CTV BC News Going HDTV Soon! - Page 5 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 

Go Back   Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums > Canadian Digital Industry Forums > Television Industry / Channels and Providers

Digital Home Helpful Information

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

Old 2009-11-27, 06:39 PM   #61
mjjl
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Ontario
Posts: 379
Default

Interestingly they do mention OTA reception on their website, although that does a lot of good for a lot of viewers who live outside the tiny coverage area.
mjjl is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 2009-11-28, 03:43 PM   #62
reidw
Veteran
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Stratford, PE.
Posts: 2,965
Default

Global Toronto (their flagship) hasn't switched yet so I think you've got a wait.
reidw is offline  
Old 2009-11-28, 04:01 PM   #63
atong
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 501
Default

With the amount of financial trouble Canwest is in, I don't think we're going to see upgrading to HD in a while...

I'm really enjoying CTV news in HD, those HD timelapses of weather are great, and the HD view on top of the Shangri-La will be fantastic in the summer when its not already dark by 6pm.
atong is offline  
Old 2009-11-28, 10:51 PM   #64
tofinoguy
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 289
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by reidw View Post
Global Toronto (their flagship) hasn't switched yet so I think you've got a wait.
What gave you the impression that Global Toronto is the "flagship"?
Global BC is number one for news in BC whereas CTV News is tops in Toronto.
One would think that they'd want to not encourage people to switch to CTV in BC given that CTV is now HD. It seems logical that they would therefore do Vancouver first.
tofinoguy is offline  
Old 2009-11-29, 07:59 AM   #65
JamesK
Veteran
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 6,043
Default

"Flagship" generally refers to where the network has it's principal station, not necessarily where they have the greatest market share. Typically, they'd have it in Toronto, as that's where their largest audience is.
JamesK is online now  
Old 2009-11-29, 10:05 AM   #66
reidw
Veteran
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Stratford, PE.
Posts: 2,965
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JamesK View Post
"Flagship" generally refers to where the network has it's principal station, not necessarily where they have the greatest market share. Typically, they'd have it in Toronto, as that's where their largest audience is.
Thanks for the clarification jamesK. I guess I should have said "headquarters".
reidw is offline  
Old 2009-11-29, 01:39 PM   #67
stampeder
OTA Forum Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: North Delta, BC (96Av x 116St)
Posts: 23,798
Default

Global TV is not the topic here, but just to end that conversation Global does all its distribution from its Calgary Operations Centre, which has been tricked out to provide HD programming across their network over fibre optic cable. As HD and DTV broadcast gear gets installed at stations on the network, the OC is already prepared. From a marketing perspective the choice of which stations to bring up to date is another matter entirely.

Back to CTV Vancouver please.
stampeder is offline  
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:00 AM.

Search Digital Home

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.