Does Telus allow data tethering .. - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 

Go Back   Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums > Canadian Internet, Phone, TV and Wireless Service Providers > Telus > Telus Mobility and Koodo Wireless

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

Old 2011-12-13, 09:13 PM   #1
struts
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 2
Default Does Telus allow data tethering ..

and can Motorola Defy be tethered ?

Thanks.
struts is offline   Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 2011-12-13, 11:14 PM   #2
TorontoColin
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Toronto, Wind Mobile, Teksavvy Extreme Cable
Posts: 3,648
Default

It depends on your data plan.

The Defy has Android 2.2, so it should come with native tethering capability, but Motorola or Telus might have removed it. You'll find it in the Wireless and Networks menu within the phone's settings.
__________________
Rules of the Forum | DHC Help Desk
DHC now supports Tapatalk for mobile devices!
TorontoColin is online now   Quick reply to this message
Old 2011-12-13, 11:20 PM   #3
TKG26
Veteran
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: OTTAWA
Posts: 3,111
Default

My telus desire has tethering capability since i got it from telus.. I see no reason why Telus would not allow it. You can hit and pass your bandwidth caps way faster this way... Tethering= mo muney fo Telus
__________________
Licenced HVAC TECH: "Without seeing your problem i can only offer suggestions, no warranty is included with my advice"
TKG26 is offline   Quick reply to this message
Old 2011-12-14, 11:30 AM   #4
jshel101
Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Calgary
Posts: 1,828
Default

The Telus data plans do allow tethering.
http://www.telusmobility.com/en/AB/c...ta/index.shtml

Quote:
** Additional usage will be charged at 10˘/MB. Cannot combine with any other data plan. Tethering included
jshel101 is offline   Quick reply to this message
Old 2011-12-14, 12:53 PM   #5
struts
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 2
Default

Thank you guys for your informatioin.
struts is offline   Quick reply to this message
Old 2011-12-14, 04:04 PM   #6
TorontoColin
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Toronto, Wind Mobile, Teksavvy Extreme Cable
Posts: 3,648
Default

Some prepaid plans, if not all of them, disable tethering.
__________________
Rules of the Forum | DHC Help Desk
DHC now supports Tapatalk for mobile devices!
TorontoColin is online now   Quick reply to this message
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:26 PM.

Search Digital Home

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.