Rogers HD Box with best HDCP Signal - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 

Go Back   Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums > Canadian Internet, Phone, TV and Wireless Service Providers > Rogers Communications > Rogers Cable TV

Digital Home Helpful Information

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

Old 2012-05-02, 11:19 PM   #1
Thussy
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 5
Default Rogers HD Box with best HDCP Signal

I just moved into a new home and had the house wired with Cat6 throughout, including to the televisions.

I'm using Atlona HDbaseT baluns to the televisions with a Gefen matrix, and have Roomie Remote setup with IP2IR repeaters ready to go to control all my video sources in the basement, and shoot them to the rooms.

I had trialed it out on my current place's Bell HD box, and it all worked beautifully.

Fast forward, moved into the new place, setup my Rogers HD box (free for 1 year with the builder - the box was the original 8300HD with the old guide), and it can't do the HDCP handshake. Try their new Nextbox 2.0 stuff, and once again, no luck (just a blue screen). I'm going to try the HD PVR as a last chance, in hopes of it pulling through

Does anyone what can be done to strengthen the signal, or if one box is better than the other?
Thussy is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 2012-05-04, 06:23 AM   #2
snorlax
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Thornhill, Ontario
Posts: 417
Default

My guess is your equipment isn't HDCP compatible. Where I work we record HD from both Rogers boxes and Bell boxes. The Rogers boxes were not compatible with our HDMI interfaces. They complained that our recording devices were not HDCP compliant. That was expected since HDCP is designed to prevent recording the HD signal. We had to install component interfaces on the Rogers boxes in order record from them. The Bell box we have does work with our HDMI interface. This suggests that Bell hasn't implemented HDCP compliance on their boxes as yet.
__________________
Rogers Employee. My posts should not be considered as coming from an authorized corporate source.
snorlax is offline  
Old 2012-05-04, 09:46 AM   #3
m3repair
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Etobicoke, ON
Posts: 419
Default

There was dongle a while back, don't know if it is still around (perhaps ebay) but all it did was stop DHCP at the device itself (small dongle box) and then give an output of DVI in the clear form without HDCP (then could use DVI to HDMI connector) The handshake would only occur on the dongle itself after that it was smooth sailing. I wish I could recall the devices name though
m3repair is offline  
Old 2012-05-04, 10:14 AM   #4
ripper99
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 18
Default

m3repair....I think the box you speak of is the HDfury, google search will find it.
ripper99 is offline  
Old 2012-05-04, 02:12 PM   #5
000
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 31
Default

snorlax what equipment are you using that records from the HDMI interface? Everything I worked with required unreasonable amounts of space and bandwidth (e.g. solid state drives) to record reliably. And transcoding to the format required was unreasonably CPU intensive.
000 is offline  
Old 2012-05-06, 12:23 AM   #6
snorlax
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Thornhill, Ontario
Posts: 417
Default

Google HDMI to HDSDI and you will hit on a product for AJA. It isn't cheap but it does work. We record HDSDI to Quantel servers for broadcast use. This is not a consumer product. And as I said it isn't HDCP compatible so any source that requires HDCP compliance will complain.
__________________
Rogers Employee. My posts should not be considered as coming from an authorized corporate source.
snorlax is offline  
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:48 AM.

Search Digital Home

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.