converting from sd card to dvd - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 

Go Back   Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums > Consumer Electronics and Home Computing > Portable Electronics: Digital Cameras, Camcorders, ebook Readers, iPods, MP3 Players and GPS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

Old 2012-05-03, 04:29 PM   #1
swampdogger
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: cobourg,ontario
Posts: 27
Default converting from sd card to dvd

Hi, i came back from mexico and had used my Canon Power Shot camera to film , i finally got it on DVD to work on my Blue Ray recorder , but it will not work on a regular dvd player. I was wondering if there is a program that will convert it for me , preferably free, Thank's.
swampdogger is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 2012-05-17, 01:37 PM   #2
Cockroach
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 592
Default

Might be stating the obvious but does your DVD player play DVD+/-R and if so, did you record on the appropriate +R or -R discs?
Cockroach is offline  
Old 2012-05-17, 02:18 PM   #3
Footballer
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 81
Default

You may also have to finalize the disk. If it is not finalized it will play in the original recorder but not in any other machine.
Footballer is offline  
Old 2012-05-23, 12:48 PM   #4
roger1818
Veteran
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Ottawa (Stittsville), ON, OTA (DB4e & VHF-HI folded dipole, AP-2870 pre-amp in Attic), MythTV HTPC
Posts: 6,062
Default

Are you just putting JPEGs on your DVD? If so, not all DVD players will play that type of disk. To be fully compatible, you will need to create a slideshow DVD. I believe Picasa will do this for you.
__________________
Link to my TVFool results is in my profile Homepage URL. I suggest others do the same.
roger1818 is offline  
Old 2012-05-29, 05:24 PM   #5
willw
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 34
Default

Was it video you shot on your Canon? and if so, is it HD video that this camera shoots?

Then if all is true then that would explain why he can not play HD video on his non-HD DVD player.
willw is offline  
Old 2012-05-30, 09:53 AM   #6
roger1818
Veteran
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Ottawa (Stittsville), ON, OTA (DB4e & VHF-HI folded dipole, AP-2870 pre-amp in Attic), MythTV HTPC
Posts: 6,062
Default

^^^True. I was thinking stills. In this case most modern DVD authoring software will down-convert to SD when you burn a standard DVD.
__________________
Link to my TVFool results is in my profile Homepage URL. I suggest others do the same.
roger1818 is offline  
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:06 AM.

Search Digital Home

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.