Replace Ilico Receiver with a Mediacenter - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 

Go Back   Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums > Canadian Internet, Phone, TV and Wireless Service Providers > Videotron

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

Old 2009-11-18, 07:26 PM   #1
Diceman
Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Montréal
Posts: 2
Default Replace Ilico Receiver with a Mediacenter

Hi everybody,

as you can see, I'm brand new to Digital Home.

I already search the forum, but didn't found what I'm looking for.

My idea is to replace the Ilico settop Box by a mediacomputer running preferable MythTv.

Now the question: Is this possible? I have Ilico HD and several HD packages and would like to receive and record them in HD.

As far as I know I would have to activate a new Ilico HD Box if I would like to use another one. Does that mean I have to activate a mediacomputer as well?

I would be happy about any help. If I oversaw some threads already dealing with this issue, sorry for that, just please post me the link.

Diceman
Diceman is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 2009-11-18, 10:35 PM   #2
Rookie_One
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Longueuil, QC
Posts: 261
Default

mediacomputer cannot be activated for use on the videotron network
__________________
Vive le fun!
Rookie_One is offline  
Old 2009-11-19, 12:43 AM   #3
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Panasonic TCP65S1, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 8300-eHDD
Posts: 52,502
Default

The following FAQ may be of interest if you're interested in recording HD. There are lots of threads in the HTPC forum discussing how to use a PC in conjuction with HD, however, you still need a STB as mentioned by Rookie_One.

http://www.digitalhome.ca/forum/showthread.php?t=14099

Please also see the following post useful for those new to the forum - FAQs, Search Tips, Optimization, etc:

http://www.digitalhome.ca/forum/showthread.php?t=57741
__________________
57's Optimization Services (Home Theatre Optimization) . . . . 57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
Old 2009-11-19, 02:32 PM   #4
Diceman
Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Montréal
Posts: 2
Default

Hi guys,

thanks a lot for your fast reply and the links.

Diceman
Diceman is offline  
Reply

Tags
digital tuner, high def, mythtv, pvr, videotron

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:31 PM.

Search Digital Home

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.