MythTV 0.25 Released - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 

Go Back   Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums > Consumer Electronics and Home Computing > Home Theatre Personal Computer (HTPC) and Media Extenders

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

Old 2012-04-11, 03:40 PM   #1
stampeder
OTA Forum Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: North Delta, BC (96Av x 116St)
Posts: 23,451
Default MythTV 0.25 Released

I'm sticking with 0.24 for now while I read up on the many new features in 0.25:

http://www.mythtv.org/wiki/Release_Notes_-_0.25
stampeder is offline  
Old 2012-04-11, 03:59 PM   #2
OTAJuncqui
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Nepean, ON
Posts: 372
Default

Does this mean windows is supported without some kind of "kitbashed" build. I haven't had much success with those.
And what are the remote capabilities?
__________________
Srvr:ASUSF1A75-VPro,RadHD6000,A6-3670K,WD2TB,W7Ult
NPVR,5.1,2xHaup2250MC,ATI650,CM7777,WGHD8800,5clts
OTAJuncqui is online now  
Old 2012-04-11, 05:11 PM   #3
rsambuca
Veteran
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Calgary
Posts: 1,645
Default

Are myth upgrades usually painfree? I have never had to go through a version upgrade before, but I would hate to have to fiddle with my current setup (although I probably won't be able to stop myself from upgrading). We only have one TV in the house, so it would be rather 'inconvenient' to have it out for any lenght of time.
rsambuca is offline  
Old 2012-04-12, 07:33 PM   #4
rpr
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Brampton, ON
Posts: 484
Default

The difficulty of the upgrade is dependent on lots of things, OS and hardware being the most likely area for problems. The new version may have dependencies that your Linux distribution may not have, and your hardware may or may not be supported, depending on the age. I can't really speak to any upgrade issues as I am always running pretty much current trunk revisions (usually update once a week or so) and I haven't had any real show stoppers, and in a few cases I've helped to find bugs.

As for Windows, again I can't speak to it as I don't use it, but from what I've seen on the commits list, there has been a fair bit of work to make it easier to compile.

I'm not sure what is meant by 'remote capabilities'. Are you talking about remote controls, or remote viewing of some sort?

Tom
rpr is offline  
Old 2012-04-12, 08:20 PM   #5
rsambuca
Veteran
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Calgary
Posts: 1,645
Default

Well, couldn't resist. I upgraded today and it seems to have worked. I had to delete some existing theme files first, and then had to run some database update. Seems to be working so far. Just missing the theme I was using before, but I assume I can find it somewhere.
rsambuca is offline  
Old 2012-04-12, 09:11 PM   #6
OTAJuncqui
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Nepean, ON
Posts: 372
Default

@ rpr
By remote capabilities I mean access from another PC(eg: at work) via an internet connection to manage(schedule) recordings and stream live TV and media.
__________________
Srvr:ASUSF1A75-VPro,RadHD6000,A6-3670K,WD2TB,W7Ult
NPVR,5.1,2xHaup2250MC,ATI650,CM7777,WGHD8800,5clts
OTAJuncqui is online now  
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:47 AM.

Search Digital Home

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.