Video card and extended display help - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 

Go Back   Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums > Consumer Electronics and Home Computing > Home Computing

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

Old 2012-04-28, 06:01 AM   #1
thebone
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 212
Default Video card and extended display help

Ok, so a coworker bought a new video card and monitor

We installed the vid card and plugged in the monitor and nada.

Once the video card is snapped into place, the onboard stops working; switching the monitors from plug to plug, one screen is black and the one in the new vid card slot displays and in the control panel, the only one acknowledged is the one in the new slot. There is a second one "acknowledged" but it is more the vid card itself

Unsure about his mobo; he has no splash screen with bios info or anything.

Specs dealing with are:

Compaq 8200 elite cmt pc

System bios J01 v02.06

Firmware 7.1.3.1053

Version 2.10.1208

American Megatrends

ZOTAC ZT-20203-10L GeForce GT 220 Synergy Edition Video Card - 1024MB, GDDR2, PCI-Express 2.0 (x16), 1x Dual-Link DVI, 1x HDMI, 1x VGA, DirectX 10.1, Single-Slot

ACER G185H VB 18.5IN 1366x768 VGA MONITOR
thebone is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 2012-04-28, 08:22 AM   #2
Jake
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Gatineau and Ottawa
Posts: 10,713
Default

The BIOS is most likely set to quiet boot and or display OEM boot up splash. You can still access the BIOS but you will need to know the Function key. A quick google tells me it is either F1 or F10.

http://h20000.www2.hp.com/bizsupport...ctID=c00007682

While you are at that site I recommend you check out the latest BIOS as video issues are sometimes resolved via BIOS updates.

Once you are in the BIOS you will need to look for the video setting and see if you can switch it to BOTH (if possible).

You did not mention what bus the video cards are on. AGP, PCI, PCIE? That might have an impact on what you can do with them in the BIOS.
__________________
Tip: See an offending post? Don't reply, report it by clicking on the 'Report Post' icon.
Jake is offline  
Old 2012-04-28, 12:01 PM   #3
Ed7789
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 41
Default

It seems that one screen is on the on-board/on-CPU graphics processor, I would suggest that both screens are connected to the video card. In general BIOSses disable the on-board/on-CPU GPU when they detect a PCIe video card.
Ed7789 is offline  
Old 2012-04-28, 01:04 PM   #4
Dr.Dave
Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Winnipeg
Posts: 5,942
Default

Here's the PDF for the specs on the PC:

http://h18004.www1.hp.com/products/q...a/13879_na.pdf

Page 23 says you should use F10 to access the BIOS setup.

Page 33 says you should be able to use on-board and add-on graphics simultaneously.

Quote:
Small Form Factor and Tower systems can support greater than two monitors with the addition of an optional PCI Express discrete graphics card. Both the integrated graphics and PCIe discrete graphics can be utilized simultaneously.
Dr.Dave is offline  
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:17 PM.

Search Digital Home

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.