New Pace/Shaw equipment launching Sept 30th - Page 6 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 

Go Back   Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums > Canadian Internet, Phone, TV and Wireless Service Providers > Shaw Communications > Shaw Cable HD tuner and HD PVR Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

Old 2009-12-23, 05:51 PM   #76
faston
Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 1,601
Default

I've had my 6412 powered on 24/7 for 5 years. No problems whatsoever.
faston is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 2009-12-23, 06:31 PM   #77
Shaw Guru
Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: BC. Shaw Cable, 42" Samsung DLP, 6416 w/expander & DCX3400
Posts: 1,900
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mysticode View Post
Oh that's really cool, I didn't know the DCT comes out of sleep mode to record something. That said, is there a reason to put it into sleep mode in the first place?
No really benefit to put it in sleep mode other than to say to the wife that I'm doing everything I can to save energy. lol
__________________
Designated Shaw Employee representative for Cable & Digital Cable for Digital Home Forums.
Shaw Guru is offline  
Old 2009-12-23, 11:10 PM   #78
Mysticode
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 17
Default

Ah now that's using your noodle Shaw Guru :]

How about tuners? Does the Summit only have one ASTC tuner?
Mysticode is offline  
Old 2009-12-24, 11:31 AM   #79
Shaw Guru
Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: BC. Shaw Cable, 42" Samsung DLP, 6416 w/expander & DCX3400
Posts: 1,900
Default

When the Summit does not have an external drive connected it only has 1 tuner. Once it reads that it has an external drive it auto enables the ability to have dual tuners.
__________________
Designated Shaw Employee representative for Cable & Digital Cable for Digital Home Forums.
Shaw Guru is offline  
Old 2009-12-26, 12:55 PM   #80
VBC1
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Downtown, Vancouver, BC
Posts: 175
Default

None of Motorola or Pace DCT's have any ATSC tuners.

You are confusing QAM tuner with ATSC, one is for cable, one is for OTA.
VBC1 is offline  
Old 2009-12-28, 11:26 AM   #81
Mysticode
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 17
Default

Ah, QAM then! I always thought they were ATSC turners (HD?), guess not...
Mysticode is offline  
Reply

Tags
pace, pvr, pvr expander, summit, whistler

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:37 PM.

Forum Sponsor


Search Digital Home

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.