Loading. One moment please - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 

Go Back   Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums > Canadian Internet, Phone, TV and Wireless Service Providers > Rogers Communications > Rogers Cable TV

Digital Home Helpful Information

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

Old 2012-04-25, 03:56 PM   #1
Kris.urban08
Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 9
Default Loading. One moment please

Anyone else encounter this "loading. One moment p,ease". Only on certain channels on the Cisco 4642 hd box with new ipg, it happened all of a sudden and I can't figure out why. Channel never loads.
Kris.urban08 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 2012-04-25, 04:05 PM   #2
jvincent
Moderator
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 5,429
Default

I'm pretty sure you see that when an SDV (switched digital video) change is happening. It is possible that the channel being requested can't be made available, which would explain why it doesn't ever load.

Do you have other boxes where you get different behaviour?
__________________
Android rocks!
jvincent is offline  
Old 2012-04-25, 04:09 PM   #3
Kris.urban08
Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 9
Default

Should that sdv happen for days? My other nonhd box has no issue
Kris.urban08 is offline  
Old 2012-04-25, 04:11 PM   #4
yyzlhr
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 1,294
Default

I see this message for a couple of seconds when the channel has already loaded.
yyzlhr is online now  
Old 2012-04-25, 04:13 PM   #5
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Panasonic TCP65S1, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 8300-eHDD
Posts: 52,519
Default

With SDV you usually get a message similar to "this channel not currently available".

"One moment please" usually indicates that there is an issue with the STB locking onto the channel, which could be STB or signal or connection related (usually a poor connection/splitter). Have you checked your signal strength and S/N ratio?

http://www.digitalhome.ca/forum/showthread.php?t=17719 See also post 10 of the thread for SDV and other issues and how to resolve.

Useful post for those new to the forum - FAQs, Search tips, Optimization, etc:

http://www.digitalhome.ca/forum/showthread.php?t=57741
__________________
57's Optimization Services (Home Theatre Optimization) . . . . 57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
Old 2012-04-25, 04:28 PM   #6
Kris.urban08
Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 9
Default

Signal power is 1 and db is 36. That's good no? Plus it worked before. Thisis why I don't pay for this crappy service!
Kris.urban08 is offline  
Old 2012-04-25, 04:29 PM   #7
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Panasonic TCP65S1, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 8300-eHDD
Posts: 52,519
Default

Do a reboot?
__________________
57's Optimization Services (Home Theatre Optimization) . . . . 57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
Old 2012-04-25, 04:34 PM   #8
Kris.urban08
Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 9
Default

Done that few times now
Kris.urban08 is offline  
Old 2012-04-25, 06:00 PM   #9
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Panasonic TCP65S1, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 8300-eHDD
Posts: 52,519
Default

Swap the the STBs and see if the problem stays at the connection or goes with the STB. (I realize that's not the greatest test since the other is SD)
__________________
57's Optimization Services (Home Theatre Optimization) . . . . 57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
Old 2012-04-26, 08:40 AM   #10
ruben308
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Thornhill Ontario
Posts: 108
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 57 View Post
Swap the the STBs and see if the problem stays at the connection or goes with the STB. (I realize that's not the greatest test since the other is SD)
I don't get this event on my Scientific Atlanta 4250HD box.
ruben308 is offline  
Old 2012-04-30, 08:07 PM   #11
Kris.urban08
Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 9
Default

Ok some more testing and more confusion....took the box to my parents, all channels worked no problem, Took it upstairs at my house and some channels don't work again, however, upstairs my sd box shows all channels
Kris.urban08 is offline  
Old 2012-04-30, 11:43 PM   #12
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Panasonic TCP65S1, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 8300-eHDD
Posts: 52,519
Default

Different STBs can require different signals or be affected in different ways. If you have a cordless phone, these can cause interference if there is a poor connection nearby. Try unplugging the "main" phone. I assume you're testing the signal on the affected channel? Call Rogers.
__________________
57's Optimization Services (Home Theatre Optimization) . . . . 57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
Old 2012-06-01, 09:20 PM   #13
Kris.urban08
Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 9
Default

Am I the only one having this problem?? None of the suggestions fixed the problem...any others?
Kris.urban08 is offline  
Old 2012-06-01, 11:48 PM   #14
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Panasonic TCP65S1, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 8300-eHDD
Posts: 52,519
Default

Per the last line of post 12 - Call Rogers? They can check your signal, etc remotely and schedule a visit if necessary.
__________________
57's Optimization Services (Home Theatre Optimization) . . . . 57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
Old 2012-06-03, 07:26 PM   #15
Kris.urban08
Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 9
Default

That is not an option
Kris.urban08 is offline  
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:11 AM.

Search Digital Home

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.