Only some files showing - WDTV via network shares - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 

Go Back   Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums > Consumer Electronics and Home Computing > Home Theatre Personal Computer (HTPC) and Media Extenders

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

Old 2012-02-25, 05:21 AM   #1
thebone
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 219
Default Only some files showing - WDTV via network shares

With regards to albums

It seems all the parent folders are showing - haven't done a full count but it shows almost two thousand parent folders which seems right.

In this case the parent folder is the album.

However, in a lost of cases only about half the songs are populated

So, for instance I have a folder called Alice Cooper - The Last Temptation

Inside there's only 5 songs showing.

Anyone have any experience with anything like this, and a possible solution ?
thebone is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 2012-02-25, 09:19 AM   #2
Jake
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Gatineau and Ottawa
Posts: 10,829
Default

What is the model you have? Are you viewing as a list?

It just occurred to me. You are viewing via the ID3 tags. If those are not populated then you will not see all the songs. Can you confirm if the songs all have the album properly tagged? Use something like MPTAg to view and edit the tags. You can see the album information in media players but sometimes it is not from the TAG but stored in its own database. If you have Windows view the folder contents and in the column heading RIGHT-CLICK and select Album Title.
__________________
Tip: See an offending post? Don't reply, report it by clicking on the 'Report Post' icon.
Jake is offline  
Old 2012-02-25, 10:00 PM   #3
thebone
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 219
Default

I see part of the problem I think.

Some files are locked, some aren't.

What's puzzling is the folder structure is set up in such a way that my 'Tunes' folder is set to share, so I would think all folders under it would be shared ?

thebone is offline  
Old 2012-02-28, 10:39 PM   #4
Coop
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Calgary, Bell
Posts: 838
Default

What OS are you using? You may need to reset permissions on these files.
Coop is offline  
Old 2012-03-02, 04:21 AM   #5
thebone
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 219
Default

Windows 7

if i reset permissions at the individual item level then i have every song showing up in the main interface


is there no way to change the parent (album) and have the entire sub (songs) show up ?
thebone is offline  
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:23 PM.

Search Digital Home

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.