Rogers Atlantic Programming and Packages Discussion - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 

Go Back   Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums > Canadian Internet, Phone, TV and Wireless Service Providers > Rogers Communications > Rogers Cable - Atlantic Canada

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

Old 2011-12-24, 12:23 PM   #1
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Panasonic TCP65S1, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 8300-eHDD
Posts: 52,150
Default Rogers Atlantic Programming and Packages Discussion

This thread is to discuss programming and packages available from Rogers in Atlantic Canada.

This is the thread to post in if you are investigating changing your programming on Rogers or investigating what is available on Rogers.
__________________
57's Optimization Services (Home Theatre Optimization) . . . . 57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 2012-04-16, 06:22 AM   #2
foggy182
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 242
Default minimum sub, sports pak only?

I own my SD box, and currently subscribe to the VIP package and the super sports pak. I am thinking about downgrading to the super sports pak only. Is this possible, or do I need a minimum sub?
foggy182 is online now  
Old 2012-04-17, 06:16 AM   #3
foggy182
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 242
Default

Anybody? Yes, I know that I could phone Rogers and ask, but b4 doing so I was hoping that someone could provide a heads up.
foggy182 is online now  
Old 2012-04-17, 10:07 AM   #4
Kloraff
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Moncton, New Brunswick :: Bell Aliant FibreOP TV
Posts: 669
Default

You need to keep a basic cable package in order to get any extra programming such as the super sports pack. Dropping VIP for digital basic would save you about 30$ per month.
Kloraff is offline  
Old 2012-04-20, 09:09 AM   #5
foggy182
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 242
Default

Thanks for the info. A few followup questions. Remember, I own my SD box.
1. I tend to watch the sports pak for only 7 months a year. Can I discontinue it for 5 months and then easily reinstate it? Can I do this online? (I looked, and I couldn't see how.)
2. Can someone give me a listing of the exact channels that are in the digital basic and digital plus paks? Again, I did look at the Rogers web site, but I couldn't find an exact listing.
3. Is Cdn and US timeshifting included in digital basic or digital plus packages?.
TIA.
foggy182 is online now  
Old 2012-04-20, 05:55 PM   #6
PokerFace
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 646
Default

I don't know the answer to all your questions, but the Canadian Timeshifting channels appear to be part of Digital Basic (Note: I checked the Rogers website for only some of the various regions covered by Rogers).

In Ontario (at least in Toronto), I can get the American timeshifting channels (Seattle) by subscribing to the Premium Timeshifting Package ($1.99+taxes) ... it also includes the West feeds for some Canadian Specialty channels like Showcase and Comedy. You'll have to call Rogers to find out if it's available in your area (I don't see it listed online anywhere -- perhaps it's hidden).

For a fairly complete listing of the channels that the various packages contain, simply click the name of the package (listed in red: like Digital Basic) and then click the See more channels blue link that will appear. To change your region, simply hover your mouse pointer over the region that's currently listed near the top right corner of almost any Rogers page.

https://www.rogers.com/web/link/ptvB...wardTo=landing
[The main Rogers packages ... select your region at the top right corner of page]

https://www.rogers.com/web/Rogers.po...GCT&_nfls=true
[Order Super Sports Pak]
[Note: If you see Newfoundland and Labrador listed as the region in top right corner of linked page, you can always change it to the region you want with your mouse.]

[Note: Call Rogers to see if they will set your Super Sports Pak to expire on a pre-determined date.]
PokerFace is offline  
Old 2012-04-28, 03:39 PM   #7
foggy182
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 242
Default

Another option that I am thinking about is to just discontinue my entire subscription (or put it in vacation mode or whatever they want to call it) for 6 months and then restart it again for the 6 months that I am in to heavy TV watching. Can I do this? I own my SD box.
foggy182 is online now  
Old 2012-09-01, 02:52 PM   #8
woodsie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: New Brunswick
Posts: 255
Default

Anyone know which packages you need for some of these? Particularly HGTV HD? Seems me that I already have the SD version. AMC HD would of course be the best channel for me but this is good news nonetheless.

Last edited by 57; 2012-09-01 at 03:36 PM. Reason: Moved from new channel thread.
woodsie is offline  
Old 2012-09-02, 08:18 PM   #9
woodsie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: New Brunswick
Posts: 255
Default

What's funny is that I called Rogers tonight and asked why HGTV HD is coming up as a subscription is required in NB yet is included in DVIP in Ont. They told me the channel doesn't exist in NB nor do any of the others they added this weekend (Food HD, W HD etc).
Another case of the left hand not talking to the right again @ Rogers. I suppose they will sort it out in a couple of days. At least I hope so.
woodsie is offline  
Old 2012-09-04, 12:20 PM   #10
cjheeg
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Fredericton, NB
Posts: 13
Default

I am getting a msg telling me to subscribe to RDS when it is part of digital basic. HGTV HD is included with digital vip and I and also getting a msg about subscribing.

WFN HD and Wild Tv HD need a subscription to recive the HD feeds I assume.
cjheeg is offline  
Old 2012-09-04, 07:17 PM   #11
woodsie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: New Brunswick
Posts: 255
Default

Just an update on this. HGTV HD is indeed included in NB's VIP. I just needed to reset my digital boxes from my Rogers Online overview page and HGTV HD came in within 5 mins. I figured it out because I remember having to do it one time before when they added new channels. You can also call and ask them to do it for you. Looking fwd to more HD channels soon...

CJ, your assumption is correct, WFN HD and Wild HD are part of a separate package.
woodsie is offline  
Old 2012-09-05, 02:38 PM   #12
cjheeg
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Fredericton, NB
Posts: 13
Default

I am just missing RDS now it looks like they took it away. But if there is no NHL I will not miss it. I watch the Habs on RDS.
cjheeg is offline  
Old 2012-12-21, 06:25 PM   #13
bcornish
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: saint john NB
Posts: 106
Default

Aso looks like subscribers in Atlantic Canada lose again.
Rogers just added the Hollywood Suite in Ontario on channels 486-489
Free preview in Ontario only till March 31,2013
bcornish is offline  
Old 2013-01-21, 08:09 PM   #14
kirjtc2
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Fredericton, NB
Posts: 665
Default

So what package is RDS HD in now? Tried to watch it tonight and got a not subscribed message.
kirjtc2 is offline  
Old 2013-02-08, 01:38 PM   #15
cjheeg
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Fredericton, NB
Posts: 13
Default

RDS is in a french package called variete or Franco Max.
cjheeg is offline  
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:56 AM.

Search Digital Home

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.