Is On-Field Graphics Expensive? - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 

Go Back   Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums > Entertainment > What's On In Sports?

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

Old 2011-07-03, 08:49 PM   #1
hercules130
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: La belle province
Posts: 398
Default Is On-Field Graphics Expensive?

Now that the CFL season is upon us, I see that TSN modified its score bug. I think it is better than the one last season since ot does not take space as much.

However, I do think that it is still far behind what it is in the NFL and Division I NCAA. How expensive it is to put a CGI down information on the field? All 5 NFL broadcasters do it. It is very informative, I think, as viewer gets the down information near the players and right before the ball is snapped.

The second thing I wish is the spidercam. But this one is obviously cost-prohibitive and therefore is used only on the Grey Cup game.
hercules130 is online now  
Old 2011-07-04, 07:01 PM   #2
skeena1
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 281
Default

No competition = less motivation.
skeena1 is offline  
Old 2011-07-04, 08:04 PM   #3
ikidunot
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 56
Default

Just putting the first down yellow line marker on the field requires a 3 camera triangulation, and the computer software is crazy complex. Not sure if other field info is coming or just the first down marker.
ikidunot is offline  
Old 2011-07-04, 11:50 PM   #4
NB Josh
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: New Brunswick - Shaw Direct
Posts: 3,150
Default

I'm not really a huge fan of all the markings on the field anyway. I find that the US networks (especially Fox) have went the way of too many graphics with their football broadcasts recently. I've watched classic NFL games from the early 2000s on NFL Network and I don't find myself missing most of the new technology.

I would like it if the TSN scorebar had a timeout indicator though.
NB Josh is offline  
Old 2011-07-06, 07:45 PM   #5
Viper550
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 269
Default

CFL only has 1 timeout by the way, that'd look a little odd.
Viper550 is offline  
Old 2011-07-06, 08:39 PM   #6
NB Josh
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: New Brunswick - Shaw Direct
Posts: 3,150
Default

I know, but still nice to know if they have it. Just have a dot on there or something.
NB Josh is offline  
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:22 AM.

Search Digital Home

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.