Question re ATSC (QAM) tuners - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 

Go Back   Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums > Canadian Internet, Phone, TV and Wireless Service Providers > Rogers Communications > Rogers Cable TV

Digital Home Helpful Information

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

Old 2012-04-01, 12:41 PM   #1
MyMedia08
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 542
Default Question re ATSC (QAM) tuners

I have 4 terminals..and 6 tvs

On the two tv's w/o the terminals, these are newer , LCD tv's (22" ; 32") with ATSC tuners and I currently get a whack of channels, some analog some digital.

Down the road ( a year??) when they stop analog, I assume I lose all those analog channels, correct?. If that's the case, I would likely for for a cheap OTA solution. These are 'occasional use' TV's.
__________________
[1]:9865HD;55"LCD;BR [2]:4642HD; 102"; 720p Proj;BR [3]:SA4250HD;39"LED [4]:SA3200 [5]:OTA
MyMedia08 is offline   Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 2012-04-01, 12:51 PM   #2
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Panasonic TCP65S1, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 8300-eHDD
Posts: 52,635
Default

See the following FAQ on QAM (not ATSC) signals:

http://www.digitalhome.ca/forum/showthread.php?t=32271


Rogers is going to be stopping the analogue transmission of most, but not all, of the analogue channels, as discussed in the following sticky: The basic channels - roughly 2-29 will remain analogue for a while at least.

http://www.digitalhome.ca/forum/showthread.php?t=146605


If you wish to discuss OTA, please read the following OTA welcome thread thoroughly and carefully. Then post in the appropriate thread of the OTA forum:

http://www.digitalhome.ca/forum/showthread.php?t=125161
__________________
57's Optimization Services (Home Theatre Optimization) . . . . 57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline   Quick reply to this message
Old 2012-04-01, 12:58 PM   #3
MyMedia08
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 542
Default

Many thanks for the links....
__________________
[1]:9865HD;55"LCD;BR [2]:4642HD; 102"; 720p Proj;BR [3]:SA4250HD;39"LED [4]:SA3200 [5]:OTA
MyMedia08 is offline   Quick reply to this message
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:43 PM.

Search Digital Home

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.