Receive Rogers Cable on MacBook Pro - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 

Go Back   Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums > Consumer Electronics and Home Computing > Home Computing > Apple Computing

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

Old 2011-08-27, 09:35 PM   #1
viking5000
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 73
Default Receive Rogers Cable on MacBook Pro

I was hoping someone could help me with the following: I have the lastest MacBook Pro and just ordered the new 27" Thunderbolt Display. In my office I have a Rogers Explorer 1840 box. Is there a way I can connect the box to my Macbook so I can watch tv in a separate window/application on the computer (while using it) ? I am most interested in getting the news channels (CNN, Fox News etc)

Any help would be appreciated.
viking5000 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 2011-08-28, 01:41 AM   #2
Stilgar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 260
Default

Don't know about any Rogers box being able to stream to a computer in any way, but there is the Rogers On Demand service which offers streaming video to PC. The only news station that seems to be available though in their lineup would be the CBC News Network.
Stilgar is offline  
Old 2011-08-28, 09:20 AM   #3
Paolo
Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Regional Municipality of Durham
Posts: 3,106
Default

You would need a capture card, one with a video input. You can then connect your rogers box to the cards video or svideo input.

You will be able to watch all the digital cable channels on the computer in the tuner/video program that comes with the card, you can do this while working on other programs too, you can even use the rogers on demand service this way too.
Paolo is offline  
Old 2011-08-28, 09:24 AM   #4
bucketo
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Kanata, HDhomeRun Duel, EyeTV 3.0, macMini (2011)
Posts: 358
Default

Another option is connecting a slingbox to the rogers box.
__________________
bucketo.ca
bucketo is offline  
Old 2011-08-28, 01:03 PM   #5
Gino Cerullo
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 583
Default

I believe Elgato has the solution you are looking for.
Gino Cerullo is offline  
Old 2011-08-28, 08:37 PM   #6
viking5000
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 73
Default

Thanks for the input and info.
viking5000 is offline  
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:34 AM.

Search Digital Home

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.