Is Mac mini with win7 a good idea with 2 hauppauge hdpvr's - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 

Go Back   Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums > Consumer Electronics and Home Computing > Home Theatre Personal Computer (HTPC) and Media Extenders

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

Old 2012-04-13, 10:57 PM   #1
mpovolo
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 30
Default Is Mac mini with win7 a good idea with 2 hauppauge hdpvr's

With limited space, was thinking 2 stb's, 2 hauppauge hd PVR's and a Mac mini. WOuld that run nicely. Mini doesn't have a dedicated GPU so not sure.

Thx
mpovolo is offline   Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 2012-04-14, 01:44 AM   #2
Tikker
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: SaskTel
Posts: 1,002
Default

I"m not sure it would have the horsepower to be honest
Tikker is offline   Quick reply to this message
Old 2012-04-15, 04:36 PM   #3
j0dest3r
Veteran
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,985
Default

Why not white box PC it with some of the new low power low profile gear available? I can totally understand the esthetics of the whole thing, but some of those cases now are pretty nice.

Myself I have an old Dell desktop hiding behind an easy recliner with cables running along the floor up to the tv including a Microsoft MCE USB remote dongle. It is not pretty and will one day build something new to put in the rack. Ether that or figure out the back end stuff so that I only need to use a game console.
j0dest3r is offline   Quick reply to this message
Old 2012-04-16, 02:14 PM   #4
Wayne
Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Scarboro
Posts: 6,230
Default

Isn't the main advantage of the Mac Mini its small size? You kind of lose that if you are hanging two HD-PVRs off of it since they are each substantially bigger than the Mac mini, not too mention the cable boxes and the bulky component cables.

The best way to do this is to have all of the boxes hidden away in the basement and to use an extender of some sort at your TV(s).

Here is my setup with two HD-PVRs, two HD STBs and one SD STB - it ain't pretty but it is in my "server room" so who cares. And this photo doesn't even include the PC.
Wayne is offline   Quick reply to this message
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:13 PM.

Search Digital Home

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.