Trying to find a cable splitter - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 

Go Back   Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums > Canadian Internet, Phone, TV and Wireless Service Providers > Shaw Communications > Shaw Cable

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

Old 2012-02-20, 06:04 PM   #1
Positive Climb
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 57
Default Trying to find a cable splitter

Hi all,

I'm trying to split the cable going into my internet modem so I can use it for a TV also. I saw this splitter at Home Depot and I'm wondering if it works well? IDEAL 2 Way Digital Cable TV Splitter (Model: 85-132 | Internet/Cat: 941322 | Store SKU: 1000449513) $3.98

thanks!
Positive Climb is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 2012-02-20, 07:00 PM   #2
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Panasonic TCP65S1, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 8300-eHDD
Posts: 52,517
Default

Shaw provides free splitters - go to one of their outlets and they'll supply the proper one - 5-1000MHz minimum and two way. With a modem you should not have a splitter on that line as the modem should be the first split coming into your home. You might get away with it, but then again you might have problems. Call Shaw and have them do it properly.

That splitter you mention is NOT recommended.
__________________
57's Optimization Services (Home Theatre Optimization) . . . . 57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
Old 2012-02-20, 09:30 PM   #3
JamesK
Veteran
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 6,184
Default

^^^^
I have 2 splitters on my cable modem line. A 2 way in the living room where my main TV is and a 3 way in my "office", where I've got my cable modem, phone terminal and another TV (actually computer monitor) connection. All splitters and cables were installed by Rogers and everything leading to the cable modem has a red tag on it. I also have a 2nd feed in my bedroom, which serves only a TV.
JamesK is online now  
Old 2012-02-20, 11:40 PM   #4
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Panasonic TCP65S1, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 8300-eHDD
Posts: 52,517
Default

When the service provider does the installation they have special splitters that they can use that have specific losses per side/leg of the splitter. As stated, get Shaw to do this for you - they'll use the correct equipment and check the signals.

JamesK, what works for you may not work for someone else.
__________________
57's Optimization Services (Home Theatre Optimization) . . . . 57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:14 PM.

Forum Sponsor


Search Digital Home

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.