Possible Grounding issue - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 

Go Back   Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums > Canadian Internet, Phone, TV and Wireless Service Providers > Free to Air Satellite Television

Digital Home Helpful Information

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

Old 2011-10-05, 11:49 AM   #1
Kraven
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: South Shore, QC
Posts: 558
Default Possible Grounding issue

Ladt week I posted that the Q: would constantly bounce from 55%-70%. I didnt mention that once I touch the LNB, it would be a near constant 70% signal (figured it was my weight on the roof shifting the dish).

Last night, the S10 receiver will not turn on if the LNB in line is connected.

Anyone have a similar experience?

Cheers, K
Kraven is offline  
Old 2011-10-05, 12:12 PM   #2
hugh
Member #1
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Toronto
Posts: 47,716
Default

You might want to see this thread

http://www.digitalhome.ca/forum/showthread.php?t=62265
__________________
As of January 2012, I am no longer the owner of the Digital Home website. My comments and opinions are my own and not those of the current site owners.
I have disabled private messaging so for personal inquiries contact me at the Hugh Thompson website or via twitter.
hugh is offline  
Old 2011-10-10, 10:26 AM   #3
DrSat
Corporate Supporter
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Oakville, ON
Posts: 1,191
Default

Make sure your coax does not have any shorts on it as this is usually the cause of having the receiver malfunction when connected to the coax (i.e. one or more outer braid wires or aluminium touching the middle conductor.)

If you don't see any visible issues, try to use a different coax temporarily in order to ensure the coax is not bad. It could also be a grounding issue as Hugh pointed out which can be fixed by adding a properly connected grounding block.
DrSat is offline  
Old 2011-10-10, 01:35 PM   #4
mr shady
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 108
Default

this wouldnt be related to groundig this is a sign your dish isnt locked up tight all nuts and bolts should be wrench tight on the dish and lnb isnt tight in the bracket!
mr shady is offline  
Old 2011-10-12, 10:25 AM   #5
DrSat
Corporate Supporter
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Oakville, ON
Posts: 1,191
Default

Obviously, if the dish physically moves when you touch it then it's normal for signal quality to vary a bit. You mentioned that you mounted your dish on the roof. Assuming you don't have a flat roof, make sure you mounted it on top of a rafter rather than in between two rafters as the roof could be quite "bouncy" in that area. When walking on the roof, you will notice some areas of the roof flex more than others so you should avoid mounting the dish on those spots in order to ensure a stable mount.

Also, your dish should have come with two support braces mounted with a collar bracket which should be installed as well since just the J pipe itself is not solid enough to keep a dish of that size from moving during windy conditions.
DrSat is offline  
Old 2011-10-12, 11:30 AM   #6
Kraven
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: South Shore, QC
Posts: 558
Default

The dish and lnb are properly secured (this was never an issue); anyways, I redid all the wiring and now she works fine. Am still going to add a grounding block this weekend for extra protection.

Cheers, K
Kraven is offline  
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:17 PM.

FTA Forum Sponsor


Search Digital Home

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.