: Optical Audio Out from Sony LCD

techgrrl
2008-11-27, 01:04 PM
I've been fooling around w/ this set-up a bit and it doesn't seem to work.

I have an optical audio out from on my Sony LCD. I have never used it before since I have been connecting my DVD player's optical audio out and the STB digital audio out directly to the AV receiver. The pictue on both the STB and DVD are via HDMI cables.

Now I have a third device I want to connect via HDMI to the TV. We just picked up an XBOX 360 which has HDMI out. But I want the sound to be in DD5.1 and the XBOX does not have an optical or digital audio out. I thought since all three device are connected to the TV via HDMI I could then use the optical audio out from the TV to the AV receiver.

I popped in a DD5.1 DVD first. Sound came out of the AV receiver but it was not in DD5.1. I tried this w/ the STB too and got the same thing. I then connected the DVD player's optical audio out directly to the AV receiver and got DD5.1 again from the DVD.

So it appears as if the TV's optical audio out is not processing DD5.1. How am I supposed to get DD5.1 from the XBOX then???? I did see something on the XBOX website about some sort of adaptor but really don't want to spend more $$. The main purpose of the XBOX is to use as a media extender but I'm sure we'll be playing some games.

Should this set-up work???? What am I missing??

eljay
2008-11-27, 01:11 PM
What is the model # of your TV?

cooper83
2008-11-27, 01:27 PM
So it appears as if the TV's optical audio out is not processing DD5.1

Optical audio out on a TV only works for OTA digital broadcasts with 5.1 encoded, no?

Or in other words, you cannot go "through" the TV to achieve 5.1 audio.

techgrrl
2008-11-27, 01:50 PM
The TV was purchased a year ago...it's Sony KDL-46W3000.

I looked at the manual and it just shows connecting the optial audio out to a AV system. It doesn't explain it's functions.