old 2012-05-09, 06:50 PM   #12
Jake
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Gatineau and Ottawa
Posts: 10,849
Default

Now that my 3DS is disabled my WDTV Live is exhibiting similar behavior. Except it is every 6 seconds now!

May 9 18:35:32 ? daemon.info dnsmasq[91]: DHCPREQUEST(br0) 192.168.1.6 00:90:a9:76:36:00
May 9 18:35:32 ? daemon.info dnsmasq[91]: DHCPACK(br0) 192.168.1.6 00:90:a9:76:36:00 WDTVLIVE

I have re-booted the router with no change.

Rebooting the WDTV Live stopped the requests.
__________________
Tip: See an offending post? Don't reply, report it by clicking on the 'Report Post' icon.
Jake is offline  
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:18 AM.

Search Digital Home

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.