Who has the best 4G network in BC? - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 

Go Back   Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums > Canadian Digital Industry Forums > Internet, Landline and Wireless Phone

Digital Home Helpful Information

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

Old 2012-04-26, 12:17 AM   #1
Nternal
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 35
Question Who has the best 4G network in BC?

I got the newest iPad because I need the fastest download speeds possible. Now I discover that the coverage I'm getting from Bell in Vancouver is WORSE that what I had with 3g. I can't find any comparisons of the coverage offered by Telus and Bell. What gives? Is everyone just rolling over and letting these companies screw us over?
Nternal is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 2012-04-26, 02:15 AM   #2
TorontoColin
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Toronto, Wind Mobile, Teksavvy Extreme Cable
Posts: 3,600
Default

BC is a big place. Where do you need coverage?

If by 4G you mean LTE, then it will be worse than the HSPA networks for all the carriers. For one, these LTE networks are very new, and building them out takes time. In addition, Bell, Rogers, and Telus are all using a higher frequency spectrum which won't provide as good coverage as the lower frequency spectrum they use for HSPA.
__________________
Rules of the Forum | DHC Help Desk
DHC now supports Tapatalk for mobile devices!
TorontoColin is online now  
Old 2012-04-26, 11:42 AM   #3
Nternal
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 35
Default

I live in Vancouver and yes I mean LTE. I thought 4G and LTE were the same. Bell told me that, when the LTE coverage wasn't adequate, my iPad3 would switch to a faster version of 3g. That turns out to be BS because, at home, where my 3g has been fine for the last 2 years I got no coverage at all the other day. I'm wondering if Telus might be better?
Nternal is offline  
Old 2012-04-26, 05:35 PM   #4
recneps77
Veteran
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Whitby
Posts: 2,815
Default

Yes, LTE ad true 4G are the same.
Though as of late, they've been advertising existing 3G HSPA as 4G. (Affectionately faux-G )

Typically, it SHOULD fall back to faux-G when no LTE.. have bell verify the settings are correct.
recneps77 is offline  
Old 2012-04-27, 11:58 AM   #5
Wayne
Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Scarboro
Posts: 6,110
Default

I am pretty sure that Bell and Telus are using the same network - you're only other option is to try Rogers.
Wayne is online now  
Old 2012-04-27, 01:09 PM   #6
TorontoColin
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Toronto, Wind Mobile, Teksavvy Extreme Cable
Posts: 3,600
Default

I believe they are operating independent LTE networks for the time being. Their HSPA network is shared though, so if you have no coverage on HSPA with Bell, you won't have Telus either.

If you have no HSPA where you normally get phone signal with a Bell or Telus HSPA phone, that means that something is wrong with your iPad or your plan. In that case, switching providers might not help.
__________________
Rules of the Forum | DHC Help Desk
DHC now supports Tapatalk for mobile devices!
TorontoColin is online now  
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:45 AM.

Search Digital Home

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.