: Plasma or LCD for a sunny room?

Onyx45
2008-11-22, 01:16 AM
I'm pretty new to this stuff, just starting to look. I have thought an LCD HDTV would be best for our living room. Our living room faces south, and is well lit. Our TV would be facing north-west. On our current 18 yr old tube TV, we have to close our dark drapes if we want to watch TV during a bright day because we just can't see the picture.

We were looking at either a 46 or 52 inch TV. It would be used with a Starchoice receiver, which we will also be getting new. (Our current one is 10 years old and working fine, but of course, no HD channels are available with it.) We don't watch a lot of sports, mainly movies and TV shows. TV is watched during the day sometimes as well as in the evening. We do have a DVD player, but it is used very little. There won't be any gaming used with this TV.

We're looking at plasma TV's now because there is such a price difference, mainly, but I had been favoring LCD's because of what I had heard about their superior performance in brightly lit rooms, and 'go for 120 Hz and 1080P' was the recommendation with that.

Why is that? Why are plasma TV's less expensive? Are LCD's so much better in some way, or is the pricing just due to LCD being newer technology?

And if we get a plasma TV with some kind of anti-glare feature, would it be just fine in our bright living room?

We frequently watch news shows with crawlers and tickers. So burn in would be a concern with the plasma TV's, correct?

I apologize if this has been discussed already, but I've been looking around the forum and I can't find any discussion about the performance of plasma tv's in bright rooms.